We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-go every visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanpai

Kanpai
Ranked #540 of 12,527 Restaurants in Taipei
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A must-go every visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

a must-go for us everytime we visit taiwan. We usually go the one in Zhongxiao Dunhua, i.e. their first store. Please remember to make a reservation as the restaurant is always full house even on weekdays. A very fun environment as the waiters are friendly and offer help to cook the food if you are unsure of the doneness. The kissing game for a plate of meat is also something exciting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cashewnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Korean BBQ experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Went here with my boyfriend on a wednesday evening. We were lucky to get a table without reservation, the place was full of mainly young people, below 30.
The service in this restaurant is outstanding. One of the waiters spoke English perfectly and recommended us what to order. He took care of us during the evening.
Since we visited Korea before, we can say this place offers a genuine Korean BBQ experience. The quality of the beef was very good.

Concluding, the atmosphere, service, cleaniness, quality of the food and reasonable price lead to an excellent recommendation!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmetje07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Kanpai offers some best varieties in Japanese as well as Korean food. Really good hospitality from a place which doesn’t looks particularly upmarket or happening. But what an experience it was. Most people around the place are very friendly and take special care of tourists. This lady rushed to us with cups of greet tea the moment we stepped in, probably as a welcome gesture. The salad we started off with was remarkable and fresh. Grated Onion, lemon juice, Celery, etc. We ordered grilled salmon, along with a rice preparation and loved it all throughout. The staffs, especially the chef, who even came out of his kitchen and recommended us dishes. We were having some problem with the ordering and this persona had been of great help.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiderRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Superb meats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The food here is fantastic. It is classic BBQ in that you get to cook your own meats. The beef is tender and well-seasoned with the beef tongue a must-try. We had their Wagyu platter and Seafood platter which were good and value-for-money.

The staff are young and friendly and remembered us when we went back a second time. Excellent service.

Only downside is the long wait-time. Do remember to reserve ahead of time and you won't have to wait 2 hours which we faithfully did both times.

We went to the one located on the 3rd floor of the ATT4Fun shopping centre next to Taipei 101.

There is another branch which serves more expensive meats called Kanpai Classic and it is located closeby on the 8th floor at A9 Shinkong Mitsukoshi.

We spent 2,000 TWD. (we had a lot to eat)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hankyspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
363 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Great fun, inexpensive eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

RECOMMENDED: This is a place for 20-somethings or at least 20-something at heart. It's a fun place, a place to have a beer, grill a little meat and perhaps even be silly a little. The staff, mostly college age, are great fun and thanks to Mushroom (yes indeed) who spent half the night grilling for us and telling stories in his great English. Black was fun as well and some guy with purple hair.

Fun aside, the beer is cold, the meat is of good quality, the scallops were to die for and you're cooking for yourself (unless Mushroom helps). It's a little noisy and it's a kissing bar (you get some free food for kissing) so it attracts loads of young couples. All in good spirit and fun.

Yes it's a little noisy so don't come in a bad mood (or do wanting it to change). I'd easily return. Adding to the great recommendation - prices are quite reasonable, figure 800-900 per person including drinks. How can you go wrong?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanpai also viewed

 
 

Been to Kanpai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing