We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tell them on Bade Road near Living Mall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lealea Garden Hotels-Taipei
Ranked #178 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tell them on Bade Road near Living Mall”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you do not speak Mandarin, it might be a tad more difficult to tell the taxi driver where to take you. There is the newer Chinese name for the hotel, that is something like "Lea lea" but we found most cab drivers know it better under the older name of "Jei Yuan". During the 5 days we stayed there, we usually just tell the driver to take us to the Living Mall (Jing Hwa Chen - which is just down the road within view of the hotel). Many of the staff try to be helpful but their English abilities are limited. They were also not too familiar with what is available in their 24H city. For instance, one of our top priorities in visiting TPE was to catch at least one Peking Opera performance. Two of them told us that there were no performances being held. We found out otherwise and got to see "Madame White Snake" that night! On our last evening in TPE, we wanted to hear the TSO/Taipei Symphony Orchestra at the National Concert Hall - they didn't know where that was!? Great performance - with Guest Conductor V. Verbitsky and German/Korean Violin Soloist S. Kim. Pity, most hotels these days do not have someone like Mr. Roger Lee, the very knowledgeable concierge of The Imperial Hotel in TPE. However, we were totally touched by the very thoughtful Ms. Christine Lin at Lealea, who on her own ordered 6 takeout breakfast bentos for our party's 6AM pickup/departure for the Taoyuan International Airport!

Some other thoughts: Avoid the tour groups and go for breakfast after 0830 - even if the staff fails to refill most of the choices, which tend heavily towards Chinese. Go up to the rooftop for a picture of Taipei 101 (if that's your thing) or just do your own laundry while having a workout. There is a coffee shop right across from the hotel that stays open till 0000.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing Taipei 101 - but away from tour groups from a neighbouring country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
35
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Due a mistake by the person who made the booking for me. I was forced to pay the walk in price of NT$ 8750 for 2 nights. The most expensive (luxery) room price online was approx NT$ 6000. The extra NT$ 1750 i paid was for a room without view, windows were blinded. The most worst thing was that after 11:00 pm they turn off the airco! After midnight it was like sleeping in a oven. After calling the reception they turn on the airco, but soon again they turn off again. They claim to be a hotel suitable for (international) business guests, only the breakfast was all asian. When i asked for some toast and boiled eggs they pointed to some hard boiled "tea" eggs. Not willing to cooked some western boiled eggs. No service at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

DUST is all over on the wall of elevator. It looks terrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaylorTsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 days during the new year eve holidays. Overall experience has been pleasant. The hotel was situated in Bade road which is quite close to Taipei 101, probably around 25 - 30 minutes walk and about 15 - 20 minutes walk to Taipei City Hall subway station. We have a good view of Taipei 101 from hotel lobby and hotel room. Hotel room space radius were a little cramp but overall sleeping quality were good (beds and pillows were comfortable).

Pro's: Near to amenities and eateries. Close up view of Taipei 101. Decent speed for Wifi internet service (they have a wifi routers for individual floors).

Con's: Rooms were small. Hotel breakfast were not great with limited menu for buffet breakfast and the taste was not really good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Room was spacious with good bed and bathroom.
The staff was helpful. Despite the fact that I arrived at hotel at 10 AM and official check-in time is 3PM the staff managed to accomodate me (but for extra money 1500 TWD).
The location was a little bit far from my bussines trip destination (TWTC) and it was good idea to take a taxi but the prices were acceptable (arroud 200 TWD to TWTC). The staff helped with ordering a taxi.
Only one thing which dissapointed me was a breakfast. I sent an email requesting information about availability of western style breakfast. They confirmed it. Only western style items during a breakfast was a toast bread and jam... All other items was taiwanese (chinese). I have to admit, on the other hand, that the hotel is in Taiwan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Central location, excellent service, modern room, big screen TV, strong air conditioning, fridge etc.

But what really does it for me is the bed - it is literally like sleeping on a cloud in heaven. The comforter is perfection, it envelopes you like a cloud and the pillows are the same. Perfect fluff and weight. Same with the mattress. I need to find out where they sourced everything for the bed because I need to recreate this at home.

I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Taipei!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FnkyChld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel was chosen and booked for me by a third party, for a work trip, and I understand that it is a good value for Taipei, but cannot comment on that, as I don't know really.

To start with, there are plenty of good sides to this place. The rooms are spacious, and rather clean (daily cleaning will definitely rectify whatever you messed, but some things like low hanging lamps collect dust for a while). The room has a separate shower and bath tub areas, has a separate working desk area, and plenty of other small stuff you might need, like bathrobes, slippers, all amenities, bottled water, local tea etc. Generally the building has gym facilities as well, and free laundry room, as well as rooftop garden.

For me, unfortunately, many things simply didn't work. The internet in the room was working only through the cable. My laptop doesn't have a cable connection at all, so I had to sit in the lobby to get wifi.

As many people point out, the hotel is nowhere near any MTR, so taxis are your best bet. Also, taxis in Taipei don't speak English mostly, so you need to write down in Mandarin the destination before you board.

Also, I eat Asian food a lot, but cannot have it for breakfast. Breakfast is the only time when I need European selection to start my day. That was also a problem, as the hotel has a traditional breakfast. I did try the foods on my first morning, but really that was not what I needed in the morning, too spicy for that time of day.

When I asked the staff for some restaurant recommendations, the girl just pointed outside, and said there was plenty of choice in town... Not to say all staff was like that, but many.

Moving on, there was a letter sent for me to the hotel address, and that I did not receive, because of miscommunication between the hotel staff, so the letter was sent back home eventually.

Finally, upon the checkout, the full bill was presented for me to pay. My attempts to explain the room was prepaid led me nowhere, as the reception that morning didn't speak English much, so I had to wait for the driver to explain it. Granted, once the Mandarin-speaking person told them the info, the problem was resolved in seconds.

To sum it up, it really could be a nice place to stay, if you don't need any work done, and speak Mandarin, and like Asian breakfast. But for international travellers might be just a tad inconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_nonsense_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Angels' Hostel - Taipei 101
#385 of 571 in Taipei
8 reviews
Songshan District
Charming Hotel
Charming Hotel
#382 of 571 in Taipei
42 reviews
Capital Hotel Nanjing
#351 of 571 in Taipei
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
United Hotel
#174 of 571 in Taipei
295 reviews
Eslite Hotel
#65 of 571 in Taipei
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lealea Garden Hotels-Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lealea Garden Hotels-Taipei

Property: Lealea Garden Hotels-Taipei
Address: No.213 Section 4, Pateh Road, Songshan District, Taipei 105, Taiwan (Formerly The Richforest Hotel)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lealea Garden Hotels-Taipei 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lea Lea Garden Hotels-TAIPEI is graceful style near the business and tourist attractions, such as Taipei Arena, Taipei World Trade Center, and Taipei 101; it is very convenient to go to Neihu Technology Park, and Nangang Exhibition Hall. As the tourists enter the lobby, they can see Ming Zhu's, Xiong Quan Ting's, Yi Lang Cheng's art works. The tourists can see the postmodern design in perspective and feel the art vitality of original works in the carefree environment.There are banquet room, karaoke in the hotel; it also has functional meeting room, business center, gym, laundry. We provide the perfect service. Artist cafe in the hotel is a cultural coffee shop being isolated from the world in a lane, the lighting design of transparent skylight. It can let customers enjoy the romance in the sun light spilling, and it is a good place for business and recreation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lealea Garden Hotels-Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing