We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite sight in taiwan”

C.K.S. Shilin Residence Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
2-Hour Biking Tour: Amazing Taipei City Discovery including Shida Night Market
Ranked #45 of 555 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my favourite sight in taiwan”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I didnt even planned to come here, went past and was like why not.
The park was free of entry and beautiful. Go deep into the park trails, i even saw squirrels. It was crowded on the main paths( mainly noisy mainland chinese tour groups), they cannot leave their tour group or be fined. So go deep and u wont be crowded.

It was 100 taipei dollars (3 us dollars) to enter the presidential building. It was totally worth it. Audio guides were provided and i could really understand everything. The staff were the best, so friendly. One spoked to me for over an hour on chiang kai shek and taipei. Really learned more there than 2 months of school.

Dont skip this place, it will make u want to stay at taiwan.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dimsimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    86
    43
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“depends what you want”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

this former presidence Chang-Kai Shik residense, was popular spot, which it is VERY VERY CROWDED with foreign tourist. to visit Chang's residence, need to get another ticket more early, or else you need to come another day.

worth visit but depends what you want, gardens fill with flora, suitable for family trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wlysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seputeh, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Known some history of Taiwan previous presidence...”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Is a clean and pleasant walk gardens. Be carefull went walk trough the garden, there have some tree have toxin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IRIS0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The residence is famous mainly for political reasons however it has been interesting to see part of the lives of the first family: traditional Chinese culture dominates despite of all the international connections. There is nothing much special actually so I would not call the residence a "must see" place in Taipei. On the contrary, I found the gardens very attractive, especially in a cloudy weather. It is a combination of western and eastern styles, well, I would rather call it a botanical park for kids, adults and seniors as you can tell the owners' adoration of nature and environment.

Helpful?
Thank CSI-TJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, some history, pleasant walk (if the weather is not too hot)”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went there because my daughter did a report on Madame Chiang Kai Shek, so I was pleasantly surprised by the landscaping. The gardens are varied and well taken care of. Walking around is free, and we also chose to pay (100nt?) to take a tour of her residence. Since it was air conditioned, we spent a long time there, but it was really interesting and there is staff around to explain things.

Would highly recommend if you're interested in plants and flowers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C.K.S. Shilin Residence Park also viewed

 

Been to C.K.S. Shilin Residence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing