We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Taipei
Ranked #11 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel almost a week. Refreshing design. Room with fantastic view on 101 tour.
Enjoyed hotel so much I decided to stay in hotel all day on our last vacation day to fully enjoy our last minutes in this paradise hotel!
What made this hotel stay the most memorable of our life is the dedication of all personnel and the attention to detail that made our jaws drop. Every single person working at this hotel has been so warm, nice, attentive and dedicated that a full two weeks after we left and are now back home we are still reminiscing the experience and still floating in the happiness cloud this human contact experience has put us on!
Two examples: 1) first morning I ask the server for a particular request to meet my preferences vs my coffee... I was later stunned daily to have my coffee served this way by other individuals doing the service without me ever mentionning it again! Magical! 2) I was fascinated by the local newspapers and read them every morning at the breakfast restaurant. One afternoon, there is a knock at the door: the hotel manager has had the complete newspaper of a large city of my own country entirely printed on very large pages & assembled especially for me! Again, I was stunned and deeply touched.
We loved the hotel so much that we kept coming back to have diner at the hotel. Food and service were again excellent and beyond our expectations at both restaurants.
Definitely: the management of this hotel is impeccable, outstanding, mastered.
This W hotel has now become our top reference against which we will rate all other hotels for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieQuebeccity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear NathalieQuebeccity,

Reading your review makes us feel like in Paradise. We are totally blown away by your kind words and so thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful stay at W Taipei, especially with the personalized service by our talents. Your compliment and recognition have been passed onto the whole team which definitely will motivate us to provide the superior service to all our valuable guests. Really appreciate your review, and we would love to welcome you again soon for another outstanding experience with us.

With the best,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    451
    101
    34
    27
See reviews for
358
455
146
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I can't tell much about disadvantage of W but the price. My friends had a visit to Taiwan last week. I invited them here for weekend and joined the W pool party on Saturday night. We did had fun and satisfied with W.
BTW room wifi is free for SPG members that you can make application online in advance and choose the room away from pool in any case if you wanna have a quiet and tight sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear mrtoy13,

Thank you for staying in W Taipei and sharing your lovely stay experience with us! We are glad to know that you had a great time with your friends and enjoyed our WET pool party. It is indeed our pleasure to provide a wonderful stay to you. Great appreciation to your uplifting review and recommendation, and we would love to see your return soon.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Among the three W hotels which I had stayed before, W Taipei is definitely the best till date (beating W Hong Kong and W Hollywood).

Upon arrival, there are staff to greet and assist with luggage and directions to level 10 to check-in, unlike W Hong Kong and W Hollywood no assistance rendered at all.

Main lobby is at level 10 and check-in was smooth and efficient by a very pretty and polite lady. Being a SPG member no matter which level you are at, free Internet (though hardly any surprise as most hotels offer free Internet these days, but still a plus point).

Book Wonderful room through the Internet. Upon entering the room, was pleasantly surprise to find that my room had a partial view of Taipei 101. Although not a full view of Taipei 101, but felt that I was kinda 'upgraded'. Room wise is spacious and have lots of typical W touches such as Bliss Spa amenities, munchie box etc. The layout of the bathroom is also very similar to W in Hong Kong. However, the colour scheme is much nicer with orange and white, making the room look very cheerful and bright. Most importantly, the room has very excellent sound proof which is quite hard to find in a lot of hotels. You can barely hear any noise outside and vice versa.

The only thing I probably didn't like as much are the divider between the bedroom and bathroom. While it is quite typical to have sliding doors, but the bathroom cannot be completely closeout from the bedroom due to some existing pole pillars that can be seen from the bedroom to the bathroom and vice versa.

In terms of facilities, didn't use the restaurant and fitness centre. The fitness centre is quite spacious and I am quite sure they have nice spa facilities as well. Didn't like the swimming pool so much due to it is located outside the lobby level which is by the bar and restaurant side which I find it a little odd to go for a swim through the main lobby or restaurant. However, not a major issue as well.

One interesting thing I notice about this W is that it seems like it is a W for everyone. As you are aware that most/all W hotels have their own party like a club on weekends, it is obviously gear to the single, young, fun and hippy crowd. Even the W Hollywood as I can recall did state in their website that the hotel is kinda not suitable for families. However, W Taipei is like for everyone. I do see a lot of families with young kids, strollers and seniors etc, at the pool, the lobby. In contrast, there are constant flow of young people, gorgeous looking couple entering and leaving the hotel. The party venue on Friday and Saturday also being on the lobby level is like Wow, with lots of fun people and then just adjacent, you see the families. Kinda interesting!

Location wise is good too, very near to Songshan airport, Metro station just behind hotel, close to Taipei 101 and short cab ride to many points of interest in Taipei.

I have also never been to a hotel with quite a lot of their staff looking these good:)

On most counts, W Taipei definitely had its lure and attractiveness and other W should probably look up to them as well for what it means customer service, which are basic but most important as well.

I will definitely want to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you book Wonderful room, ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JevJev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear JevJev,

Your review just made our day! Great appreciation for such a wonderful recognition. We are thrilled to be listed as the best W till date from a valuable guest like you. We are beyond happy to know that you enjoyed this much during your stay, from the spontaneous service from our in style yet professional talents, the smooth check-in, spacious rooms with W touches and a gorgeous city view, to the second to none convenient location. In addition, W Taipei is passionate about fashion, music and design, and we welcome guests around the world whom embrace the same passion points with us. Many thanks again for your cheerful compliment again. Our entire team is definitely look forward to welcoming your next visit soon so to explore the rest of the fun resides in W Taipei and the happening city Taipei.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
351 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

W Hotel is well known for their theme centered ultra sleek modern and hip design. Unlike the ones I had previously been to which were well designed that all its elements come together like one impressive art piece, the W Taipei came across as a hotel that was designed by few different designers. In my opinion, many of its decor, colors and layouts do not blend. It felt tacky. It also tried to squeeze too many into a very limited space as such it felt pretty congested. I found myself consistently fighting with the crowd like at breakfast, getting into a elevator or at the lobby. My hip designed rooms were small and the layout was not very functional. The 3 pluses of this hotel were it is very centrally located for shopping/transportation, efficient service and excellent breakfast buffet spread. May be my expectation was too high but it was not a memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Xexplorer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you liked our convenience location, efficient service and excellent breakfast buffet spread. It is however a pity that our hotel design does not meet your expectation. Design is one of W Hotels’ passion points. W Taipei’s design narrative “nature electrified” is aimed to blend in W brand’s DNA and local touches with a modern perspective. We hope our guests can experience distinctive design themes throughout the hotel. Great appreciation again for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We do wish to welcome you back again so to bring you a genuine W experience.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked a fantastic room for my boyfriend's birthday weekend getaway and was upgraded to a corner room (a larger fantastic room with windows on 2 sides). Even though when we checked in, it was actually celebrating a belated birthday, the lady who checked us in provided us with a free cake :). We had a great time in Yen and really liked their cocktails. We were also informed that there is a free party on Saturday night. Overall, the experience was awesome and I would recommend staying for more than 1 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear HKtravellinggirl,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are pleased to know you had a wonderful time here for the birthday celebration and enjoyed a lot for our specail arrangement. Great appreciation for your kind words, and we love to welcome you back again so to bring you another W weekend getaway.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything at W hotel Taipei is amazing and exceptional. The rooms are huge and trendy, the restaurants Kitchen Table and Yen serve amazing breakfast, dinner, afternoon teas and dinner. The summer sunday pool parties are great fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anhangabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Anhangabau,

Great thanks for your wonderful feedback! We are thrilled to know that you think the hotel amazing in several dimensions, especially our spacious room, delicate cuisines, and the summer pool parties. Great appreciation for your recognition, and we definitely look forward to welcoming you next visit!

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

if you want to rock you must go to W Taipei.... what u expect to find is what you gonna get!!!!, room facing Taipei 101 has a great view, hotel is very stylish, the pool rocks..... is located on top of city hall metro..... GOOD JOB GUYSSS

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bozerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear bozerie,

Your message rocks, too! We are happy to know that you had a great time staying with us and getting what you expected to find. Appreciate the compliments and recommendation, wish to welcome you back soon for another unforgettable W lifestyle!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#26 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#27 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Taipei

Property: W Taipei
Address: No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#9 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#21 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Xinyi District, home to W Taipei, there pulses a neon current, creating a sanctuary where serenity meets energy. Here, an endless stream of people, ideas and technology fuses Taipei's rural surroundings with its urban core. From the vibrant markets, theatres and nightclubs to the iconic Taipei 101, everything-even the sky- is electrified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Taipei Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing