We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best traditional food & super friendly staff”

Dunatapari Restaurant
Ranked #214 of 297 Restaurants in Pokhara
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Nepalese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best traditional food & super friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed in a home near this restaurant for 6 weeks. I ate here a few times a week and every single meal was an absolute treat! They have incredible food, which is a true reflection of local cuisine and why this restaurant is popular with Nepalis. The delightful man who runs the restaurant works as a chef at a 5 star hotel in Pokhara. He uses all his experience, to give his guests the best food and service but at such affordable prices. I hope more foreigners take a stroll (or taxi) to experience the quieter area of Pokhara, with beautiful views of the lake. I can't emphasize enough how helpful the staff were, really going beyond the call of duty (for example inviting me to store my bicycle on their land, so I didn't have to lug it up the 20 minutes to my house!).

Great veggie dal baht (the local equivalent of an Indian Thali), fish dishes and proper chai. Even their breakfast was delightful! It's such a good restaurant that i've created a tripadvisor a/c just to write this review!

Go...Enjoy! You're in for a treat!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must-visit place!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This beautiful restaurant offers mouth-watering dishes, friendly environment and well-conceptualized decorations. It is a perfect destination to witness the beauty of nature and breath-in some fresh air. A must-visit place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samrachana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the nicest place to be in town.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent restaurant,people are very nice & the food here are just so yum! conceptual decorations and one can enjoy the scenery so well,one of the nicest place to be in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anubodh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
“Perfect place for holidays and nepali authentic dish”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Well not just a authentic nepali restaurant but offers holiday rent house with a perfect view of fewa lake,world peace pagoda,eye catching landing of paragiding side by.one and only popuar original trstaurant serving the dish in traditional leaf plates.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reshma321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“''No.1 Restaurent in pokhara''”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Infront of fewa lake there is one of the best restaurant in pokhara khapaudi-2 chahadi pokhara kaski . I like Disposable multipurpose leaf plates and bowl going by the name of Tapari, Duna and Bota, are made by stitching the Sal leaves together with small bamboo sticks. Best place to view fewa lake with high flying paragliders.. With the taste of local fish and traditional local nepali cuisine. Staff's are helpfull and Managing director; RAJU NEPAL was very great full person. Duna Tapari a quaint restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishwari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunatapari Restaurant also viewed

 
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
 
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
 

Been to Dunatapari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing