We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, very young part of town... would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
Ranked #69 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, very young part of town... would stay again”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was only in Taipei for one evening... the staff was very helpful and conscientious. I arrived early and they have a baggage holding area.. well staffed and perfect to get your stay started. The hotel provides a very helpful map and directions when needed... I went out a few times to explore the area close to the hotel.. Do not miss the temples within walking distance.
The room was clean and comfortable... very basic but as another put it cozy... I had a king size bed, they upgraded me as they had booked my room for another person.. I paid about 100 usd.
The area is very, very safe, many of the younger school children hang out after school so a family feel...
The lobby was comfortable and inviting and the staff as others have mentioned were very friendly...
On the day of check out, they again took my bags and held them in a secure area until I was ready to leave...
The hotel is also within a short walk to the subway station.. so you can go anywhere in a short amount of time...
One mention, the hotel staff does speak english and the map is in english.. many signs are not.. Take your map and get good directions before heading out...
Enjoy your stay and the Amba feels a bit nicer then the price implies...

Room Tip: I was not there over the weekend so do not know how loud it gets.. but I would not want to be right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for spending time to share your recent amba experience with us.

I am truly happy to learn about your recognition towards our service. It is and always has been our utmost goal to bring the most enjoyable yet memorable time for each friend staying with us and your feedback is no doubt the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team. Please accept my sincerest appreciation on behalf of the amba team for your wonderful and kind word shared.

Thank you once again for your valuable time on this matter. Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse! The amba team looks forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    307
    62
    17
    8
See reviews for
181
146
56
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
203 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Modern zen feel to the room with the basin located in the living area. Toilet and bathroom are separated. The staff are very helpful with knowledge of directions and public transport to attractions. When they are unsure, they will check and come back to you with an answer. All in all we have a good stay and will definitely come aback again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Khiam Yeong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sharing your recent amba experience with us.

It is a true happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. Most importantly, I am happy that our team brought you a memorable time here at amba.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse! We shall all look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Clean minimalist décor. Very comfy beds. But my mom didn't like the big distracting post beside the tv in the middle of the room and the recycled metal drum as side table -- she felt like someone or something might come out of the drum in the middle of the night!

Yummy breakfast. Friendly staff. A waitress referred my mom to a good salon across the street. At first she just wanted her hair professionally shampooed but was so happy with the service she ended up getting a new haircut too!

Conveniently located. Food and shopping within walking distance. Everywhere else is just a short cab ride away.

Room Tip: I asked for a higher floor room with windows facing the city or street. I had to specify after I fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

I am really happy to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. On top of all, I am more than happy to know that our team could make prompt assistance and somewhat helped you and your lovely family enjoy the convenience Ximedning has to offer.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful share before the Lunar New Year, which is no doubt the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team.

Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse! And we look forward to seeing you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

very good hotel in Ximending. stylish design room with good bed. clean and comfortable environment. very convenience. appreciated the breakfast was in good quality. suggest to everyone and must make the reservation again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sharing your valuable amba experience with us.

It is truly a genuine happiness to receive your feedback knowing that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us.
Your high recognition is well-received and will surely be shared with the entire amba team, whom I believe will be so much inspired and encouraged. Thank you for such a wonderful gift before the Chinese New Year.

Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse! And we shall all look forward to seeing you soon in the near future whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been to Taipei serveral times but ever staying at Ximending - noisy district and doubt of the standards of hotels in such area. My friend was booked at Amba Hotel 17-19Jan14.
I changed my preception that the high standards of Amba Hotel.
The design and decoration of room is simple but prefect, spacious ,clean & tidy and sufficient amenities. All hotel staff are young and nice.
I will stay at Amba Hotel again and recommend to my friends..

Room Tip: Double bed in room number 10 and 11, more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your recent amba experience with us.

It is a true happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. Moreover, to learn that we have somewhat brought a different facet of Ximending during your time with us is no doubt the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team. Please accept my sincerest appreciation on behalf of the amba team for your every kind word shared.

Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse! And we shall all be welcoming you soon in the near future whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
718 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a very hip chic hotel and the prices are very reasonable. The rooms are very standard, like the Standard Hotel in Los Angeles. Nice vibe and rooms are perfect for the single traveler. They have a restaurant and a nice store to purchase more stuff to take home.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if they're not busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for your valuable share.

It is a true happiness to learn your recognition towards our design. Your valuable feedback will surely be shared with the entire amba team, whom I believe will be very much appreciated.

Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse! And we shall all be welcoming you soon in the near future whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Have been to Taipei several times and this is easily the best hotel so far! Absolutely love the contemporary design, absolutely clean and great service with interesting amenities! Hotel was of course, perfectly accessible from ximending mrt just a short 10min walk away. Will certainly stay here if I visit Taipei again :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank seven20three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for your kind feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am truly happy to learn that you had a general enjoyable stay with us. It is and always has been our utmost goal to bring the most wonderful yet memorable amba experience to our valuable guests staying with us and I am delighted to learn that our team is making this happen from your kind recognition given.

Thank you once again for your valuable support towards amba. The amba team looks forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a nonstop bright and happy 2014 - Year of the Horse!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#57 of 571 in Taipei
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Midtown Richardson
Hotel Midtown Richardson
#113 of 571 in Taipei
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#34 of 571 in Taipei
646 reviews
1.3 mi away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#90 of 571 in Taipei
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#48 of 571 in Taipei
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Property: amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
Address: 77 Section 2 Wuchang Street, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba Taipei Ximending is located in the heart of trendy Ximending shopping and entertainment area in Western Taipei, just five minutes’ walk to the Taipei Metro Ximen Station, one metro stop from the Taipei Main Station for high-speed rail, and only 20 minutes’ drive to Taipei 101. Nominated as one of the best hotel openings by Wallpaper* magazine in 2012, amba Taipei Ximending occupies levels 5 to 10 of the fashionable Eslite shopping complex on Wuchang Street, junction of Kunming Street. This hip, eco-friendly hotel features free high-speed WiFi access hotel-wide, 160 contemporary guestrooms with separate rain shower, and free use of a self-service laundry room. Extra large rooms, loft rooms and balcony rooms can accommodate up to four adults, ideal for friends and family to share. Dining options include chiba – an international all day restaurant for fun dining, tingba - a retro chic music lounge, and tianba – a bakery with an alfresco courtyard. Best of all, there are many locally inspired fun elements awaiting for your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing