We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore”
Review of Les Suites Grandee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Suites Grandee
Ranked #138 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When we arrived at the hotel after reading the reviews (which were mostly positive), I was a bit apprehensive as we knew it was close to the famous Shilin Night Market, but didn't know it was that close, like directly opposite. We thought it would be noisy at night, but despite appearances and being in a room with close proximity to the elevated railway, it was not noisy at all. At night the market was the main attraction, if you've come to eat your way into a food coma and sample all of the trendiest and cheapest street eats Taiwan has to offer, then you've come to the right place.

In daytime, it's also a couple of hundred meters away from the train station so it is convenient as well to use as a base to explore the rest of Taipei. For those who like trekking / exercise / exploring, there are nice hills and trails where you can 'discover' temples built into the steep hills immediately surrounding the Shilin area.

The room was huge, we were a family of four but the suite fit all of us with space to spare. Staff are very friendly and accommodating - as is usual in Taipei, where almost everyone is very hospitable.

The design of the hotel is a bit funky and boutique-y, leading me to believe it was newly renovated and/or especially well maintained.

Overall a perfectly satisfactory stay, recommendable if you're on a budget and don't like extremely urbanized areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mpua66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

the hotel is within the market area, several min to jiantan metro station. room is spacious and clean. if you would like to try famous taiwan food stalls, this is the place. we had to leave early, got warm pancakes, buns, sandwich, and soy milk at a stall in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinzhikangchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

When I arrived, I was quite surprised that the hotel is just located right next to a very busy street & the railway, a bit disappointed. It is because when I booked the hotel I just saw the photos that was provided by the hotel, they just mentioned is near to Shilin Night Market, but didn't mention is right opposite to it. I was so afraid that it will be very noisy, but it wasn't. Well....still we could hear a bit of those sound from the street, market & railway, but it is acceptable. Front desk staff are ok. Cafe staff made us a bit tense, because, the staff always wanted to take away our plate when we still had little food on it. Buffet breakfast is ok, not as good as I thought, not much choice, the soy milk is just like water, coffee not good. The best is the room, bed very comfortable, clean, spacious, adequate amenities & big bathtub. Location is good also, 5 minutes walk to the train station, very convenient. Will probably stay there again for the next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joesin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Location: Can't be beat if you're in Taipei for the night markets! Just a few steps from Shilin Night Market, about 3-5 minutes' walk to the train station. It's not noisy as you might expect, as it's strategically tucked away.

Rooms: Clean, spacious and functional with adequate amenities. Bathroom was great, with separate shower and tub. Beds were comfortable.

Breakfast: Selection and taste was not bad, with a good mix of Western and Asian dishes. Service in the restaurant was quite good -- efficient and friendly without being intrusive.

Service: Very good. They allowed us to store our bags and passports for the rest of the day even after we checked out as we had a very late flight. We even stayed in the restaurant after closing time for about an hour or so while waiting for our airport service to arrive. Check-in/out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mullet_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is hidden in the middle of a busy street, however it is quiet and cozy inside. Rooms are clean and staffs are nice. The location is near train stations and walking distance to the night markets as well as many shops, very convenient!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank sc00by_d00d00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Chose this hotel due to the location that is near Shilin Night Market and we never regret it. Grandee is near the train station with just 3 minutes walk and it seats just right next to one of the best night market Shilin in Taipei.

Rooms was spacious and extremely clean. Staffs are all friendly and was willing to help us in whatever we need and recommending us how and where to get good foods too :)

We will definitely stay there again if we are visiting Taipei.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uiruriamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This must be the ideal hotel for night market fans. But when we stayed here it rained continuously. But the close proximity to the MRT also allows to venture further. Due to the rain the night market was very quiet so our stay was not spoiled by noise.
The room looked recently decorated and apart from some small issues in the bath room was comfortable and spacious.
Breakfast was fine and no complaints about the staff.

Room Tip: It is nice to see the people in the night market when having a front side room but expect some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
UiNN Business Hotel
#54 of 585 in Taipei
158 reviews
Grand Hotel Taipei
#69 of 585 in Taipei
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shihlin District
Reedon Boutique Hotel
Reedon Boutique Hotel
#415 of 585 in Taipei
33 reviews
The Riviera Hotel
#39 of 585 in Taipei
627 reviews
Yusense Hotel
#172 of 585 in Taipei
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Grandee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Grandee

Address: No.102 Wenlin Road, Shihlin District, Taipei 11163, Taiwan (Formerly Grandee Taipei Hotel)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £81 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Suites Grandee 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Les Suites Grandee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing