We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palais de Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palais de Chine Hotel
Ranked #47 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed at the Palais De Chine during Computex in June 2013. Amazing hotel. The service is fantastic, and the breakfast buffet is spectacular. Any kind of cuisine you can imagine. The staff have an excellent command of English, unlike some hotels in Taipei. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    421
    97
    27
    11
See reviews for
353
337
95
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

From service to the room to its location, nothing can possibly let you down. I found the male staff are generally more helpful and more proactive.

No free Wi-Fi might be a problem but you can actually apply for a membership then you will get free Wi-Fi during this stay plus all future stays. Not sure when this offer will end though.

Comparable to W hotel, but at a much better price with similar level of everything. Great value for money if you are are looking for some quality accommodation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maple L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Palais de Chine in Taipei on business in October 2013.

A local contact of mine recommended it. I've stayed previously at the Sheraton, Hyatt and The Quote in Taipei (both of which are decent properties) - but I was in the mood to try something new. It's locally owned and tries hard to offer a unique experience.

The location is directly across from the main train station, so you have railway, high speed rail MRT literally steps away. The building is next to the Q Square mall which has a number of restaurants, shops and an interesting food court/food floor in the bottom level (there is a high-end grocery store there for supplies). The location is central and the subway is right there and hotel has a taxi stand.

The entire hotel has a high design look. I had a standard room that had a rather interesting setup. The large oval tub/shower was right inside the door and the vanity and work desk were actually one surface divided by a mirror that could be rotated. The toilet room was separate, but had a sliding window to that too could be open to the room. I'm attaching a panoramic photo since my description may not fully explain the room. Overall the layout works - it was done to make an ordinary sized room seem very spacious and open-feeling. The design works and it was well executed. I was solo, so I basically left everything open. If you are sharing this type of room, it needs to be with someone you are very, very comfortable with. Wireless speed was decent. Only real complaint was the water pressure wasn't quite what I like but it would work out fine for most.

The clientele was a mix of couples on vacation, 1 tour group and some business guys.

The concierge was helpful and did the basic concierge functions well.

I typically don't eat in hotels, but in Asia I will take breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast is buffet style and has a good selection of local and Western foods. Went there 3 times and it was well run and well stocked.

A significant drawback for me was that the hotel really doesn't have a bar. They have an outdoor bar at the lobby level, but it was closed the entire length of my stay so that doesn't count.

Overall a decent stay in Taipei. Very different from a large international property like the Hyatt or Sheraton. This place is similar in feel to the Quote and better in many regards (except the Quote had a great bar). If you are in Taipei for leisure or want a change from the big hotels if in town on business, try the Palais de Chine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CS_NewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at Palais family room for 6 nights. Simply blown away by the room decor, cleanliness and service! Very comfortable beddings and well thought through room design. Convenient location at Taipei main station with a happening shopping mall - Q square, just next door! Simple great! Will definitely go back to Palais again :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LionCitySunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

First of all, excellent location. Near the mrt station so you can travel easily or you can catch a taxi that stand by in front of the hotel. A mall is also 1 step away. Great view from the hotel, nice bathroom with complete amenities. Truly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Galuh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Yes you do feel like you are in a french castle but it works well and is done with an immense about of class. I would hate to think what this finish cost - very well done.

It is quite dark but that is the theme and it works well, huge rooms, great table and nice staff. The bathroom is kind of in the bedroom but not too much of a concern.

I would come back...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyrussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. Check in was great. Very helpful. Staff always trying to impress and polite. The room is big and airy but the decor is a mix of vintage and modern. To me is a very nice design but to others could be mixed. The breakfast spread is good, above average for a hotel. It is a above 4 stars but definitely not 5 stars yet. The open air pub is a letdown actually.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgirgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.6 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#31 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#93 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#36 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#18 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#26 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.2 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#54 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais de Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de Chine Hotel

Property: Palais de Chine Hotel
Address: No.3 Sec 1, Chengde Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#23 Business Hotel in Taipei
#35 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#45 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palais de Chine Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais de Chine, operated by L'Hotel de Chine Group, is an internationally recognized five-star hotel. We serve local and international business tourists by offering an oasis of artistic beauty and culture, along with a personal touch. Palais de Chine is located west Taipei center and sits at the hub of five transport avenues. Elegant and functional guest rooms decorated in European and neo-classical design are equipped with electronic virtual butler, communication facilities and AV equipments. Whether for leisure or business, Palais de Chine offers our guests with a comfortable and efficient environment. The hotel's theme dining includes exquisite Chinese and western restaurants, elegant French-style teahouse, and a bar. The hotel's staff is professionally trained and provides customers services of the highest standard. All members provide guests with one-stop service, and respond to all guests' requests within 24 hours. "Guests first, no matter when or where" is the service motto of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Palais de Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais De Chine Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing