We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation but overpriced food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chitwan Forest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chitwan Forest Resort
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Good accommodation but overpriced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Chitwan Forest Resort for 3 nights after being met by one of their guys when we got off our bus from Kathmandu. Our plan had been to check a few places first but when we got there the price of 600NR a night was pretty reasonable and we got a nice fanned double room with an en-suite bathroom.
The place has a good set up and the staff are really nice although they can be a little pushy when trying to sell their 3 day tour package or the elephant ride. We still ended up booking our elephant ride through them even though we had found it a little cheaper elsewhere. To be honest I would recommend just walking down to the elephant place yourself where you can pick your elephant and pay the basic rate without any extra costs. It is around a 2km walk from the resort but make sure to turn right before going through the gate that takes you down to the elephant breeding centre. Its not signposted but its not far from here and you will probably see elephants walking along the road anyway.
The main thing we have to complain about though is the cost of the food at the resort. To start off with it isn’t particularly cheap but then we noticed they had a 10% service charge and then something like 13% VAT still to be added which made every meal a lot more expensive than it first appeared and its not great food anyway, there are decent places to eat for cheaper on the main street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This accommodation was just about the average that one can get. food was fine and staff quite helpful, but accommodation itself was not very good. Dusty, small room with not enough light even at daytime.

Room Tip: go for air conditioned one, we only had a fan but it was not enough for it wad scorching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonulique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stay at this place is awesome and i enjoyed this place very much.
the best thing of this place is "staff". the staff is very friendly and helpful....

I will definately like to stay here on my next visit..:D

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhananjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I arrived to Chitwan after a long trip and was extremely happy with my choice of resort. The staff and Deepak are very welcoming, always with a smile. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The staff work very hard to ensure you have a happy stay. The package was very good, i had alot of fun, My arrival was late due to problems on the road from Kathmandu, meaning i lost an entire day of activities yet Deepak ensured i missed nothing and went out of his way to schedule them all in and around spare moments. He planned my rafting excursion and onto my next destination at a far less cost than to arrange alone. The hot shower was great, and i never had any issues with the electricity as i was able to charge my phone safely at the main area. The guides were fun, informative and adventurous (got to see a rhino very close) Favourite parts of the package...all of it! but ok especially the elephant safari and bathing! Would stay here again for sure. The resort is currently expanding, will be exciting to see what comes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottishtraveller002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed there two times: one time with a family and one time with friends. I am not the person who goes to the same place twice, so if I went there for the second time, than it really worths it. The stuff is welcoming and polite, rooms are clean and the territory is well designed and taken care of. Both times we booked activities at the resort. The guides are professionals and do their best, so you can see animals. I do highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Personally, I liked the first rooms on both sides - 102,104,107
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia_SV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Chitwan Forest Resort is at a close vicinity from the Tharu Cultural Theater and Elephant Breeding Center. Professional attitude of the proprietor Deepak and his recommendations on local sight seeing within the available time; would make your visit relaxed and pleasant.

In a perfect village setting, there are a few sunbath chairs and a Hammock within the resort vicinity. Clean and well maintained rooms with a nice Multi cuisine budget restaurant.

I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Spacious Family rooms are better for accommodation 4 people in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudhirappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have just got back from our 2night 3day trip here at Chitwan Forest Resort.
We did enjoy our trip, the hotel was lovely, very beautiful grounds and a clean room. The staff were friendly always asking how we were (as my friend was I'll, they even took me to the pharmacy) and telling us what we were meant to be doing etc.

However, the food (in the package deal) was very sub standard for the amount we paid. Meals were often of a very simple standard, things that are clearly cheap to cook (cauliflower, veg, soup) the food also became cold very quickly, not entirely sure why or if it had anything to do with how it had been cooked?!

We also felt some of the things in the package were cheaper than we had been initially led to believe (by our travel agent, NOT this hotel) and feel that we would probably do the trip individually if we returned.

Room Tip: Get candles for power cuts and make sure your water is hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girl_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chitwan National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 7 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Wildlife Camp
Jungle Wildlife Camp
#4 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 15 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wildlife Adventure Resort
Wildlife Adventure Resort
#10 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitwan Tiger Camp
Chitwan Tiger Camp
#7 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitwan Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwan Forest Resort

Property: Chitwan Forest Resort
Address: Sauraha, Bachhauli, 2, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Chitwan National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitwan Forest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Chitwan Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing