We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain View Lodge and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Blossom(Pokhara)(Great Value!)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$20
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvest Moon Guest House(Pokhara)(Great Value!)
US$20
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mountain House(Pokhara)(Great Value!)
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Global Inn(Pokhara)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$8
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$7
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Point(Pokhara)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
30
6
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
6
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower and toiletlovely familyhighly recommend staying herehot waternext morningpoon hillperfect locationrooms are cleanfireplaceramsunrisecomfortmountainsnepal
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during our time in nepal. The hotel offers fantastic views and on a good day you can also see the mountains from the upstairs area of the hotel. The couple that run this hotel with their family are fantastic. They spent all there time doing everthing to keep us happy before we asked. Meals are home cooked and are great! This family made Sarangkot our favourite place. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

High up in the village of Sarangkot, Mountain View Lodge is a hidden-gem - for those who want peace, quiet, comfort, home-cooked food, and most of all, absolutely mesmerizing views of the snowcapped Annapurna mountains and the lush Pokhara Valley and Phewa Lake.

I came to do some writing as part of my working holiday in the region and I couldn't have asked for a better place. After spending a week in pretty but touristy Pokhara, I moved up the mountain to Ram and his wife Kabita's guest house, perched right near the summit.

I splurged a bit and got Room 7 - it's on the top floor with breathtaking views from its big windows, looking south to the Phewa Lake, west onto the Pokhara Valley, and north to the Annapurna. It's got a really warm alpine interior (it was built by a German man who comes and stays once a year), a comfortable double bed with wooden shelving (and the snowcapped mountains to wake up to through its adjacent window!), a wood burner, and a desk/dining table and bench, which was important for me. The bathroom is excellent by Nepali standards - modern, spacious with hot water and even a bidet!

There's good WiFi but the electricity does go out periodically like practically everywhere in Nepal.

Though Lonely Planet says that the guest house doesn’t actually have mountain views, the photos I’ve posted prove they do - the valley views are from the front of the building, and the Annapurna views from the north-side of the building.

As for the food, Ram and his wife Kabita serve a selection of tasty dishes, ranging from traditional Nepali food to Asian, European and American cuisine, and also sell snacks, water, soft drinks and other goodies. You can eat your meals downstairs in the garden, on either of the two terraces, or in your room if you want.

Nearby goats, chickens and rice paddies give the place a rural atmosphere, although you're only about a 20 minute ride from Pokhara with all its restaurants, hotels and shops. I can't emphasize enough how spectaular the views are (the photos speak for themselves) or how friendly and helpful Ram and his family are.

Room Tip: The best room is Room 7 as it has amazing mountain and valley views, desk-cum-dinner table and bench overlooking the valley, great bathroom, comfortable double bed with shelves, and is the most private of all the rooms. The other room on the top level is also great, with wrap-around balcony and probably the best valley views - it has two single beds and a decent bathroom. Room 5, directly underneath Room 7, is also a good option, with queen and single beds and a modern, relatively large bathroom.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Homey hotel thanks to super friendly and helpful staff. Our room was large and bright, with western shower and toilet, wifi, great breakfast, and in a central location. We had a great experience, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try the upper floors
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Mountain View lives up to its name as a place to drink in the view of the tranquil Phewa Lake and snow white peaks of the Annapurna range as well as eat sumptuous meals, whether roti or dhalbaat taarkari or chow mein, to your heart's content.

The owner, Ram, and his relative, cooked us good meals for tea and dinner. He was very helpful to offer to charge our handphones when the electrictiy was out.

The lodge was the first place we found and decided to stay for the night when we reached Sarangot. We had a wonderful view of the lake and snow mountains from the balcony outside our room on the topmost floor. From the lodge, it was a short walk to the steps that lead to the viewpoint where we could enjoy the sunrise and sunset scenes.

The room was clean and spacious for 3 of us. There was fireplace in the room but we did not ask for it to be lighted as the weather in April doesn't warrant a fire to warm us. Rather, the warm welcome came from Ram's relative who entertained us with Nepali songs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sohngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews