We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Property in Pokhara”
Review of Fish Tail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fish Tail Lodge
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Property in Pokhara”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Without doubt, the best physical property in Pokhara is Fishtail Lodge. To get there, you walk down to the lake, climb on a small raft, and are pulled across the water to the hotel by the raftsman. Climbing up, you come upon spectacularly beautiful grounds lined with fragrant, multicolored flowers and lovely trees. There is a nice pool and rowboats and kayaks are also available. On good days, the Annapurna range is reflected in the lake making you feel as though you had arrived in paradise.

Fishtail has played host to many dignitaries over the years, and there is a series of rooms named after their occupants. Those rooms are lovely and look out on the lake, but often have many people walking by along the shore, so be prepared. My favorite set of rooms, the ones I like best for our Myths and Mountains clients, are the ones on the second floor of the long building near the pool. You have a lovely porch and people are not walking by your window.

The rooms themselves are a bit dated and small and bathrooms are not the There is talk of redoing rooms and if that happens, this could be a 5-star property.

The dining room has been recently redone and is lovely, looking out on the lake. You can also choose to dine al fresco, if the weather is good. The buffet offers a wide variety of local and western food, and you can also order a la carte.

The location of the hotel is wonderful for those who like to boat or wander. Crossing back on the raft, you can wander the shops that line the lake or dine out. The hotel has boats or kayaks available, or you can hire a boatman to row you along the lake. Best is to take a boat either at sunrise or sunset, when the Annapurna range lines the horizon. It is also fun to paddle out to the small island in the middle of the lake, where there is a temple to Vishnu in his incarnation as a boar. Here you can also find the "sacred carp," big fish floating near the island and begging for food.

No, it is not the cheapest place to stay, but it is the prettiest!

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor of the main building with excellent mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.
We will continuously strive to provide the highest standards of services to our dear guests and it means a great deal to learn from you that we have succeeded in some measures.

On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank you,
Kiran Lama
Executive Assistant Manager
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    182
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
126
197
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Fish Tail Lodge was recommended to us by our local tour guide. The highlight of our arrival would have to be being pulled (or rowed) across the lake to get to the hotel, this was unique and brilliant! With only one night of stay and fishing being our intention, we could not have asked for a better location. Upon arrival, the staff was helpful in showing us around the area to look for suitable fishing spots. Within an hour, we had for ourselves two jungle perch and a freshwater eel, just by fishing right by the hotel. Though Nepal in General is not highly recommended during the monsoon, we beg to differ, the monsoon rains added to the experience walking the streets of Pokhara and having a delicious hearty meal in Fish Tail Lodge for dinner. Undeniably, one of the best meals we had on our entire trip. We were lucky to wake up to clear skies and a magnificent view of the Fish Tail mountain and all that surrounds it, taking our breath away. Having warm delicious breakfast out in the nature, with a magnificent morning view, we could not ask or imagine anything better. Staff were friendly and ever so helpful, we highly recommend Fish Tail Lodge for your stay in Pokhara.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamin_Naweshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.
We will continuously strive to provide the highest standards of services to our dear guests and it means a great deal to learn from you that we have succeeded in some measures.

On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank You,
Kiran Lama
Executive Assistant Manager,
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful location and is accessed either via a raft pulled across the lake or a row boat (this can be a trick if your in a hurry to get out or in so do leave time)

Food here is in one resturant and was pretty good, will recommend the local dishes as very tasty.

The hotel itself is pretty old with all sorts of dignitaries having stayed in the 80's, this also means the hotel will be a little old and lacking a few of the model amenities and look and feel, so come for the ambience.

The kayaking equipment was brand new and in super condition, we did a lot of that, plenty room to paddle around and it was great, loads other activity as well.

Had a pretty decent stay, it's setting and location is what you will be coming here for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.
We had taken your suggestion very seriously and updated the model amenities and ambiance of all the room.
On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank you,
Kiran Lama
Executive Assistant Manager,
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very quaint hotel accessible by a short row boat ride across the lake. It feels like reaching an island oasis when you land. All of the staff are very charming and extremely helpful form the bell boys to the reception staff and dining staff. The rooms are little lodges and although the beds seems slightly uncomfortable at first we had a very good sleep and felt recharged after the night. The restaurant has lovely views over the lake and it is possible to get a boat to take you on various trips or enjoy some kayaking from the lodge. The grounds are very well kept and the resort has a calm and peaceful air. Overall this hotel was very charming and makes it an ideal base to explore Pokhara. It is a lovely place to enjoy the sights of Pokhara. As an aside; We drove both ways from Kathmandu and we were sorry we did not fly back as there is an airport in the town and the journey back can take up to 6 hours. We stopped on the way down to take the cable car ride in Manakamana but we found the journey back very tiring.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.
We will continuously strive to provide the highest standards of services to our dear guests and it means a great deal to learn from you that we have succeeded in some measures.

On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank you,
Kiran Lama
Executive Assistant Manager,
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A beautiful property inside the lake, a dream location ,beautifully designed,maintained,good size rooms.Landscape is too beautiful,food amazing ,complimentary breakfast has beautiful choice. courteous staff to add great meamories to your stay

Room Tip: Don't worry just relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deepakundanlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.

We will continuously strive to provide the highest standards of services to our dear guests and it means a great deal to learn from you that we have succeeded in some measure.

On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank You,
Kiran lama
Executive Assistant Manager
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited in early June 2014. Undoubtedly the best hotel in our Nepal Trip in terms of service. Mr. Hasta at the dining room, Mr Tiwari at the front office were always smilingly helpful. There were a few unpleasant faces but majority of the staff just personified brilliant service.


This lodge is very unique with its ambient, picture perfect, true to nature surroundings. Forest, hills, lake, snow capped Annapurna, beautifully maintained garden. One is right amidst nature. Their raft to reach the hotel itself started of a unique experience.


Coming to their rooms, they had very bad damp smell in some of the older non renovated rooms. With their electricity on and off the air conditioner would take ages to switch on or would remain completely off. Our first night was a nightmare. On the second night we shifted to a newer room which one can figure out by the new air conditioner. This room had no issues and even with the fluctuating electricity the air con worked perfectly fine. Both the rooms we stayed at were classic . Renovation for the rooms is underway. The deluxe rooms, very few in number, they somehow were reluctant to give them with many excuses. They do not provide kettle in the room. View from the rooms - there is none. You have to be around the dining area or in the presidential suite for the spectacular views. Wifi is free at the dining area and is chargeable at the rooms.


We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the property and all our meals were excellent. The staff just made the whole experience more enjoyable.


Paragliding and ultra light flight are two not to be missed activities for those even little willing. On the way to Kathmandu the Manakamna temple cable car should not be missed.

Room Tip: Ask them to give renovated rooms. Don't stay in the old rooms with damp smell and not proper air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaitanya_Khaitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.

We will continuously strive to provide the highest standards of services to our dear guests and it means a great deal to learn from you that we have succeeded in some measure.Regarding the comment on garden terrace room,we had already started upgrading it and we are sure that you will find difference in future visit.

On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank You
Kiran lama
Executive Assistant Manager
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A great location and an even better approach to the resort via the Fewa lake. Ideally located from all places of interest in Pokhara. Tastefully done rooms. Warm hearted service along with exceptional food quality in the in-house restaurant. Worth the price & time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmarSinghYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiran t l, Manager at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to us.

I read your feedback with much delight. To us at Fishtail Lodge, our guests are like our families. It is our honor and duty to give all our valued guests the happiest of experience while staying with us.

We will continuously strive to provide the highest standards of services to our dear guests and it means a great deal to learn from you that we have succeeded in some measure.


On behalf of us all at the Fishtail, we would like to thank you for your kind comments .It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.

Thank you,
Kiran Lama
Executive Assistant Manager.
Fishtail Lodge,Pokhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#5 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#24 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#22 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tail Lodge

Property: Fish Tail Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 10 | Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokhara
#4 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tail Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a peninsula with the Fewa Lake on one side and a forest-covered hill on the other, the Fish Tail Lodge offers spectacular views all round making it a unique lake resort. Guests are received and transported to the Lodge on its shuttle-floats or boats.Established in the late 1960’s with unique round cottages set amidst a lush garden, the Fish Tail Lodge is ideal for travelers desiring the charm of a small hotel with very high service standards. A choice of 48 standard rooms, central dinning room and bar contained in five ‘rounds’ and 12 deluxe rooms blend in harmony with the landscape.All profits generated by Fish Tail Lodge are donated to the Princess Jayanti Memorial Trust. The Trust provides free cardiac care to underprivileged Nepalese people and conducts various programmes to raise public awareness regarding the causes of heart diseases in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fish Tail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishtail Hotel Pokhara
Fishtail Resort Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing