We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True 6- Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Ranked #7 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A True 6- Star”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Using hyperbole to describe this brand new 6- star hotel is unnecessary. The Mandarin Oriental Taipei is the newest and only 6-star hotel in Taipei. It is in a league of its own. From the moment one steps off the car, the staffs stood on tip-toes, opening the heavy large iron doors welcoming us in and anticipating our every need. The art decor- ish lobby with tall ceiling and a proportionally small area with only 2 chairs appears not to encourage loiterers; the high staff to guest ratio ensures exclusivity for the prestigious premises.

We had a superior room for 2 nights. Attention to every details including a separate area for luggage, stationery, bathrobes (Frette), fresh orchids, paintings are aesthetically the finest. Surprisingly there is no television in the bathroom.

The public area including the restaurants, swimming pool area is ornate and opulent. There are 3 formal restaurants serving Chinese, Italian and French in grand style, the Jade Lounge serves light snacks, finger sandwiches and afternoon high tea in posh surrounding ( no shorts permitted) plus one informal pastry cake shop. There is no coffee shop as such for a hamburger or a bowl of wanton or congee.

The overall experience is surreal. This is an exceptional hotel with impeccable services that exudes Mandarin Oriental standard. A lingering question remains is why the front grand entrance facing Dunhua North Road is not opened to receive guests. A valet is there daily to divert taxi drivers who invariably assume the front of the building to be the drop off area to divert to the back of the building instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    158
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
269
273
69
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First time stay in MO Taipei, it is amazing hotel no matter of service and facility it really outstanding, every staff there is smiling at me when they talk to me, always can hear Good Morning , Good Afternoon and Good night everywhere in the hotel. Its the best hotel in Taiwan i can guarantee that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A newly opened hotel in taipei, jus two nonths ago
Location: on dun hua north road, 20 min walk from nan jin east road MRT, quite a walk, but along d way can find some shops, wil pass by a small departmental store called breeze mall; round d corner on right is TGIF, opposite got MOS burger; Mc D is on d left
Service: very polite, friendly n professional staff, almost everyone will greet u along your way
Room: very spacious, almost around 45 sq m2! Walk in wardrobe wz dressing table; bath room toiletaries use diptyque from france ( bought over by uk company though); bathrobe using famous italian FRETTE; bed comfy, almost " sink in bed", not easy to get up! But comfy; using illy coffee wz capsule machine
Facilities: small swimming pool area, size of d pool acceptable; gym room quite ok wz new n sophisticated equipmnt (24hrs usage for in house guest); steam n sauna room are extremely small, max can accommodate 3 guests!
Breakfast: semi buffet, cold cut n pastry r buffet style, main course choose from d menu wz selection of western n oriental dishes
WIFI: cost NTD 500 per day, i think they should include in d room package, coz room cost USD600 per nite!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cpchock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It is definitely one of the best Mandarin Oriental hotel globally with a lot of attention to details from room orientation and small details to attentive service attitude. We had a very warm welcome from the team, and considering the hotel being 5 weeks old, they have been really on top of their service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It was our first stay in a Mandarin Oriental. My friend and I were so excited to find from Travelzoo that Mandarin Oriental Taipei was offering a special promotion package for its opening. Unfortunately, that package was booked up on our preferred weekend, we took another available package instead.

The online reservation process was smooth and we received free in-room wifi as I registered at the MO website (frankly it didn’t sound really good as they charged for their guests for wifi, did it?). The hotel was so new that most of the taxi drivers didn’t know its location and the exact entrance. As the security staff didn’t give us or the taxi driver any direction or assistance when we stopped in front of the building – which was actually the entrance of the arcade, we ended up carrying our own luggage and walked through half of the arcade before finally finding the main door of the hotel.

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was nice and friendly with full of smiles. The check-in was fast and we got an early check-in (it was around 1pm). The front desk girl escorted us to our room and introduced the room amenities. She guaranteed us our room – Premier Room – had the best view among all rooms in the hotel as we could see Taipei 101 in our bedroom. Yet, honestly, considering the hotel wasn’t really full as it was rather new, I didn’t request a high floor room but I didn’t expect we would get a room on the 7th floor, the lowest floor for guestrooms.

Our room was so spacious that it was like a junior suite with a huge bathroom and a big walk-in closet. A well-furnished room with comfortable beds and sheets, high-end amenities and cool technology that conveniently controls the lights, drapes, etc, that made you never want to leave.

We had access to the club lounge which served breakfasts, afternoon teas and refreshments with cocktails before dinner. The staff there was cheerful and attentive and the 2 breakfasts we had were just amazingly delicious. On the other hand, it seemed that it was quite late for them when we got to the lounge for afternoon tea (around 4.30pm) after our spa treatments, there were only sweet pastries and cakes left on the buffet table, no more savory treats. Luckily, the refreshments served after the tea time did make that up.

The spa treatment was wonderful - one of the best spa experience I've ever had - and the service of our therapists was impeccable. What could make it perfect is the spa receptionists could take a few minutes to go through the details of treatments with their guests beforehand.

The check-out was quick and hassle-free. It was very thoughtful of them that, as we waited for the car that we arranged to take us to the airport, the doormen took care of our luggage and helped us to call the driver to confirm the time of his arrival.

Generally, our experience at Mandarin Oriental Taipei was really enjoyable and the staff was always polite and friendly, but I believe there is still room for improvement. (Umm… if anyone from Mandarin Oriental Taipei is reading this, please check out the floor underneath the cupboard in Room 706, an empty coffee bag was there before we checked in, and it had stayed there for the whole 3 days of our stay.)

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luig0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just stayed at MO Taipei from 06/13-06/16. The Hotel is beautiful as expected. Nicely decorated and furnished. The staffs are very attentive and very eager to serve but..
1. Upon checked in, we were told that our room was upgraded which infact was not. We got the same room category only higher floor considering that the hotel is still quite empty. In my experience with MO or through AX, upgraded usually means better room and better amenities. We received none. We have to pay for Internet, we were rudely denied to use the lounge which was available for guest who stay at the higher floor as we do. And the hot water for the shower did not work on the first night.
2. Restaurant service, Lunch at french restaurant, COCO; have to wait for almost an hour after seating to receive water and bread and the restaurant was not very busy nor packed. another hour to receive our order of tea. most of the food we ordered were very good and very delicious.
3. SPA, fully display and decorated except none of the products display are available for sale because stocks won't arrive till August. and staffs have difficulties explaining products either lack of knowledge or language issue.

Overall the hotel was adequate, 5 star for the property but service has a lot to improve to be the standard of MO.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I am yet to stay in this hotel but the reservation already impressed me. The English standard of staff are probably the best in Taiwan but what stand out is serving from the bottom of their heart. They helped me sort out my special mattress requirement as well as help me to secure connecting rooms and all my booking rooms on the same floor. If that's not nought, they also offer me a free birthday cake for one of the guest. What else can I looking for except a great stay to be in coming Aug? Stay tuned for the true review in Aug!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
W Taipei
#11 of 571 in Taipei
2,284 reviews
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#32 of 571 in Taipei
2,270 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Taipei

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Address: No.158 Dunhua North Road, Songshan District, Taipei 10548, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting new standards for luxury hospitality, Mandarin Oriental, Taipei enjoys a superb location in the heart of this vibrant city. With classically inspired interiors combined with contemporary design, a choice of exquisite restaurants and the largest hotel spa in Taiwan, we offer a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing