We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charming Castle Hotel
Ranked #252 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is good value for the money. I would definitely stay there again. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to 4 different subway stops. The front desk staff was very friendly and whenever you re-enter the hotel lobby, they would rise to greet you with a smile. Daniel and Mandy who both speak English were especially helpful.
We stayed in room 701 which was newly renovated and which had a beautiful glass shower enclosure and an in-room sauna. The room was very clean and the beds (2 twins) were very comfortable. We were able to get free WIFI in the room with some technical assistance from Daniel.
There are a few touristy things within walking distance of the hotel such as the Guanghua Digital Mall, Shandao Temple, Huashan Creative Park, Zhongshan Underground Market, Liaoning St Night Market, and a weekend farmer’s market at the corner of Bade Rd and Songjiang Rd.
The breakfast buffet was good and free 24 hour coffee (regular, latte or cappuccino from a machine in the dining room) was an added plus. There are several 100 NT restaurants in the immediate vicinity plus there is a laneway (Chang’An Rd lane 33) of restaurants at the first traffic light west of the hotel going north.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Margaret Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Charming Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Flew into TPE took a bus right outside the airport for about 40 minutes to a bus stop which was about a 8 minute walk away to this hotel. The location was great for night activity. The room was big and comfortable. I have no complaints. From the hotel leave the front door turn left go to the first traffic light and cross right. All the streets in that direction is where you will find many side streets with food, beer, convenient stores, etc. The nearest metro is about a 12-15 minute walk. Go out the front door of the hotel, turn left keep walking until you see a small white Church. Cross the street to the church turn left keep walking about .25 miles until you find the subway entrance. The metro is very efficient and easy to navigate. You can get anywhere in no time.

Room Tip: I had an upper floor facing the front overlooking the main street. The window opens so I enjoyed wa...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank impetiousdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at the Charming Castle Hotel in November 13' for 3 nights. When I booked, options were very limited due to special events going on in Taipei. From Taoyuan International Airport (TPE) I took the Evergreen bus to the Evergreen Laurel Hotel stop for 150 TWD ($5). From the Evergreen Laurel Hotel, head south one block then make a right down Changan East Road. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the Charming Castle Hotel.

Upon walking into the lobby the staff was helpful on check-in. They assisted us with any questions I had. As other reviews have stated the rooms are clean, a little dated with the furniture and the shower does wet the entire bathroom which did not bother me. There is a tv, frig, free bottles of water and a unit to warm water for tea. There is not a safe in the room to hold passports and I could not find a temperature adjustment for the a/c. There was only an on and off switch so the room was very cold at times. The hotel offers a Chinese style breakfast each morning which was good. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest metro station. The hotel is situated in a good night life area with many good restaurants and places to have a drink.

I enjoyed my stay at the Charming Castle Hotel, I would not hesitate to book her again if I had to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lanikai_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Found this hotel using TripAdvisor the day prior to arriving. The photos looked very good but we were a bit disappointed when we saw the rooms. The decor was from the 1980's, the rooms were very clean and well cared for, and the size of the room was fairly large. The bathroom was roomy too but the open shower is just not what us Americans are used to. Almost everything in the bathroom wold get wet when showering. The location was pretty good, about a 10 minute walk to the MRT, but there were many other hotels steps away from the subway. The breakfast was included and was very good.

All-in-all, we did enjoy our stay there as the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the highest floor possible as some street noise is heard on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel2MoreBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This establishment is part of the City-Hotel group. It is a good place to stay for business or leisure and because of its good location many restaurants and shops can be reached by foot. The room we had was decorated in Chinese style and equipped with all amenities necessary. The bedding was very good. The bathroom was large with a huge jacuzzi bath tub, but rather impractible as no curtain causes splashing all over. The breakfast buffet provides both Chinese and western food. Except for the reception, the staff does not speak English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

easy access from everywhere, room price is good (not so high), very close to computer & electronic market subway also.

Room Tip: ask jakuzi
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Charming Castle Hotel is a small hotel about a kilometer's walk from Shandao Temple MRT Station. The location is a bit inconvenient for tourists who plan to get around by MRT. But the hotel itself makes up for it with it's reasonably priced rooms. Our room, on the top floor (8th floor), which was about 3900NT, had a jacuzzi in the bathroom and a massage chair. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning was very cold considering the cool weather. The hallway smelled of cigarette smoke but the room itself was very clean had no smells.

Breakfast buffet is included in the room charge. It is not a very big selection, and not an international menu. But it was adequate for me, because I'm Asian, I'm happy with rice, eggs, bread and a little meat for breakfast. And of course they served congee for breakfast as well. There was free wifi in the breakfast room, which is available to hotel guests even when breakfast is over and there is no food being served.

Next door to Charming castle are several restaurants with 100NT menus, meaning full meals (meat or seafood plus all the rice you can eat) that cost only 100NT but their menus are in Mandarin and we didn't know how to speak Mandarin so we couldn't order properly. Only from the limited selection that they had photos of. The food is still very good and very cheap, and late at night these restaurants are full of people eating and drinking till the wee hours of the morning. Despite this, the hotel rooms are quiet.

The front desk staff are helpful and friendly and did their best to communicate with us, despite our limited Mandarin. But they do not have bellboys so you have to take your luggage to room yourself. Which was easy for us as we had little luggage and they have an elevator.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank inabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Ciao Hotel Taipei
#425 of 574 in Taipei
10 reviews
Liz Hotel
#216 of 574 in Taipei
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 574 in Taipei
1,398 reviews
MAI HOTEL-Nanjin E.Branch
#224 of 574 in Taipei
57 reviews
Happiness Hotel
#359 of 574 in Taipei
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Castle Hotel

Address: No.52 Section1 Changan East Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charming Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Charming Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing