We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the cockroach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taipei Ximen BackPackers
Ranked #111 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It's location is really great as it is situated in the Ximending area, so everything is within reach: shops, restaurants, cafe, cinema. As for the disadvantages: there was only one toilet, may be I just didn't notice another one. And my roommate was a big cockroach. Fortunately, I'm not very afraid of them. But anyway you pay 1000 NTD per night not for this) one more thing: the hostel is on the 2nd floor, so it would be difficult for a lady to get her suitcase there) I was lucky, as a friendly guy from the reception helped me with it;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed over a weekend in end October 2012. Stayed in the Deluxe room for 2 with free wifi. Wonderful experience to stay in an 1-room apartment unit in the middle of Ximen. Enjoy the center location and shopping, dining places nearby. Friendly staffs. Adaptors and towels are available for free but will require a small deposit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

A disappointing stay. This hostel is in a pretty good location in Ximen, close to the MRT and lots of shops and food.
Most of the rooms have no windows and are really tiny. The walls are ridiculously thin & you hear EVERYTHING! Ppl talking, walking around, even urinating in the toilet. There is very little ventilation in the entire place. Even the bathrooms have only fans sucking the steam and smells out into the hallway. The bathrooms are tiny too, with the toilet cubicles directly next to showers. Showers have poor water pressure and switch between freezing & boiling. Showers flood water onto ground in toilet cubicle. Bathrooms are mouldy and smelly. Kitchen was uninviting, full of staff stuff and them hanging out with friends. Kitchen area doubles as a "smoking room" which is grose. Wifi didn't always work. Some staff were friendly, others were inconsiderate and unfriendly, eg watching TV really loud in 'communal' tv room late at night while guests are trying to sleep. If you're going to stay here, make sure you bring earplugs and some thongs for the bathroom. Poor value for money, This place has a lot to work on.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bodysuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

There are 2 different locations for this hostel. I stayed in the main building where the dorms are. The ensuites that house more people are in another building.
This review is for the dorm. I stayed for a week.

Location: Fantastic location, minutes to XiMenDing. I walked around XiMenDing (for food, bookstore, shopping, bubble tea) so many times i felt like XiMenDing was the backyard. 5min walk to metro station. Metro station is well-connected to other lines. 3 convenience stores along the street, good for midnight snacks.

Rooms: Not in the best conditions (screeching bunk beds, thin mattress) with no sound-proofing between rooms. Dorm are near to windows, expect traffic noise. I got used to it by sleeping with music/earphones. Bedsheets are changed after every guest moved out.

Facilities: Free use of common computers within restricted time. No problem with the computers & free wifi. I could stream drama series & youtube songs with my iPhone.

Staff & Service: Friendly if you are friendly to them. Sounds kindly basic, but you will be amazed. I didn't have any problem with all 3 owners.

Value: Good depends on what is your priority

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliseljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

There were 9 of us in this trip. Thus, we took a 6-bed room and a 3-bed room. They have 2 different buildings. Our rooms were located in another building, about 10 minutes walk from the check in counter. The 6-bed room and 3 bed room although located in the same building, but it's not together. The 6-bed room has 3 double beds, one "upstairs" and 1 downstairs, there is one bathroom, with a small kitchen. There is also a fridge and water filter. There are no daily room service, but they will take out the rubbish and refill the water daily. The hostel is located in quite a strategic place. It is very near xi men ding and about 20 minutes away from the Xi Men station.

The people in charge in the hostels are very nice. They arranged our tour to jiu fen and suggested some places for us to visit. One downside is that is that there is a construction just next to the building, thus it is very noisy in the morning. However, if you're a morning person, it wouldn't be a problem! One person only costs about 600 ++ yuan a night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolecyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Excellent location and clean lodging. Friendly staff and absolutely cheap hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackeyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

this review would be based on 6 beds room.

please be noted that the picture of the room shown in the website is totally not like what it is in reality. it's not as nice in the picture. However, i wouldn't day that the real picture of the room is bad. The room are decent and clean. What i did not expect upon check in is that i have to walk about 20 minutes to the 'real room' from the main office. by the way, upon check in, we were told that we could swipe our credit card, the place only accept cash.

no daily room service is provided. the room that we had is actually an apartment. a small place just nice to cram 6 people. the room have washing machine, TV, a DVD player minus the TV-DVD player connector cable, a refrigerator, a small kitchen and water dispenser. The air conditioning is functioning but the double bed below does not feel any air. so, if you are sleeping on the bed below, it's very warm. Opening the window for some air will allow the noise from the streets into the room. not such a nice idea.

forget about getting a nice view. Open the window and you will see back lane.

overall, the catch of this place would be the privacy and it's location. would say that it is quite strategic place to based yourself in Taipei. Food and attractions are within walking distance. the nearest MRT, Ximen MRT is about 20 minutes walk away from this place.

the hostel does provide airport shuttle but your have to pay. bear in mind to double confirm your shuttle service a day before otherwise you might risk missing your flight. it's about an hour drive to Taoyuan airport from the hostel.

the staffs of the hostel are friendly and always helpful to tell you how to get around Taipei.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nukesryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.3 mi away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#67 of 585 in Taipei
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.3 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meander Taipei Hostel
Meander Taipei Hostel
#1 of 283 in Taipei
622 reviews
3.1 mi away
RF Hotel - Zhongxiao
RF Hotel - Zhongxiao
#508 of 585 in Taipei
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Uinn Travel Hostel
Uinn Travel Hostel
#5 of 283 in Taipei
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipei Ximen BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei Ximen BackPackers

Address: 2F, No.113 Kunming Street, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: £9 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Taipei Ximen Backpackers Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing