We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Himalayan Guest House
Ranked #96 of 271 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were recommended the Himalayan Guest House by a Nepalese friend in Kathmandu. We didn't know what to expect when we pulled into Pokhara on the bus and we were about to take a taxi when a man called our names. Turns out Bissow, the hotel manager had come to pick us up. We were brought back to the hotel and given a choice of rooms as it was the low season. Our room is bright, clean, spacious, with a fan and a/c. The beds are clean and by far the most comfortable we came across during our 6 week trip to Nepal and India. It gets better, the shower was powerful, hot, and we had soap that actually formed a lather, much unlike the wax like substance we got in most other places. In the 2 and a half weeks we stayed here we tried much of the food on the menu, which is mainly traditional nepalese fare. When you see local people come in to eat at a restaurant, you know you're on a winner. I especially recommend the dal bhat, Nepal's national dish as well as the chicken momo's and banana lassi, all freshly made to order. The breakfast is a real treat, juice, tea or coffee, choice of eggs, pancake, sausage, porridge, muesli etc. We stayed here in July (off season) and we were extremely happy with the value for money we got, not just for the accommodation, but food and drink. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the lakeside shops, bars, and everything else, which makes it central but also quiet, with it's gardens and outdoor seating area. However the best thing about this place is the people. The staff are super helpful, without being overbearing. My wife got bad sunburn and one of the staff cut her some fresh aloe Vera from the hotel garden to cool the burn every morning. They also booked a paragliding trip for me at short notice. The manager, Mr. Bissow, a happy and relaxed kind of guy, went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. He even took us for a hike up to the peace pagoda with his lovely wife and kids. In short, this is a real home away from home, and when we come back in the cold season we will definetly stay here again. Can't recommend the hotel, the food, the staff, and the manager highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max_and_annamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My friend and I have been staying at the Himalayan Guest House for about 3 months now and I can honestly say that it’s been a great experience.

The guest house is located in the heart of Lakeside but far enough away from the main street so that noise isn’t a problem and it’s easy to get a good night sleep. The rooms are very comfortable, with fans, hot water, and a room-cleaning service whenever you request it, there is also an adjoining restaurant called the Himalayan Kitchen, which is reasonably priced and offers a good variety of dishes, we eat breakfast and dinner here most days and the food is always good.
On clear days there is a beautiful view of the Himalayas and the lovely garden area is a great place to relax, but what really makes the Himalayan Guest House a great place to stay is the wonderful and dedicated staff, they are all incredibly welcoming and have treated us as a friends since we got here, even taking the time to teach us Nepali whenever they have a spare moment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanja_copo_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I first arrived here 2nd April 2013 (currently 13th June 2013). After over 2 months stay I can happily say that it is a fantastic experience. The staff are incredibly hard workers and extremely friendly. They are more than willing to help you at the drop of a hat. I ask for my room to be cleaned periodically, and within a few minutes two staff have started cleaning. They have all helped me learn Nepali and have always been polite. I now like to view them as friends rather than staff members.

The food is good. The staff will even bring it to your room if you request it, and pick up the dishes after. Fishtail mountain is viewable on clear days, and if you wish to climb Sarangkot to view the Himalayan ranges (highly recommended) Maya will organise a taxi to take you up.

The guest house is about a 5 minute walk to Lakeside Chowk (where all the shops / restaurants etc are) and roughly 10 minute walk to the lake.

Something I also enjoy are that the rooms contain fans, yay!

The only grudge (a small one) is that the room we were given lacks places to put your items. There is a wardrobe that contains 5 coathangers, but there aren't hooks on the walls. (There is also a table in the room) This could just be our room, and considering everything else I've never really considered it much of a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I've stayed here for almost two months and it feels like home. The staff really make it. They're tireless and friendly all the time and make delicious food. They've been teaching me Nepali and treating me as a friend since I got here. Alisha, Maya, Prem, Ramesh, Codgi, Ashok and everyone else are prime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay! The staff were very helpful and friendly and it is in a great location. During the day, you can wander down to the lake and enjoy the attractions of Pokhara; at the end of the day you can eat lovely food in the Himalayan Kitchen and enjoy the free wifi. Really great prices for excellent rooms; hot and cold water. Can't stress enough how helpful and happy the staff were - would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Himalayan Guest House (HGH) is a beautiful hotel. It is extremely clean (the staff brooms/mops the hotel every morning). The location is a 2 minute walk from lakeside, which is perfect. The rooms are also nice. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly, as well as the owner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiazMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The accomodation is amazing with comfortable beds, hot and cold running water for shower and sink as well as a fan and tv in the room! It is absolutely beautiful here and accents the mountain ranges in the background scenery well. Very peaceful and relaxing! Free wifi is also available and the security at the guest house is excellent. Not only that, but the 'Himalayan Kitchen' that is attached to the guest house has a wide range of foods to meet any desire at very reasonable prices and all the food tastes very good! It is also situated only a couple minute walk from the 'Lakeside' which houses many shops along the edge of the lake; a great place to shop! 5 stars!! I would definitely stay here again at my next stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
9.4 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#2 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pokhara Choice Inn
Pokhara Choice Inn
#11 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
10.9 mi away
Himalayan Deurali Resort
Himalayan Deurali Resort
#73 of 271 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#4 of 271 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#6 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Guest House

Property: Himalayan Guest House
Address: 6 Lalupatemarg, Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Himalayan Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Himalayan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing