We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum closed may 2014” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimei Museum

Chimei Museum
Ranked #1 of 277 things to do in Tainan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The collection at Chimei Museum consists mainly of Western art, musical instruments, arms and armour, animal taxidermy and fossils, exhibiting approximately 4000 items, which is about one third of the complete Chimei collection. Founder Shi expressed that, “Good works of art are not to be kept just for oneself to enjoy, but to be shared with the public; and a good collection should not reflect jus
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Museum closed may 2014”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The website is unclear about this, but if you go there you will find both the old and the new museums are closed, and not clear if the new one will open at all in 2014.. Very frustrating!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank RegTraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    222
    44
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A very large collection of art, historical items and taxidermy animals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you can make it to Chimei Museum, it's well worth spending a few hours here. The private collection is really quite large and there's a very interesting array of items. The museum is free to visit and to expedite entry, I recommend booking ahead either by phone or online.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a treasure trove or art, music and history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I visited this wonderful private museum in july and I was really surprised when I found out it was free of charge. the museum has quite a lot of Western art works - which are definetely worth seeing- as well as a collection of ancient weapons, and a natural history museum, but the best part is the one devoted to musical instruments from all over the world, ranging from the most ancient to modern ones. unfortunately, I was in a rush and could hardly see the collection, so I will definitely go back to visit both the musical instrument section and the new museum they are currently buinding to host the breath-taking collection of cellos, violas and violins, some of which belonged to Paganini, Mendelssohn and many other famous musicians. this is the largest violin collection in the world and it is really a unique experience. when I was there I caught a glimpse of a sort of lesson which was being held with a group of schoolchildren: the guide told them about the various instruments on display and presumably explained to them a little of their history and usage (the lesson was in Mandarin). there are also English speaking guides who can accompany visitors from abroad. the museum is in Tainan, which is conveniently reachable by riding the high speed trains travelling from all major cities. don't miss this amazing museum!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank vale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best museum in Taiwan, not just in Tainan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

You need to book in advance to be able to enter the museum. It's free. They have collection of century-old paintings, sculpture, musical instruments, weapons, armors and animals. Quite a rich collection. They have a cafeteria on the first floor where lunch is served. I have been there twice and would like to go again if there is a chance. Here is the website for this museaum - http://www.chimeimuseum.com/english/a02_museum/museum.aspx

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
9 Thank ipctaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimei Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chimei Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing