We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full on tour”

Edison Travel Service - Taipei Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei
More Info
US$52.00*
and up
Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei
More Info
US$37.99*
and up
Taipei Half-Day City Tour
Ranked #10 of 95 Tours in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
hayling island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Full on tour”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we booked the four day round Taiwan tour. The coach was clean and comfortable but no W.C. which meant lots of toilet stops. Each day was packed with visits and stops but we weren't always sure what it was we were looking for as the guide (Walter) didn't really explain in much detail. This may have been due to his level of English which was quite basic. However, he was very good and taking feedback and adjusting the tour accordingly. The consensus of the passengers was that the days were too long and tiring and that we would have liked more time to enjoy the beautiful hotels or even some of the beaches. A half-day travel with one or two stop overs would have been much better. The tour was very good value for money but it did feel like we were just one of many - each stopping point was filled with coaches doing similar tours. Some of the beautiful scenery was difficult to contemplate amid lots of other people - it was a problem even to stroll along as you always seemed to be getting in the way of someone's picture.
We would love to do another tour but next time we might go for something a bit more tailored or even take the train.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    30
    12
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great holiday destination”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is my second visit to Taipei. The city itself is fantastic with very efficient transportation means. Getting into city from the airport is very easy and it would take on average about an hour. There are busses train fast train taxis and coaches to choose from. The underground system is very efficient and you can get to many places. People in Taipei are extremely extremely friendly unlike those from China Vietnam Hong Kong etc.
People just don't cheat there. Personally I would say apart from Japan and Korea ,Taiwan is the pace and really welcoming. The city itself is very safe even though at night you can walk around freely without feeling fear of pickpockets etc. as usual there are many attractions to go to . Food eateries are plentiful in Taipei. You asked by voice choice and also prices are very reasonable. I would definitely go back again and again and again. You can also take a fast train to go to southern part of Taiwan. Great day trip or two.......

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank a10nmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisburg, pa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Nice City Tour”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I booked a half day city tour using Edison Travel Service. However, we booked the tour through VIATOR for about 30% less than booking the same tour through Edison's web site.
The tour was small group---limited to six--- with a guide and driver. We visited a city temple, the Chang Kai Shek Memorial, the museum and also stopped for a "shopping opportunity" at a local craft shop. Aside from the shopping opportunity it was a very nice tour. We had ample time at each of the stops and the guide knew his way around the museum, so we short cutted several lines and were able to see several of the more famous exhibits. He also timed our visit to the memorial so that we could see the changing of the guard ceremony. For first time visitors to Taipei, it was a good experience and well worth the expense. If it wasn't for the shopping stop, I would have given it 5 stars.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Edison Travel Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked with Edison for the 5 day round the island tour. They were very efficient with booking. We were told to be in the lobby at 7:40am and the tour guide showed up exactly on time. Everything ran smoothly. I definitely recommend them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank fromnyctofll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I went on a 4 night 5 day tour and it was magical, the views were magnificent. Our coach had at least six different nationalities on board and the atmosphere was very good. Our leader Daniel was excellent especially with the challenges he faced with so many different languages. His English was excellent and he made time to answer everybody's questions. The hotels where we stayed were exceptional. only down side was we did not have enough time to stay in them and enjoy the facilities. There is rather a long time spent in the coach but the driver was absolutely wonderful. Would recommend anyone visiting to take one of these tours as I think it would be very difficult to do it alone. The food in the hotels was wonderful. Taiwan is a great place and the people are lovely. A very happy Sylvia.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank SYLVIAMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edison Travel Service - Taipei Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edison Travel Service - Taipei Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing