We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location isn't enough.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taipei Ximen BackPackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taipei Ximen BackPackers
Ranked #135 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good location isn't enough.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

A disappointing stay. This hostel is in a pretty good location in Ximen, close to the MRT and lots of shops and food.
Most of the rooms have no windows and are really tiny. The walls are ridiculously thin & you hear EVERYTHING! Ppl talking, walking around, even urinating in the toilet. There is very little ventilation in the entire place. Even the bathrooms have only fans sucking the steam and smells out into the hallway. The bathrooms are tiny too, with the toilet cubicles directly next to showers. Showers have poor water pressure and switch between freezing & boiling. Showers flood water onto ground in toilet cubicle. Bathrooms are mouldy and smelly. Kitchen was uninviting, full of staff stuff and them hanging out with friends. Kitchen area doubles as a "smoking room" which is grose. Wifi didn't always work. Some staff were friendly, others were inconsiderate and unfriendly, eg watching TV really loud in 'communal' tv room late at night while guests are trying to sleep. If you're going to stay here, make sure you bring earplugs and some thongs for the bathroom. Poor value for money, This place has a lot to work on.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bodysuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

There are 2 different locations for this hostel. I stayed in the main building where the dorms are. The ensuites that house more people are in another building.
This review is for the dorm. I stayed for a week.

Location: Fantastic location, minutes to XiMenDing. I walked around XiMenDing (for food, bookstore, shopping, bubble tea) so many times i felt like XiMenDing was the backyard. 5min walk to metro station. Metro station is well-connected to other lines. 3 convenience stores along the street, good for midnight snacks.

Rooms: Not in the best conditions (screeching bunk beds, thin mattress) with no sound-proofing between rooms. Dorm are near to windows, expect traffic noise. I got used to it by sleeping with music/earphones. Bedsheets are changed after every guest moved out.

Facilities: Free use of common computers within restricted time. No problem with the computers & free wifi. I could stream drama series & youtube songs with my iPhone.

Staff & Service: Friendly if you are friendly to them. Sounds kindly basic, but you will be amazed. I didn't have any problem with all 3 owners.

Value: Good depends on what is your priority

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliseljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

There were 9 of us in this trip. Thus, we took a 6-bed room and a 3-bed room. They have 2 different buildings. Our rooms were located in another building, about 10 minutes walk from the check in counter. The 6-bed room and 3 bed room although located in the same building, but it's not together. The 6-bed room has 3 double beds, one "upstairs" and 1 downstairs, there is one bathroom, with a small kitchen. There is also a fridge and water filter. There are no daily room service, but they will take out the rubbish and refill the water daily. The hostel is located in quite a strategic place. It is very near xi men ding and about 20 minutes away from the Xi Men station.

The people in charge in the hostels are very nice. They arranged our tour to jiu fen and suggested some places for us to visit. One downside is that is that there is a construction just next to the building, thus it is very noisy in the morning. However, if you're a morning person, it wouldn't be a problem! One person only costs about 600 ++ yuan a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolecyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Excellent location and clean lodging. Friendly staff and absolutely cheap hostel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackeyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

this review would be based on 6 beds room.

please be noted that the picture of the room shown in the website is totally not like what it is in reality. it's not as nice in the picture. However, i wouldn't day that the real picture of the room is bad. The room are decent and clean. What i did not expect upon check in is that i have to walk about 20 minutes to the 'real room' from the main office. by the way, upon check in, we were told that we could swipe our credit card, the place only accept cash.

no daily room service is provided. the room that we had is actually an apartment. a small place just nice to cram 6 people. the room have washing machine, TV, a DVD player minus the TV-DVD player connector cable, a refrigerator, a small kitchen and water dispenser. The air conditioning is functioning but the double bed below does not feel any air. so, if you are sleeping on the bed below, it's very warm. Opening the window for some air will allow the noise from the streets into the room. not such a nice idea.

forget about getting a nice view. Open the window and you will see back lane.

overall, the catch of this place would be the privacy and it's location. would say that it is quite strategic place to based yourself in Taipei. Food and attractions are within walking distance. the nearest MRT, Ximen MRT is about 20 minutes walk away from this place.

the hostel does provide airport shuttle but your have to pay. bear in mind to double confirm your shuttle service a day before otherwise you might risk missing your flight. it's about an hour drive to Taoyuan airport from the hostel.

the staffs of the hostel are friendly and always helpful to tell you how to get around Taipei.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nukesryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed in both the mixed dorm and the ensuite room. The hostel is located in an excellent location, just 2 minutes from Ximending. However, the staff were aloof and the rooms were definitely not in the best conditions.
The dorm room was really cramp and tiny. We only occupied half the beds and there was hardly any space left for our backpacks, much less if all the beds were occupied! The ensuite room was a disappointment compared to the pictures. The ensuite rooms were located in a hotel in the next building. The lobby and hallways felt old and grimmy and our room smelled musky the entire night despite us turning the AC on (which didn't even really cool the room down).
What really disappointed us was when we arranged for an airport transfer for 4.30am, the cab did not turn up. All that the staff did to help was to keep calling the cab driver on his cellphone (which he did not answer). She did not call for any replacement cabs and only refunded us the money after we suggested taking a cab on our own.
In all, this would be a pretty decent place to stay in if you are looking for somewhere budget and no-frills.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

No frills, great deal. Lovely staff, clean amenities - despite having to share toilet, awesome environment to be in. Taiwan in itself is a truly lovely place, hospitable and genuinely lovely people all around, Taipei, though a city is no different. What's best about this place is that it is located in the heart of Taipei, Xi Men Ding. Great value too!

Will definitely be back here to stay regardless of heightened budget or not. Certainly attributed to a pleasant and most fondest travel memories.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alytashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Meander Taipei Hostel
#2 of 240 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Backpackers Inn, Taipei
#14 of 240 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uinn Travel Hostel
#3 of 240 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
NK Hostel
#13 of 240 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Wanhua District
TW Hostel(Taipei City Hostel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipei Ximen BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei Ximen BackPackers

Property: Taipei Ximen BackPackers
Address: 2F, No.113 Kunming Street, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Taipei Ximen Backpackers Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing