We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with really friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel accommodation was part of the Annapurna Base Camp trek package which Himalayan Planet Adventures prepared for me, and I'm glad they booked me here. I had a great room on the second floor with all the basic comforts I could ask for.

Free wifi, excellent A/C, clean sheets and good bathroom are enough to keep me satisfied. Hotel staff were always ready to help, and I love how they greeted me at the breakfast area. The place is indeed very homey, and just a stone's throw away from the main streets of Pokhara. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kickgalvanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My partner and I enjoyed 2 lovely nights at Hotel Family Home in Pokhara, pre and post our trek. The staff are super friendly and helpful and speak great English. We had the pleasure of staying in room 502. This is a good hike to the top floor but we were rewarded with views on 2 sides of our corner room. In the distance, when it's clear, you can see the Annapurna range which is truly breathtaking. The hotel is located a short walk from Fewa Lake and the shopping and restaurant area which is perfect. It's quiet at night. The room was super clean and we had a very comfortable double bed. The bathroom is clean with a great hot shower. Fantastic fast wifi in our room and cable TV. A spot of luxury which was well received. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, ask for a room with a double bed. Room 502 on the top floor is large, airy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendlytravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've had this lovely hotel recommended by its sister hotel Happy Home in Thamel, Kathmandu which is also highly recommended.
Our plan was to spend one week in Pokhara but we've enjoyed ourselves so much here that we stayed for 16 nights. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and the view of the mountains from the balcony stunning. The breakfast is plentyful and tasty and the family staff is very friendly and helpful in every way. They gave us a good reduction in price because of the length of our stay which was negotiated beforehand. There is a little Shop opposite the hotel which sells cold drinks including beer from morning until late at night. The walk to the lakeside is only a few minutes and considering the price difference for good accommodations it's very worthwhile. Highly recommended. Thank you all again for your hospitality.

Best wishes
Craig and Elkie from the UK

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel as the new and powerful generator is right in front at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elkie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed there for four days and we were very impressed with the friendliness and cleanliness of this hotel.
The staff here are so friendly and very honest. They are very helpful and nice, and if you have problem they try their level best to help you.
That is what makes your stay in Nepal very enjoyable.
Hot water may be an issue ( only one day it was cold...may be because of the power cut)
The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The rooms are good value for the money, nothing to complain....

You may find cheaper rooms in Pokhara, but its worth the extra dollars.
The hotel is located in the very center of Lakeside, but far away enough from the nightclubs.
The manager, Arjun, was very helpful and made us feel very much at home.
I would highly recommend this hotel. Great value, clean, and the staff were lovely....the driver was one of the best and the cook was super!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view of the mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The above title says it all! I was placed in a cozy room, with amazing two-dimentional views of the mountains and balcony. It's a wonderful wake-up in the morning with such scenes right front of you!

The room's tidy, and the bed's real comfortable, it makes the sleeping quality plus plus. Location of the hotel is convenient, and in a peaceful neighborhood. There are laundry service, convenient stores, and other shops meeting travelers' needs close by. It is, as well, within walking distance to the buzzing restaurant and shopping scene. This is a fine spot as the base to explore Pokhara. I ended up extending the stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank twjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay G, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you Jan for your very encouraging words to us, so glad to hear from you that you had nice stay and you are satisfied with our hospitality , your wonderful review has made our team work with smile.We wish your next visit here again, Thank you.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been in this lovely hotel for three times. Staff is really friendly and ready to do everything for their guests. Hotel has great views from windows and don't forget visit on the roof of hotel to see view. Peaceful and good location. Hotel's staff will arrange all trips and treks with good guides and fair prices. Here you get best nepali tea in Nepal! For sure I will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eriika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay G, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much Eriika , for your nice feedback about us, the words encourage our team to do more.We also had great time together with you .Our team wish to see you again and again here.
Hotel Family Home.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Found this hotel on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were in contact with Ajay The manager for weeks prior to our visit. He helped us arrange all our services including internal airflights, guide and porters for our trek, paragliding and even came with us to hire jackets and sleeping bags. His prices were very reasonable and having everything arranged ahead of time gave us a free day to walk around Pokhara before heading off for our trek. All staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. For our return flight to Kathmandu Ajay took us personally to the airport- as always with a friendly smile.
Remember, there are major electricity shortages in Nepal- so shower in the late afternoon or early evening!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you do not mind climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATALIAIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay G, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much Mark and Atalia,It was great to read your words on trip advisor this morning , once again your review has been encouraged our team to be more careful about the service at the Hotel Family Home for the future guests and get the fantastic recommendation like you have done we are really happy to hear that you liked your stay with us and the trip what I had arranged for you. We are wishing for your next visit here again
Best Regards
Ajay Ghimire with team of Hotel Family Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 108 in Pokhara
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 293 in Pokhara
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#4 of 293 in Pokhara
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#6 of 108 in Pokhara
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#2 of 108 in Pokhara
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#8 of 108 in Pokhara
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Address: Barahi Path Lakeside, Pokhara 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: £25 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We heartily welcome you to be a part of our family at Hotel Family Home Pokhara. It is a sub-division of Hotel Family Home which has its main domicile in Thamel, Kathmandu. The Hotel Family Home Pokhara is situated at the heart of an enchanting city nestled in a tranquil valley in the western Nepal. It is only a smoke free hotel located at the peaceful residential areas in the Pokhara. The Hotel Family Home Pokhara is run and managed by the team of Hotel Family Home of Kathmandu. Hotel Family Home Pokhara possess altogether 24 rooms with different facilities categorizing from super-deluxe to deluxe and standard rooms. You will no doubt be amazed with impressive décor, elegant non-smoking rooms with natural and atypical color with attached bathroom and needed facilities namely LCD TV, mini bar, air-conditions to name a few. With these all, our aim is to provide you luxury family holiday in Nepal and where you will be able to relish you yourself, and your family members ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing