We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK option near the HSR station”
Review of Astar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astar Hotel
Ranked #278 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The main reason I chose this hotel was because it's walkable from the HSR station. We were checked in quickly with no fuss and I was pleasantly surprised at the size of our room. The in room WiFi works pretty well. There's nothing really flash of memorable about this hotel but for a stopover it does the job. Check out the hotel's 'Business Centre' for a free cup of tea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel is a solid 3 star but had the potential to be 4 star with a few improvements.

The front desk is just that. .a standard office desk instead of the usual shiny counter you'd expect in any hotel.

The staff really have average English and are a bit nervous dealing with guests.

The corridors look quite dated, especially the old carpet and antique doors which you need to open the old fashioned way - lock and key.

The room was spacious and the bed was good, but boy it needs a refresh. We had frayed bed sheets, and the bathroom had cracked and faded white tiles. Water pressure from the shower head was disgraceful, and the hotel only provides one tiny soap each day.

We found hairs from the cleaning lady in the shower as well.

Otherwise, the location is decent. A really easy walk from Zhongshan station. It's a bit more of a hassle to Taipei main station with suitcases because there are a few big intersections to cross.

2  Thank Jono_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room is big but the whole hotel looked old. When I arrived there is no one to assist to open the main door (non automatic type). The toilet flushing is not working well and have to call for the maintenance. The price is also consider on the high side as this is the only hotel which does not include breakfast.

On the last day check out when I asked the hotel to arrange for airport transfer, it turn it is a yellow cab and not a hotel car (if I need a cab, there are plenty on the street), and the price I paid for is definitely on the high side.

By the way the hotel is not that near to the MRT station, althought still within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STS_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The building and rooms show its age but cleanliness is not jeopardized. It may not be spotless but rooms and bathrooms are comfortable enough. Basic amenities in the room are available like TV, hairdryer, AC, toiletries and other hotel compendiums.

There is no breakfast cafe and no room service. Nevertheless, decent bakeries and many convenience stores like 7-11 and Family Mart are just walking distance. Not to forget the Mc Donald's which is 5 min walk away and Starbucks at 8mins by foot. Local noodle shops open a bit late for someone who wakes up at 7am like me. I think the shops open at 10:30am.

At mid-day, the area gets alive with the lined up noodle and dimsum shops. Push cart goodies are also around. Several Seafood Restos and Japanese Restos are within the vicinity. Ximendeng is just 10mins by car, the nearest bus station is just 5mins by foot and the ZhongShang train station is just 15min walk (which is not too long as you can window shop as you walk)

The staff upgrades my rating for this hotel. They are very friendly. Even friendlier than Thai hospitality (as I describe it). They may not speak English well but the effort counts as much.

I would like them to upgrade the rooms and modernize it a bit and a buffet breakfast will be great. Price and value though is amazing!

Room Tip: Try requesting for upper floors. Lower floors can hear street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Awesome hotel. The hotel staff service was remarkable & helpful. When I call to check my room aircon, one staff name Miss Curry help me with the aircon setting. Thereafter she called up to check and following up with an inspection herself. The internet / wifi was free. The room I stay was in decent condition. Certainly I will going back to ASTAR Hotel when I visit Taipei again.

Room Tip: About 10 mins walk to MRT (not really near). Many restaurant around the area (no worries for food).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmwwkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Getting around in Taipei is really cheap, so it was no problem that it was so far from the main Taipei station (~20min walk). It is about 10min walking distance from the Shandao station, which is one stop from the main Taipei station. You can get there for about $20 NT (less than $1 USD), or you can just take a taxi from the hotel to the main Taipei MRT station for $75-$90 NT ($2.50-$3 USD), depending on the driver. There are plenty of places to eat, and shops around the hotel. If you're looking for a McDonald's, there's one on the corner. As for the hotel itself...

It's a nice 3-star hotel. It's not immaculate, but it get's the job done for a short/cheap stay. The beds are a little hard, but I managed a good nights sleep AND the rooms are a nice size. The staff speak some English, and they're pretty helpful, so that's always a plus.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

it takes about 15 mins walk from the station, and there are a lot of restaurants nearby this hotel. this area is like a little japan in taipei. room is quite ok, no surprise or shock. very important, there's no any funny smell in the room or toilet. room size is quite ok compare to other hotels at this rate. wouldn't mind to stay here again if rate is attractive enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Liz Hotel
Liz Hotel
#222 of 578 in Taipei
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
#176 of 578 in Taipei
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel-Linsen, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Inn Taipei Linsen
Royal Inn Taipei Linsen
#107 of 578 in Taipei
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai Hotel Zhongshan
Mai Hotel Zhongshan
#219 of 578 in Taipei
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charming Castle Hotel
Charming Castle Hotel
#255 of 578 in Taipei
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astar Hotel

Address: No.98 Lin Sen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astar Hotel is Taipei's original boutique hotel – long before the term “boutique hotel” was even coined. For more than 40 years, Astar Hotel has been providing our esteemed guests with meticulous personal service from dedicated staff members. Astar Hotel is stylish, affordable, and most importantly, ideally located in the heart of Taipei. One of our primary missions is to provide you with a high level of comfort. Astar Hotel was completely refurbished in 2004 and is equipped with the most modern facilities. Indulge yourself in the hotel’s contemporary and relaxed atmosphere. Find the perfect balance at the Astar: unwind in one of our fully furnished, relaxed guestrooms, or take advantage of the wonderful hotel location. We know that it’s the little, personal touches that make the difference during your stay with us. Let us help you find where to shop, how to use local transport, or even as simple as finding a great cup of coffee or tea in Taipei. If you have stayed with us before and have enjoyed your experience at the Astar Hotel, please spread the word! If this will be your first time staying with us, we welcome you to uncover one of the best kept secrets of Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing