We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Victoria Hotel
Ranked #135 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good and relaxing hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been staying at this hotel a few times already, and I always found it to be extremely good.
The rooms are clean, comfortable, and modern: you can be assured a comfortable sleeping.
This is something mandatory for a business trip, together with a good breakfast which is not missing at this hotel (even if doesn't change too much).

The staff if competent, fast, and extremely helpful: every request is executed quickly and with a smile.
I have to agree with another reviewer that the staff is one of the greatest assets of this hotel.

The location is good too, there are a lot of restaurants and amenities at walk distance.
You can find from expensive restaurants down to very simple local food.


The only problem is that the walls of the rooms are quite thin: you can hear the neighbour's alarm in the morning (at least I did because I wake up quite early).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    71
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
11
9
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

After traveling to Taiwan many times over the last 20+ years this is the first time I stayed at the Grand Victoria.
Excellent hotel, great service and they have a fabulous breakfast, choices range from western fare to Asian dishes in the buffet.
The service was very good, the rooms are clean and convenient. Excellent WiFi in the room and nice bathroom.
The bar is very good and they have a great selection of wines by the glass as well as by the bottle. They have a sommelier and he is very knowledgeable and helpful.
Because its location it is easy to get out of the city to travel to other parts or go to Hsinchu.
Most definitely will stay here next time, better value than the grand Hyatt in downtown Taipei and more of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Grand Victoria on a business trip.
The room was large and extremely comfortable. Excellent facilities, and I was especially pleased with the L'Occitaine toiletries. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet.
The location was very good for me (I could walk to the office) but may not be convenient for everyone.

A few downsides:
As mentioned by others there was very little room service choice (and the club sandwich I ordered wasn't very nice at all). This was disappointing for me, as I often travel alone on business and therefore prefer to eat in my room. However the hotel has good restaurants, and is close to other eateries so if you don't mind eating alone this shouldn't be a problem.
The Wi-Fi service was not very reliable. It often took 15 minutes for my ipad to find the Wi-Fi signal, and it cut out quite frequently. This wasn't a problem for me, but might be for others if you needed to work in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was on a business trip and my office book me in this hotel. Its close to my office and away from the city centre. This is a nice hotel for relaxing and for business as well as it is quite and many shops nearby. The room is comfortable and clean. The staffs are courteous and friendly. Nice hotel to relax in and away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the ferri wheel. Its a nice sight especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The staff very excellent, despite rooms not being ready when we arrived for an early checkin (having previously asked). Rooms very impeccable high tech affairs. Room service staff faultless, and an excellent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel room is very comfortable and the staff are very courteous to attend to any requests and make sure that it is quickly attended to.

There are couple of issues that I would like to point out from my perspective.

1. The wifi speed is not good and sometimes can be very spotty.
2. I am a vegetarian and the morning buffet has almost nothing to choose (excepting boiled vegetables/mushrooms). While there are many many choices for non-vegetarians, adding at least one more cooked item on the veggie side would be a welcome addition. During all the days of my stay, even both the soup choices contained meat and therefore I was not able to have anything hot during my breakfast.

I would definitely recommend this place for its service and comforts and the fact that it is super close to my office and the train connection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is my second review of this hotel, having stayed here from Sundays to Thursday/Friday every week for nearly two months now (with an additional 8 stays at the hotel before that). In my initial review I gave the hotel a 4-rating on the basis of excellent service from the staff and the very clean and comfortable rooms. I am happy to conclude that these aspects of the hotel have definitely survived the test of time and I have enjoyed consistency at a very high level on both these aspects! The front desk staff, bellboys, concierge and restaurant staff all go out of their way to make the stay pleasant. Any request is quickly handled (asking for iron/ironing board, asking for taxi, asking them to keep some luggage whilst I leave for the weekend, etc.) and with enthusiasm. In fact, the staff are clearly this hotel's greatest asset and keep me coming back despite the flaws described below.

The reason for the 3-star rating I gave this time is viewed from the perspective of a long stay guest for which this hotel is not ideally suited. First of all, for a 5-star hotel, the room service menu is ridiculously limited without any real main courses (just a soup, a pasta, some fried rice and some unimaginative sandwiches). For the avoidance of doubt, this hotel has two good restaurants (the steakhouse is really great and has delivered consistent excellence on the 15+ times I have eaten there. The Italian restaurant is not outstanding but has some nice dishes on the menu). As a frequent traveller however I do not want to spend two hours on dinner every day and therefore would like to be able to fall back on a sufficiently varied room service menu which the hotel lacks. On occasion, I am able to order menu items from the Italian restaurant but these arrive lukewarm at best so this should also be looked at. A room service menu should have some items that, whilst not necessarily being comfort food, should be homely as frequent travellers are too jaded to want a 5-course meal with wine pairing extravagganza every day.
Second of all (I have been staying here with a number of colleagues), the hotel does not really appear to reward the continued loyalty we have been showing, often trying to impose different rates on us seemingly at random. Whilst I can appreciate that the hotel may be busier on some days than others, given the business we generate at the hotel (rooms and restaurants), I would have expected them to adhere to the agreed corporate rate as a matter of continuity.

In summary, the hotel is a superb choice for travellers on short stays in Taipei but for longer term guests the hotel should improve the room service offering and address the reservation issues that we have encountered.

Room Tip: I have stayed in about 15 different rooms in the hotel and all were good and clean with a similar la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starfield11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Capital Hotel Dazhi
#248 of 565 in Taipei
64 reviews
ISIS Taipei Boutique Hotel
#261 of 565 in Taipei
53 reviews
Taipei Marriott Hotel
#55 of 565 in Taipei
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Mayfull Hotel Taipei
#208 of 565 in Taipei
59 reviews
Neihu District
Elegance Hotel
Elegance Hotel
#487 of 565 in Taipei
10 reviews
S-aura Hotel
#175 of 565 in Taipei
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victoria Hotel

Property: Grand Victoria Hotel
Address: No.168 Jingye Fourth Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Victoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the ever-changing landscape of Taipei City, Grand Victoria Hotel is a quintessential masterpiece of modern luxury, representing a fusion of classic Victorian architecture of the 19th century with contemporary elements of the 21st century.While classic Victorian architecture, an English-styled bell tower, customized LED lighting, and an elegant wedding garden reminiscent of distant lands comprise the grand exterior of the Grand Victoria Hotel, elegant white granites, lavish decorations, and international caliber boutique stores make up an exceptional interior like none other.Grand Victoria Hotel is located in the Dazhi Miramar business district in the Chungshan District in Taipei City. A stone’s throw from the Neihu science and technology district, the Hsichi and Nankang industrial districts, the shopping paradise of the East District, and short drives from Taipei Songshan Airport and Taoyuan International Airport, Grand Victoria Hotel is the hotel of choice whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing