We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotspring Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling
Ranked #25 of 243 Hotels in Tainan
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotspring Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and upgraded my room to one with private hotspring for 800nt.
Make sure you make use of the hotspring facilities in the hotel when you stay here. It is free for all room guests. There are 3 soaking pools in the outdoor hotspring area. 1 cold and 2 hot. A pool with fish which eats away the dead skin from your feet, another massaging pool which spurts out jets of cold spring water. Fresh hotspring mud which can be applied on the whole body is also topped up regularly. There is also an indoor area where no swimwear is allowed. I did not try out the pools here.
The rooms are pretty standard. In the normal rooms, no hotspring water is provided. For rooms with private hotspring, the big soaking tub is located on the balcony. However hotspring water is only provided from 9am to 12am. The balcony faces the mountain and provides a nice backdrop while you enjoy the muddy spring water. A shower head is also located on the balcony which you can use to clean yourself before and after your hotspring bath.
Breakfast is basic and mostly catered for Taiwanese. They provide steam buns, small side dishes to go with the plain porridge, some slice bread and only 2 types of fruits. There is no egg station but there is a noodle station.
Outside the hotel there are a few family style restaurants and a family mart. I did not really explore the area but I think location is ok.
Given that most hotspring resort in the guan zi ling area is overpriced, I think Toong Mao provides great value for money. They have very nice public hotspring facilities but the rooms are really old fashioned and very utilitarian.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFeet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    36
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel is pretty accessible if you go by public transport. The view is nice where you can view mountains while enjoying the hotspring. There's public hotspring pool where require you to wear swimsuit and swim cap for hygiene purposes. If you would like to try being naked, there's separate pool for man and woman. If you don't feel comfortable to be naked in front of strangers or would like to have some private space just with your loved ones, the hotel also provide private room package for 2 or 4 people, we took the 2 person package (NT$720) and enjoy an hour of mud spring in the tub. The hotel room is big but there's no heater so is slightly cold to stay in the room during winter. It will be fine after you soak yourself in the hotspring. The breakfast is pretty ok with various local delicacies, and you can enjoy the mountain scenery if you happen to sit near to the windows. The counter staff is pretty helpful and provide us with the bus schedule so that we can plan our check out time. Overall, it is a good place to relax before proceed to your next destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The 4 star rating is of course for ts nice pools and the wonderful spas - some have said one of rare natural mud-spring baths in the world. Of course it is all man-made with natural mountain hot spring-water pumped in. At first sight, nothing fancy or grand here, the spas looked comfortable and uncramped, tucked along side by the beautiful trees and the mountain backdrop. It can be a quiute a surreal experience especially bathing during winter/Spring cold weather: the steam, the cold air cooling your face while your body relaxes in the 42+ degree Celsius hot-spring water, can make you feel like you are in paradise. There are also private separate male/female nude (mandatory) hot baths inside the basement of hotel with no view.

As for the hotel itself, certainly, you wont find any 4-star accomodations here. It is big enough to not feel cramped. There are enough room in the lobby to handle 100 guests easily. The rooms are dated but serves its purpose - no fancy, modern decoration here. Some rooms have in-room spa for that more intimate feeling but I'm sure it comes at a higher price. For the price I paid ($80 USD) a night for two people, it was not cheap but not overly expensive either. For those who just want to use the SPA facility, they sell tickets for ~ $13 USD per person which maybe a better deal for those not wishing to stay in the mediocre rooms. The spa was open from 7:00 am to 10 pm when I stayed there and if I had to do it again, I would skip the room and just pay the entrance fee to the SPAS because that is the only high point for this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is a lovely pace to be.. The Spa where every thing is so meticulously handled.. I am impressed. I am going to write about Mud spring only.. Pool with Different temperature. Separate pool far man and Woman... allowing you to be in mud spring in a birthday drass and yet.. nowhere you will feel your privacy is compromised...

Room Tip: Go with open mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank raju1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Just returned from Taiwan where our mission was to go to as many hot springs as we could. In 9 days we did 3 private, 3 outdoor public hot springs (Taipei, Wulai and Tainan) Toong Mao is a public hot spring located about 1 hour from Tainan by taxi at Guan Zi Ling. Tainan is the closest big town on the Taiwan High Speed Rail. This is not a five star resort but the atmosphere is five star and they have hot and cold baths as well as mud. Of the 6 hot springs we did I enjoyed this the most for sure. If I can offer the perfect itinerary (for hot spring lovers) it would be this. Catch the Taiwan High Speed Train from Taipei to Tainan (1 hr 45 minutes). Stay at the Taipung Suites Hotel in Tainan (great hotel see my review) and then do a day trip to the Toong Mao Spa Resort. We arranged a taxi through the hotel, 2 hour round trip and waited for us for 2 hours (4 hours total) and it cost NT$1800. Entrance to the hot spring was NT$400 per person. Absolutely fantastic experience and look forward to going back some day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thespgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Clean rooms, hotspring in room is great, breakfast is very taiwanese. Outdoor hotspring and spa is wonderful. overall, I will stay there next time for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davidchang21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

My boyfriend and I spent one night here in January 2010. We arrived late on a Saturday night as we had driven a scooter to Guanzaling. We looked at a bunch of hotels in the lower and upper village and although some had lower rates, none seemed to offer very much for the price they were charging, where as Toong Mao really impressed us.

We liked the public hot springs, but really liked the private ones that were on the balcony of our room. I don't think that all rooms have private springs, so double check if that is what you want, but we loved it. There was also an outdoor shower so I showered in hot spring water in the morning on my balcony (no one can see you) and stared at the beautiful mountains.

Also, the breakfast was ok and the resort seemed very family friendly also.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeachL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tainan hotels
East District/ Yongkang District
Queena Plaza Hotel
Queena Plaza Hotel
#11 of 243 in Tainan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Tayih Landis Hotel Tainan
East District/ Yongkang District
Les Hotel Tainan
Les Hotel Tainan
#29 of 243 in Tainan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East District/ Yongkang District
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan
East District/ Yongkang District
Evergreen Plaza
Evergreen Plaza
#7 of 243 in Tainan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Siraya National Scenic Area
Guanziling Lin Kuei Yuan Hot Spring Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling

Property: Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling
Address: No.28 Guanziling, Guanling Village, Tainan, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Tainan > Siraya National Scenic Area , Great Guanzihling Area
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tainan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toong Mao Spa Resort Guanziling Hotel Tainan County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing