We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean, made us sick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tulsi Pokhara Pvt Ltd
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Pokhara
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon after reading some of the great reviews on trip advisor. However, we had a pretty bad. Our room was very, very, very dusty - so much that my dust mite allergy went into overdrive, making me quite ill, something that had not happened for nearly 10 years. The bed also felt dirty - after a nice shower, it felt like you were back on the street after a night in the beds. The beds were also hard, even the pillows were hard. We asked for soft pillows, which we got, which helped. The brochure advertised 24hr hot water, but we had 1 hot shower in 3 days. To top it off, we ordered drinks at the restaurant and received off juice (which we didn't drink) and the milk tea gave me gastro - I know it was the tea as I felt strange in my belly almost as soon as I had finished drinking. It completely ruined our first night in Pokhara, sadly. A disclaimer, we can usually rough it with the best of them - and have stayed in budget hotels in Kathmandu and Chitwan. However, the fact that the drinks were either off, or making us sick meant we avoided the free breakfast - being worried we would get sick again. It turned out to be a wise choice as we had no other gastro problems when we ate every where else. On a smaller note, the TV didn't work - and when we turned it on, it made a bad noise then died. We unplugged it, worried it was faulty.

There are positives though. The rooftop restaurant has amazing views, and the location is perfect. It is in the middle of everything which makes it great for sightseeing. The staff were also very polite and friendly.

However, we decided to check out early and change hotels - and it was the best decision. We both felt better and my allergy went away. For what we paid, for such an unclean hotel with dubious food and drink - it was very poor. Judging by lonely planet and trip advisor, there are much better options for this budget. We're not picky people and were happy to do it on a budget, but to get sick from food and to have an allergy flare up because of dust, its really not worth it.

Hopefully they can get things together quickly because in all other aspects it is a fantastic hotel. It just needs the upper management to inject a bit of money (easier said than done, I'm sure) and bring it back up to scratch.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Hallam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Four nights stay at Hotel Tulsi has been pleasant, and of course homely. The rooms were cleaner than expected, the staff were friendly and very hospitable. The stay couldn't have been comfortable without the quality service from the staff. My husband found the place to be too homely, he would love to be there more often everytime he visits Pokhara. Besides, Mr. Arjun Shrestha from the Reception in Hotel Tulsi has been very humble and helpful.

The new year couldn't have been more special, thanks to Hotel Tulsi's comfy rooms!

Room Tip: Room 406 has a great review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhoomikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

We were here for 2 days and found the experience quite pleasant. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. The only negative point is that the lighting in the hotel is quite dim. Apart from that I had no issues with the hotel. Additionally the hotel is right next to lake and in a commercial place so you will never get bored.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shishirdnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great location just up the road from city centre, rooms are tidy, breakfast upstairs was good value.
The view from the roof is stunning, worth going up on the water tank area for a photo or two.
Power comes in and out but that's common place in Nepal
Would stay there again

Room Tip: Dont get ground floor as they are in the foyer and you hear all the people coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saudidoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel is tucked nicely inside a side road away just 5 minutes away from the main traffic which is sufficient to give you an excellent sense of serenity.

Food is one of the best that I tasted when I was in Pokhara for 3 weeks.

It is one of the best base hotel to start with if you are going for the Annapurna range. There are good and cheap mountaineering equipment that are sufficient for tackling ABC but I doubt anything beyond that. So if you are going anywhere below that, just bring sufficient money. A dry fit long t-shirt is only SGD5.

Food is very cheap as well (which will get more expensive as you climb higher), though I am a bit worried about my delicate stomach. So I make sure I eat something that is thoroughly cooked. Similarly for drinks, I did not go for cold drinks but instead go for hot tea. I missed the hot tea, they helped me through the cold climb and at times the unpleasantness of acclimatisation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is conveniently located off the busy main street of Lakeside and offers excellent views of Phewa Lake and the mountain range from the balcony outside the rooftop restaurant. Room was spacious, satisfactorily clean and bed was comfortable enough for me. However, a few downsides were the frequent power disruptions, A/C unit unable to switch on during certain hours of the day, able to connect to hotel's WiFi but with no internet connectivity and drinking water not replenished often enough to meet the guests' needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors seemed to be newer and also better maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oktray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a great time staying at the Tulsi Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated near lakeside and the view from the courtyard overlooking the lake was magical. The rooms are very clean and the hospitality of the staff made us feel very comfortable. Highly recommended if staying in Pokhara.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.5 mi away
Tourist Residency
Tourist Residency
#30 of 109 in Pokhara
145 reviews
0 mi away
Tuki Resort
Tuki Resort
#74 of 109 in Pokhara
5 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Image
Hotel Royal Image
#90 of 109 in Pokhara
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peace Plaza
Hotel Peace Plaza
#42 of 109 in Pokhara
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sacred Valley Inn Pokhara
Sacred Valley Inn Pokhara
#13 of 109 in Pokhara
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adam
Hotel Adam
#3 of 109 in Pokhara
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tulsi Pokhara Pvt Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tulsi Pokhara Pvt Ltd

Address: 6 Lake Side, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tulsi Pokhara Pvt Ltd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travel, Hotel Tulsi is ideally situated in Phewa Lake; one of the city's most popular locales. Only 0.5 km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Avia Club Nepal, MS Communications, Natural Health Center.Hotel Tulsi also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Pokhara. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.The hotel features 35 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including internet access – wireless (complimentary), ironing board, separate shower and tub, internet access – wireless, desk. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the massage, garden, spa. Hotel Tulsi is a smart choice for travelers to Pokhara, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tulsi Pokhara Pvt Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing