We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but great location”

Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
Ranked #363 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel but great location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel wasn't my favorite, but if you're looking for a place in a good location at a reasonable price, this would be a good choice.

Pros: mostly related to location.... directly in front of Guting MRT station (exit 8) only 3 stops from Taipei main station, good neighborhood with many worthy sightseeing spots within walking distance (National Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall, National Theater, National Concert Hall, and good local eats). Good breakfast buffet with mainly Chinese food options and coffee/espresso machines.

Cons: room was quite dusty... felt sneezy and stuffy every night, needed to take allergy medicine every evening when hanging out in the room. Only one electrical outlet in the room and no outlets in the bathroom. Unable to adjust room's temperature (maybe thermostat was broken?)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
24
9
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit to Yoxing. Location really very good. Breakfast served is commonly found most similar hotels, If you aren't used it, you may buIjsheng bakery - fantastic delicious bread.y the bread from the bakery 2 shops away from Yoxing and dine in. Or cross over to Wellcome supermarket opposite to buy your breakfast. You can either walk 15 mins or take MRT from Guting to Power Statuon to Shida Night Market for shopping or dinner. Walking towards the temple across the street, there is a small lane that leads to local eatery.

Yoxing private 1 free transport to & fro to central area per day. I must comment that their service is immediate when I request for extra pillows. The staff are very polite and helpful - front counter, canteen, chamber maid and driver.

I will definitely go back again and will recommend Yoxing to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while visiting Taipei. It's the closest hotel to our family's house, so we had no choice. It's very annoying that you can only have 1 room key, which means you have to coordinate with your roommate if you're on different schedules. The breakfast is the normal congee that you get everywhere in Taiwan, so if you like it, then lucky you. Otherwise you'll just have to go out and find breakfast somewhere else. The breakfast room is tiny, so people line up at 7:30am to get a seat and most of the time we couldn't find any open tables so we brought our food back to the room. Also very annoying. We actually stayed in 3 different rooms during our trip and all of the rooms and bathrooms were clean. We also liked that there were mini fridges in each room. But there were quality issues. The doors were not always flush against the frame, so you could hear out in the hallways. The safety box did not work in 2 of the rooms. The showers took forever to heat up and one of the doors was completely missing. Also wished that the free wi-fi could be found in the rooms, we had to go stand in the hallway or sit in the small lobby to get internet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the great location (just outside the Guting MRT station) and nearby shopping & eateries. The hotel is small and the room average with no view as we asked for a quiet room and got one facing some inner court & other buildings but the room was rather spacious especially the renovated bathroom that comes with a shower and a bath tub! However, the main door was out of alignment and needed fixing.

The breakfast was excellent by Taiwanese standards with many freshly stir fried vegetables (change daily) and the staple porridge with meat floss and other various pickles. For Western choices,a bit limited but there is toasts, buns, jam and the best crunchy peanut butter I have tasted and fresh fruit and a coffee machine with fresh brew of coffee choices. The room rates are reasonably price for what it offers and the convenient location provides a great base to explore Taipei and I would return to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Right beside Guting MRT station. This hotel offers amazing location. Super affordable price. This is a business hotel, used frequently by Taiwanese business people and families visiting Taipei. It is clean, beds are wide and comfortable. Not luxury by any chance but good for those travelling on a budget but still want convinience and cleanliness. The free breakfast here is really good and fresh. They do offer toast and stuff but I really like their traditional Taiwanese breakfast which is porridge and vegetables and dried shredded pork. The best! I totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A little outdated and probably would not have booked here myself but booking was done for us.Staff are good, free airport transfers in a/c minibus.Location is good for access for metro and then travelling around the city.
Rooms are in need of refurbishment and for the price paid (£40 a night) you could get better elsewhere for only slightly more.
From a western point of view the breakfast was poor with very little to choose from and we skipped it most of the time eating out.
Free internet in room , you need to get cable from reception.
Would stay here again but only for few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob13159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is located literally 10 seconds right off exit 8 of GuTing station, which will be one of the most convenient stations as soon as the yellow line starts running. The intersection it is located at is packed with restaurants and bars, 24 hour McDonalds, Starbucks, Shan Shang Qiao Fu beef noodle restaurant, 7-11, Friday's, 24 hours supermarket, to name a few. It is located 15 mins away from Shi Da night market.

The room was small and pretty clean, but definitely shows years of wear and tear. The lobby was nicely renovated but the hallway and rooms have definitely seen better days. The wifi is only available in the lobby and on the hallways of each floor, so while I was out on the hall one of the chair I sat on the handle fell off which I had to put back on for them.

It came with complementary breakfast, which was standard congee with assortments of smaller dishes and a few western items like toast, eggs and ham. To be honest, there are plenty of better breakfast options within 5 minutes walking distance for $30-100NTD.

Although the hotel isn't exactly top notch, but I would stay here again because of the amazing location and would definitely recommend it for fellow travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Li Yuan Hotel
#325 of 571 in Taipei
44 reviews
Saual Keh Hotel
#221 of 571 in Taipei
140 reviews
Wing Hotel Taipei
#299 of 571 in Taipei
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanhua District
Inhouse Residence
Inhouse Residence
#281 of 571 in Taipei
21 reviews
Good More Hotel - Shida
#386 of 571 in Taipei
6 reviews
Hotel 73
#16 of 571 in Taipei
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency

Property: Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
Address: No.11 Section1, Ho-Ping West Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing