We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the reasonable choices to budget stay in Taipei.”
Review of Dahshin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dahshin Hotel
Ranked #369 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Strängnäs, Södermanlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the reasonable choices to budget stay in Taipei.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at a room with a double bed in the middle of January 2014. I booked this hotel thorough a Japanese major hotel booking web service. We chose this hotel because of their good location and reasonable costs.
From other travelers’ reviews, we already know that their facilities are old and some rooms have no window. As we checked in, I asked a receptionist whether the room for us have a window. We offered room 602, and thank god, there was a window!
Managers and receptionists are kind and informative. They are fluent in Japanese and English.
Breakfasts are very simple buffet with rice porridge and few Chinese dishes. Are you interested in Western foods? They serve same thin white bread for toast, fried eggs, steamed hams every day.
(A tip: There is a Welcome super market under the Xingxhing department store. You can get various food, like milk or cheeses or mueslis there.)

If you are available for the simplicities, the hotel is one of the reasonable choices to budget stay in Taipei.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taichibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    91
    65
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
22
94
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Its in an alley a few steps from the main road. The small building is old but management has kept the hotel tidy and neat. Rooms are kept clean all the time and amenities including bottled water are replenished daily. Included is a simple basic buffet breakfast (Chinese and Western). Location is very ideal - 5 minutes to MRT, lots of local and western restaurants around, small boutique shops and a nice park nearby. What is remarkable are the front desk staff, who all exemplifies the Taiwanese brand of friendliness and courtesy. This hotel is in a place where there are lots of Japanese tourist so restaurants, shops and hotels mostly cater to them. Great for business travelers and budget tourist who would use the MRT and Taipei Main Station as their hub. Also, airport shuttle bus at NTD 125 per way stops very near this hotel. Can recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rse-wpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Location was good, 5 mins walk or so to zhongshan MRT station. Short walk to the japanese street where you can find supper places. That said, I wouldn't give the hotel a high rating as the rooms were really small, and I did not expect this size of hotel rooms in Taipei but more likely in Hong Kong. Well equipped room, but I didn't quite like the toilet as it was really cramped, had to stand at a corner so i could open the bathroom door, and the room that we were given the first 2 nights the bathtub was not nailed to the ground, seem like the portable type, not stable when you stand in it, could tilt if you stand too close because of the shower.

Room was small and did not have much space as we had a lot of luggage (and it was still cold then) and also because we were in taiwan for a total of 8 days and brought and bought many things. But i like the clean beddings they have in Dashin Hotel.

But one thing i like is that although it was small, they still allowed us to leave our luggage with them when we were away at another part of taiwan and came back to Taipei for another 3 days 2 night with them. The breakfast was really simple. I usually skip breakfast and get more sleep but my older folks liked the typical taiwan porridge breakfast. Hotel staff don't speak much english but are still quite friendly and helpful since we spoke chinese anyway we didn't have much difficulty.

Room Tip: Good if you're a single traveller or don't have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. It was walking distance to Zhongshan MRT station and in a quiet street. It was easy to go to everywhere from the hotel. The room was not very big but nevertheless nice and clean.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They recommended a very good night market and supermarket nearby. I had an emergency there and they showed me where the good hospital was. Basically wherever you want to go, the receptionist will draw a map and show you how to get there, if he knows.

The breakfast was quite tasty, even though there wasn’t a wide selection of food.

The only problem (indeed a very big problem) was the shower. The hot water only ran for a few minute and it became ice cold. Then it went hot again. That was very irritating for a cold winter night. They offered to change a room for us only on the very last night but we didn’t bother and went through with the cold water.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

Pros:
-good location from ningxia night market and Zhongshan mrt.
-Shuttle bus from nearby hotel to airport
-friendly reception
-room size was satisfactory
- housekeeping was well done. Cleanliness etc

Cons
-shower!! Water turns hot and cold continuously, alternating between 30s each. Have to stand shivering in the cold
-no shower curtain, but that didn't bother me
-the vent in the toilet is connected to all other rooms toilets on the same floor, someone smoking in a non smoking room will result in a very pungent smoke smell in your toilet.
Good thing is just close the toilet door and you won't smell it

Other comments:
-Decent breakfast (but if you can find others you can skip this)
-Local calls are not free, $10TWD a minute

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theonecookiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

A solid solo traveler's budget hotel. Location is decent. There's a great night market w/in 20 minutes walk. The subway station is about a 5-10 minute walk away. Breakfast is decent.

The hotel needs soundproofing pretty badly. Hard to sleep past 7 am because you start hearing footsteps and whispers of guests walking out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuaishuaishuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The room is really small and it has hazards. As soon as you enter the room there is an unnecessary step that made us trip a few times. There isn't places to hang clothes nor towel either. Nor were there enough space to place our luggage a without tripping over them. It was generally very uncomfortable to move around the room even. Will never go back to it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kakakakakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
K Hotel (Taipei I)
K Hotel (Taipei I)
#256 of 571 in Taipei
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
THE Tango Taipei NanShi
THE Tango Taipei NanShi
#102 of 571 in Taipei
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn Taipei Nanxi
Royal Inn Taipei Nanxi
#147 of 571 in Taipei
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chian Huei Business Hotel
Chian Huei Business Hotel
#345 of 571 in Taipei
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purple Garden Hotel
Purple Garden Hotel
#411 of 571 in Taipei
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friends Yu-Yu Hotel
Friends Yu-Yu Hotel
#330 of 571 in Taipei
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahshin Hotel

Property: Dahshin Hotel
Address: No.2-2 Lane 27, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dahshin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dahshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dahshin Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing