We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous kayaking”
Review of Narayani River

Narayani River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$485.00*
and up
3-Night Chitwan National Park Safari from Kathmandu
More Info
US$620.00*
and up
Nepal Special Tour - Kathmandu Chitwan and Pokhara
More Info
US$1,265.00*
and up
10-Night Trekking Tour Including Chitwan National Park from Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous kayaking”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Early morning on the river spotting the wildlife. So quite and peaceful, had a great time. Many a photo opportunity! Perfect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    103
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“More adventure than bargained for”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I went up the river in a reasonably stable canoe with my guide and another couple and their guide and the pole man at the rear. We saw abundant birds and deer and all was lovely and relaxing until a marsh mugger crocodile sidled up to our canoe. He was clunked hard on the head with the pole and he opened his mouth wide and barrel rolled and fortunately moved a little away. With our eyes finally off the crocodile we realized a rhino was on the riverbank in front of us. My guide whispered to keep very still and that he was frightened witless and to make for the bank if he charged, zig zagging as much as possible. The rhino entered the water in front of us and sauntered slowly across the river and clambered up the opposite bank. My advice to all----there are NO safety precautions on these tours and certainly no medical facilities to handle mishaps. If you are fleet-footed and have the presence of mind to dart and weave in the path of a charging rhino ( and these things look huger when not viewed through a zoo safety fence), you will be fine.

Helpful?
2 Thank KrisPeter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the last places in Asia to see Rhinos”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Chitwan National park is one of the very last places to see the magnificent Asian Rhino. We were so lucky to see one large male at the very last minute! The park has many other animals on offer - like abundance of deer, Asian elephants, gharial and the rare Tiger (if you can spot them). It's a different type of forest to your "typical" Asian jungle as it much cooler than a tropical rain forest. Get a good guide who knows what he is doing (we had one) and you should have an unforgettable day trip..There are good picturesque resorts outside of the park which makes it easy to visit. Canoe trip across the river is not for the faint hearted though but as it turns out the river is not that deep.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,150 reviews
406 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Park and river worth the trip”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Canoes good stability, very peaceful and quiet, great birds. Chitwan worth a stop, we travelled via elephant and saw indian rhinos.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing / beautiful / mystical”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Chitwan national park was amazingly beautiful. The rhino walks / sightings and elephant rides are worth visiting the national park to see. Wandering around the village at night and talking to the children was magical. Love the experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Narayani River also viewed

Chitwan National Park, Chitwan District
Sauraha, Chitwan District
 
Chitwan National Park, Chitwan District
Chitwan National Park, Chitwan District
 

Been to Narayani River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing