We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location for a fabulous Taipei Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Corner House Taipei
Ranked #21 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Everything about this apartment hotel exceeded my expectation, and this delightful encounter came after a stream of stays at 5 starts resorts from S.E. Asia. Go for the Deluxe Suites which was totally worth the NT 300 upgrade charge. The kitchenette is set up for minimal use so don't expect to cook up a meal in here, and why would you, when you are merely a few blocks from the famous Yung-Kang street where all the award winning Taiwanese restaurants awaits? In the other direction is the famous Flower/Jade markets which happens every Saturday and Sunday. This is a must visit- a quintessential Taiwan experience-as you can observe the local people on their favorite weekend outings with their elderly parents, kids of all ages, dogs in all kinds of funky outfits. Have a chat with the local artisans who devote their whole life in specialized pottery (wood burning), and rare orchids nursery. If you don't speak any Mandarin, hire an interpreter and have a field day listening to their tran-sformative stories-a true Taiwanese treasure. 2 blocks to the award winning (in design and aesthetic) Daan Park Subway Station, if you are a New Yorker, you'll wonder where have you been to think subway should be just a gaping smelly hole in the ground. And right in the middle of Daan Park (5 minutes walk from the hotel), there is a wonderful and clean pond where over 30 species of Taiwanese water birds migrated and stayed, Taiwan red squarrels, and families of turtles lined up on a tree trunk to sun-bathe. I saw a lot of nature photographers taking their expensive camera there to shoot photos. What is also interesting about this park is the beautiful rehabilitation outdoor center for people with mobility issues, mostly the elderly, whom came with their nurse maid to this park to practice walking while breathing the fresh air. All of these are completely free. Wow! What an eye opener! What an utopian concept!

The hotel itself is being looked after by a team of diligent staff from the front desk to cleaning personnel and always greets their residents with smiles and courtesy. I stayed for a whole week, and never once saw them in idleness and taking leisure time for themselves.

Laundry room is clean but only one washer and dryer, so be prepared to wait for your turn.

Breakfast is heavenly if you want the authentic Taiwanese food experience. I had 2 servings of perfectly tendered sea cucumber, beef tendon and cucumber this morning, this is the kind of delicacies you'll find in serious Chinese restaurants only back in the states. There are great varieties of local greens fresh from the market (I saw the delivery man every morning). In addition, there's standard buffet breakfast offerings of pastries, toast, eggs, sausages, etc, congee and its condiments, yogurts, cereals and local fruits. If you are not a food adventurous you will find the breakfast offering limited. But if you come to Taipei and don't try the local food, you missed about 50% of your Taiwan experience.

The room is simple, spacious, comfortable, very well designed and pleasing to the eyes. Lots of natural light and different textures that harmonize the atmosphere. It is the first hotel I stayed where the shower door opens freely without catching the floor towel. Great rain shower, deep soaking tub, auto toilet. Self-lit closet with iron/ironing board. Hot water heater ready to go. Everything are well placed and practical for ease of use. There are some street noise, and occasional neighbor noise because it is a popular family hotel especially with younger kids, but it is far better than hotel right on the main road (like Dandy).

The location is in a somewhat quiet residential neighborhood, but one of the best neighborhood (if not THE best) in the city. No where else has designated pedestrian side-walk in an already narrow lane, my Taiwanese friends were surprised that it even exist. This and the park, and the beautiful subway makes it an ideal place for families with younger kids.

And there is a organic food store/restaurant across the street for the health conscious.

If you will be arriving by plane, book the airport transfer from the hotel directly, which only cost NT 200.00 more than if you book the taxi yourself. And the meet and greet at the airport was more than worth the up-charge, and of course the driver will know very well how to get there.

This will be my second home on this planet.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suites or higher. Standard rooms are ok, but for a little more, go for extra space and ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kc4travel_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great location, close to a great park and walking distance to excellent restaurants, shopping and subway. Very clean rooms and the whole hotel seemed very new and modern.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing special, Service was ok, but they failed to fix my aircon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resplatser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The new Xinyi line opened in November 2013 and the Cornerhouse is just outside Exit 1 of Daan Park station, next to 7 Eleven.

We stayed in the Residence Suite (2 bedroom suite). Room was excellent with a living room, kitchenette, dining table and a good size for the kids to run about. Families who need to prepare simple food for children will like the kitchenette.

Everything in the room was of top quality. Breakfast was good with suffiicent western items for the kids. Free wifi.

Real value for money. Highly recommend this place for families who need more space than a typical hotel room.

We had 3 adults and 2 kids. Paid extra NT495 per night for the 5th person - child rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musings_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As a frequent traveler to Taipei, I used to stay at the Starwood chain hotels. However, I discovered The Corner House - the value brand boutique hotel (only 49 rooms) of a 5-star parent - last year and have been a loyal customer during my last half a dozen trips. It is wonderfully situated in a quiet residential neighborhood, about a 10-minute walk from the original Ding Tai Fung, the famous dumpling restaurants deemed one of 10 Best in the World by New York Times, and the locally famous Yong Kang Jie boutiques/restaurants/snacks area. There are a 7-11 and a Family Mart within 5 minutes walking distance. Within the same distance, there are a couple of very cute coffee shops, a small spa that provides excellent facials and massages, an organic food store, a fairly good small Japanese restaurant, and a fruit stand, plus the weekend jade and flower market. A new subway stop, again, the same 5-minute walking distance away, is due to open very soon.

Service at The Corner House is impeccable and personalized. Not only did the English-fluent reception staff recognize and remember me several months after my initial stay, but the dining room personnel did as well and welcomed my return. Their thoughtfulness is evident in the complimentary cold juices and hot coffee/tea available in the lobby all day, and - in room - two bottles of water in the refrigerator for those who want ice cold water and hot water in water bottle for those who want it warm, plus the small packs of complimentary snacks. Their suites are good size, with simple kitchen setup (microwave oven, refrigerator, stovetop, utensils). The bathroom includes both bathtub and regular/rain showers, as well as Japanese-style toilet with most of the bells and whistles. TV has a good offering of English channels, including “premium” ones like Nat Geo and Discovery, which is more than what can be found in some 5-star hotels elsewhere. The bed is very comfortable and the pillows firm enough to support one’s neck. The 70-30 Chinese: western style breakfast - included in the room rate - is yummy, nicely balanced nutrition-wise, and changes every day. If I must pick one thing that could be improved upon, it would be the in-room 1200-watt hairdryer. If it can be upgraded to higher wattage, everything at The Corner House would be absolutely perfect!

Since it is nestled in a residential area and its name and entrance discreetly displayed, first timers may have a hard time finding it. Some cab drivers aren't even aware of its existence. Therefore, you need to provide the full address, not just the name, of the hotel. It is located, as the name implies, at the corner of Xin Sheng South Rd., Sec. 1, Lane157, and Xin Yi Rd., Sec. 3, Lane 31, diagonally across from a grocery store with fruit stand outside.

Room Tip: Opt for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Corner House is in a nice quiet area near Da-an Park, and there is a nice Cama Coffee shop facing the park. The rooms are spacious, with a separate living/ bedroom area. The room we had also came with a small balcony. It was nice that we had warm drinking water everyday, as a thermal water kettle was provided. Daily breakfast looked good too, though we went out daily to have local breakfasts. Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YLChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in October, couldn't find anything to complain about. Great location, very quiet street off the main road, very friendly and professional staff. nice breakfast, lots of choices. Very clean and lovely room. They have washing machine and dryer too. Great prices.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronzekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This service apartment is located in a quiet area. It is not far from the business district and is only 10 minutes from the weekend flower market. There is also a gym in the basement with enough variety of equipment. It is definitely a very good business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ytlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
1.5 mi away
Flip Flop Hostel - Garden
1.9 mi away
We Come Hostel
We Come Hostel
#9 of 287 in Taipei
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
NK Hostel
NK Hostel
#3 of 287 in Taipei
377 reviews
2.2 mi away
CH Service Apartment
CH Service Apartment
#46 of 287 in Taipei
38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taipei City Home
Taipei City Home
#8 of 287 in Taipei
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Taipei

Address: No.10 Lane 157, Sec. 1 Xinsheng South Road, Da'an District, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: £72 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Corner House Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Corner House Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing