We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflicting Feelings”
Review of W Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Taipei
Ranked #17 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Pros:
1. The Fantastic room, which comes with a large futon that can double as a single bed. We actually did use the futon for our son who joined us for one night.

2. The touch-less toilet where the seat goes up and comes down due to the motion sensors.

3. The helpful Whatever/Whenever staff who patiently answered all my questions and provided cards in English/Chinese for me to hand to taxi drivers, etc.

4. The friendly cleaning ladies.

5. Free nightly Happy Hour for elite members at the Yen and Woo bars.

This is obviously the new trendy Taipei hotel that everyone is talking about. Our local friends were all very interested in seeing our room. Two incidents that I encountered are telling. A taxi driver commented on the staff uniform. According to him, black T-shirts should not be a uniform. I, on the other hand, have no problem with what the staff wears, as long as they are professional and helpful.

On another occasion, three young men entered the elevator with me. They were complaining about the staff's attitude toward them because the young men didn't look like they were rich enough to patronize the hotel.

Yes, attitude definitely plays a part at this hotel. It's okay to be hip and trendy, but why not be pleasant and friendly, also?

And for a five-star hotel, please buy some new bath towels that are bigger and not so flimsy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear bamboola,

Thank you for choosing W Taipei for your trip and sharing your thorough review with us. We are glad to know that you had a good time in our rooms and bars, and satisfied with the service from our talents. We also feel appreciated that you could provide us the feedback that provides us an opportunity to become better. Your suggestions have already been well noted for future improvement. We thank you again and would love to see you and your lovely family back in the near future.

With best regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed few W hotels around the world, and W hotel Taipei really bring the WOW effect. Its very trendy but sophiscated, great atmosphere, nice bar by the pool. The great service just add the ice on the cake. And it got good restaurants too!:)-

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear cc c,

Thank you for staying at W Taipei and sharing your review with us. We are more than happy to know that you had a really WOW experience during your stay and liked so many aspects at W Taipei, especially the great ambiance and service. Your recognition just encourages us to keep providing more wonderful service to all our lovely guests. Once again we appreciate your valuable feedback and sincerely look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed at the W Taipei 3 times in the last year and have never been disappointed! The staff/team are courteous, extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and hip! The rooms are perfect size, with lots of amenities, comfortable, modern and wow - amazing views of the city. Within distance to all major landmarks and city amenities, the W is the place to stay. Located above the city metro, Taipei Bus Station and Hankyu Department store it sure very convenient! Close to Taipei 101 and other fun, food and other delights, the location is hard to beat! We want to thank Clara Lo, night audit team member for her sincere help and much thanks for arranging a lot of our needs and travel plans. Her fun and direct help is a book of knowledge about the city and it's happenings! She is the one who you should call if you need anything. We Thank her graciously for her amazing guest service and delightfully demeanor. She ordered our car service, arrange breakfast and guided us to local eateries that are local delights. The food in Taipei is just simply delicious! Again, we plan to stay there again and again, we hope W stays in the current path of modern and hip fun hotel living and continue to meet and encounter the delights of Taipei!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Joe C,

Great, great, great thanks for your continuous support, and we are thrilled to receive such a wonderful compliment from you! We are pleased to know you found our room perfect, our talents all courteous, the location hard to beat! We had shared your compliment with Clara and also with the whole WELCOME team. For sure this will motivate us to provide WOW service continuously. Sincerely appreciate your support. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience again the delights of Taipei.

With best regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's my family vacation time and we have quite high expectation to the hotel. The overall experience beat our expectation. My 5 year old son loves the pool so much, as the staff was so attentive to bring him a few inflated toys and cover the bench with towel for my wife. He even held umbrella for us when raining. There is a white noise machine which I could help us to sleep in the sound of waves or rain the whole night. The cleaning products are marvelous, not only high quality and good smell, but also provides a facial wash gel! The location is also so covenience, next to everything you need in the city, including dept stores, bookstore, restaurants, coffee shops, subway, 101 tower, banks, etc. This is the hotel we want to stay again and recommend the others when visit Taipei.

Room Tip: Rooms face 101 tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Paul Z,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are so glad to know that you and your family had a great time and so much fun with us. All the wonderful experience that you explored at our WET Swimming Pool, guest rooms and the shopping malls around W Taipei, is exactly what we are aiming to provide to all our lovely guests. We appreciate your recommendation and truly look forward to seeing your next visit!

With best regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Its great , from the moment you step into the lobby , to the room to the bar. Clean, sexy and comfortable. What won me over 1. the white noise machine , I could sleep to the waves or rain the whole night 2. facial wash , not many hotels dare to offer this , but for a guy like me , I am more than happy to have this alongside the bath gel. Its a hotel you want to go over and over again. Location is also ground zero , near to everything in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treetop193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear treetop193,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. How wonderful is that we provided a fantastic stay to you! All the efforts, including the white noise machine, the Bliss facial gel and any other detailed preparation, are aiming to grant you a satisfying experience with us. We appreciate your recommendation and recognition, and we are looking for seeing you again.

With best regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Checked in for one night. My status was recognised and I was upgraded. The rooms director, Amy was most helpful and attentive.
Even at check-out she came to talk to me to ensure that everything worked out well.
I won't be staying anywhere else in Taipei. I have tried a few others, but they are very old and nowhere near as good.

Room Tip: The hotel is just above the City Hall bus station. The cost from the airport is TWD145 each way. Mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesaint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear thesaint9,

Great, great thanks for your recognition towards W Taipei! We are so proud to be your only place to stay in Taipei. And we are much more ambitious to be your only place to stay in Taipei forever by keep sharpening your attentive service. Please do come back again and again and explore more wonderful stay experiences with us.

With best regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It's a nice hotel, but the so called Bose entertainment system didn't work. Nothing is free, everything in the room is gonna cost you.

I borrowed 2 adapters for our iPhones and returned them where the clerk acknowledged receipt, however, they kept calling us after we checked out saying that we did not return the adapters. They called us all day long repeatedly until finally the manager called and said they found the adapter! Left a bad taste in my mouth and hence the low rating.

So if you borrow anything, remember when you check out to get a signed confirmation that you returned it or else you'll be considered a thief!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Steve_TW

We appreciate your review on us, and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. This is indeed not our service standard and an immediate investigation and an action plan have been conducted for improvement. We would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us an opportunity to improve ourselves. If we could have the chance again, we look forward to your return for an authentic W experience.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#28 of 585 in Taipei
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#502 of 585 in Taipei
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Taipei

Address: No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#9 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Family Hotel in Taipei
#13 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £236 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Xinyi District, home to W Taipei, there pulses a neon current, creating a sanctuary where serenity meets energy. Here, an endless stream of people, ideas and technology fuses Taipei's rural surroundings with its urban core. From the vibrant markets, theatres and nightclubs to the iconic Taipei 101, everything-even the sky- is electrified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your W Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Taipei Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing