We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, beautiful surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed for just one night prior to a weeks trekking in the Annapurna region. To be honest the standard of this hotel was higher than we expected upon arrival in Pokhara. Most of the rooms have a balcony or small terrace over looking the beautiful gardens which are well stocked with sub-tropical plants and flowers. The distant mountains of the Annapurna range make a spectaular backdrop to these tranquil surroundings.

We were greeted with a friendly "Namaste", cold fruit drink and we were each given a Tikka on our foreheads, while our room key was organised and porters transferred our baggage - an excellent first impression! Our room was spacious, clean, and well furnished.
Drinks are served from either the indoor or outdoor bars (alcoholic drinks a little expensive) which are situated around the swimming pool. Standard dining is international hot and cold buffet style which perhaps lacks a little imagination, but plenty of variety was on offer and it was well cooked.

Overall a good hotel by local standards - we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    125
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
76
78
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lovely grounds that were a real oasis of calm and luxury after the drive to it through very run-down areas. Definately ask for an upstairs room - you can see over the wall to the spectacular view of the Annapurna mountains from your balcony, as well as the nice gardens. I am sure compared to a lot of places in Pokhara this is luxurious, but was badly let down in some areas - the waiter's uniforms were unbelievably filthy, I felt like asking what day of the week they were laundered, but it is more likely to be what date of the month! The breakfasts was pretty good, but you had to wonder about hygiene when the waiters looked so filthy. The room service was good but expensive, we paid more than 4 times the normal cost for a plate of momos. The bath water was awful - with 6 inches of water in the bath I honestly could stand in it and not really see my feet and the surrounding tile grout was in need of a good clean! The shower and basin were fine, so it was a bit strange. Rooms were nicely decorated and spacious, just a bit jaded generally. It is not within walking distance of anywhere, it takes about 10-15 minutes drive in a taxi to get to the lakeside area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHSDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We only stayed at The Shangri La Village for one night on our way from Kathmandu to the start of our trek in the Annapurnas. When we were shown to our room on the ground floor, the smell of damp was so over-powering that we could not accept it. The second room (room 122 on the first floor) was better but still smelled a bit damp. The room was ok, nothing special but the view was AMAZING! The pool area was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We had a great lunch trying out various Nepalese specialities and although the evening meal was a buffet (which I hate!) the food was good. Drinks were ridiculously expensive though! To be honest, the actual room lets the place down as the staff, the food, the view, the pool and the gardens are all excellent. Nothing that a refurb can't fix and perfectly adequate for just one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkifEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This place certainly has great gardens and a quiet location well away from the touristy lake side (although still very easy to get to the lake). It is particularly pleasant just walking out from the hotel through some of the local streets and into the countryside.

The rooms themselves are reasonable but not exceptional. If you have a ground floor room, like we did, it lacks a considerable amount of privacy (when we wanted privacy the blinds had to be lowered and then the room was very gloomy). I would recommend trying to get a room upstairs.

They do seem to want to charge you a lot for everything (e.g. internet) and prices for food were of the order I would expect to pay in England. As this was not an outstanding hotel I think they only get away with it because it is quite isolated from any other restaurants/cafes. The food is tasty though. However, for us this was all let down by one waiter on our third visit to the restaurant; while not serving us but standing right in front of our table he belched! Later on when serving us he coughed directly over our food and us without even attempting to turn his head or cover his mouth. I saw him do this repeatedly all over the place. What is a real pity is that the other waiters and waitresses were very professional and he really let the restaurant down in our opinion while grossing us out so that we didn't eat there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for three days here as a break from Kathmandu. Total bliss. Gorgeous place, clean, wonderful staff. It really was 5 star luxury. Would recommend this to anyone as a change of pace. Food a little on the expensive side for Nepal but wonderful place.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the mountains and watch the sun rise over Fishtale in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy12045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

First point to make is that i would be pretty sure this is not part of the real Shangi-la chain, its a part of a local Nepali chain of the same name. We stayed here for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is spacious and comfortable and offers spectacular views of the Annapurna range. Food was good (but not great) and didnt represent fabulous value for money.

The location of the hotel is not great, approach is down some pretty atrocious back streets but once you are on the property its fine, also the location is not very central and there is really nothing within walking distance so you will be taking taxi's if you don't have a tour driver.

Rooms, pretty good, spacious and reasonably equipped
Service. adequate and willing but a bit slow
Food, adequate

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I spend a few nights at this hotel while on vacation. The staff do an excellent job, the property is very wel maintained and very clean. The rooms are comfortable and have good TV's with plenty of channels.

They have a very nice pool area.

Location is a little bit out of town, which is kind of annoying if you plan to enjoy any of the nightlife. If you just plan to hang out at the resort, it is more than adequate for that.

The internet is not free, in fact it is quite expensive, in addition it is very slow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#28 of 105 in Pokhara
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#19 of 105 in Pokhara
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 105 in Pokhara
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#37 of 105 in Pokhara
75 reviews
8.4 mi away
Begnas Lake Resort
Begnas Lake Resort
#49 of 105 in Pokhara
194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#5 of 105 in Pokhara
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Village Pokhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Village Pokhara

Property: Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Address: Gharipatan, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#14 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#17 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Village Pokhara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set admist peaceful surrounding, 5 min drive from airport and 7 min from Lake side commands a breathtaking mountain views. Walk, relax, dream, because Shangrila Village resort is what dreams are made of- Simply Heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Village Pokhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Village Pokhara Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing