We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Nice Room”
Review of Saual Keh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saual Keh Hotel
Ranked #243 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Firstly the hotel is in an alley so might be abit difficult to find. Do bring along the hotel address in chinese and their phone number in case you need to ask around. Nearest MRT is CKS Memorial Hall station about 300m from Exit 2. Service was prompt and people are friendly and helpful. Stayed at the Executive room on the 6th floor. Room was big, nice and clean. The toilet is separated from the main bathroom. Bathroom comes with a jacuzzi and standing shower with rain shower head. Like that the shower has a ventilator that allows you to choose heating to warm up the air before you shower, great for cold wintry nights. Room has a DVD set, safe box and mini fridge. The wardrobe is abit small for two persons. Breakfast was forgettable and I would recommend you to try the Lu Rou Fan nearby. There is always a long queue so you would not missed it. Better to order takeaway. There are shops selling Shen Jian Bao and Hu Jiao Bing, authentic Taiwanese street food, across the street.

As the hotel is very narrow in shape, the corridor do not have much space to maneuver bulky luggage. Do request for soft bedding as the mattress might be alittle too hard for some. Also request for an attached jacuzzi if you are staying in the Executive room. A room with window to allow sunlight in and also do not request for rooms on the 7th floor as the elevator only reaches the 6th. If you stay on the 7th floor you have to carry your luggage up a narrow flight of stairs.

Overall the stay was great and it was value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 7th floor as it is not serviced by an elevator. Request for attached jacuzzi, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryGairui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

5 mins walk to metro station,quite easy
Clear room but the room is too small for family travelers, hard to make any movement if you have to take the stroller.
Breakfast buffet is average level, good taste but not so much choices.
Providing basic facilities for travelers

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We spent 3 nights at Saual Keh Hotel with friends.

From the airport, we took the airport bus and got off Taipei Train Station. Got on a cab and gave the taxi driver the paper with the address written in Chinese. Paid about 80TWD from train station to hotel.

The hotel is inside a small alley. Quaint but cozy. We were given a room upfront with a window facing the side street. I'd recommend you ask for the same coz I'm not sure if the other rooms had windows.

Access to transportation was a breeze. Just walk 2 blocks and you get to the MRT. Another 3 blocks would lead you to Chiang Kai Shek Memorial. Getting around Taipei was easy since their train system is very good.

Our room came with free breakfast. Their breakfast was just ok. The regular toast, sausages and scrambled eggs. They also had cereal and congee. Not really a big fan of their breakfast fare but toast and butter was ok to start off our day.

If you get hungry in the middle of the night, there's a 24-hour Yoshinoya at the back area of the hotel. Maybe about 3 blocks. There's are also two 7-11 shops within the vicinity.

There's a bar near Chiang Kai Shek Memorial which sells a pint of beer for 50TWD during happy hour. It's called the Revolver. If in case you go looking for a place to drink, I think this would be okay. Not much bars in that area so the Revolver would be a good choice.

Request for a soft mattress prior to arriving. We found the mattress hard and uncomfortable so we had to request for one.

Staff was courteous and helpful. They even helped me write down the food I wanted to try in Chinese so I wouldn't have a hard time asking around.

I wouldn't mind staying in this hotel the next time I get to visit Taipei.

Room Tip: Make sure to print the hotel's address in Chinese so if ever you need to take a cab, just show t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuisinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Hotel is located near CKS memorial hall station. Though our room is provided with a window, the overhead window is so "tiny" that you may as well go without it!.

Room is clean, new, and provided with dvd player and wifi. If you are going to the night market and ximen ding, you can just take the metro directly at CKS without switching metro lines.

PS: I am impressed with the helpful people at taipei and taichung. Even the bus drivers at taichung is so helpful! Well done! Taiwan people!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My family just spent 4 nights at this hotel. It is well located between 2 MRT stations just a few minutes walk away. We were lucky to be upgraded to a King size room with jacuzzi, it certainly offered great value. Room is spacious, clean and interior modern. The bathroom was fitted with a hot air ventilator which was certainly a big plus on a cold winter day. Having read past reviews on hard matresses, we opted for soft mattresses and had a good night sleep under clean white comfy sheets. Reception staff was helpful and even let us have a carton box and tapes to meet our packing requirements. We booked directly from the hotel website and Bonnie replies in English and was helpful in addressing our queries.
My children occupied a triple basement room with no windows. Room 112 is much bigger than room 111. The hotel only has these 2 rooms on triple basis. They were gracious enough to allow us to swop to the bigger room after 1 night. Although the lack of window was acceptable, noise of water running through pipes in the wall did disturb some sleep. Also the bathroom design with a bath tub (without shower) + adjacent shower area without shower enclosure made it difficult to use the bathroom as it was always wet. Both the last 2 problems were present for both basement rooms.
For the rooms on upper floors, although windows are present most either overlook an air well or narrow back alleys where neighbours can look in. Curtains remain drawn for privacy. The wc/toilet is separated from the shower/jacuzzi/wash basin room but the lack of air vent in the toilet is a very unpractical design.
Breakfast was basic (Taiwan porridge or simple Western style) and not much to look forward to.
Overall, the great rates we procured (early bird discounts), spacious rooms, cleanliness, modern design and great location surpassed the minuses mentioned above.

Room Tip: For triple room, request for room 112 which has an extra powder area making it a lot more spacious t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Medium level hotel with good price. Rooms are clean and staff is helpful. The hotel is located very close to the Chiang Kai-Shek memorial hall metro station. There is wireless connection in the rooms and breakfast is served in the morning. The only drawback was the absence of windows in our room.
In case of going back to Taipei, we'll go back in the same hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel is not expensive and it has a convenient location; only a 5min walk with a 6yr old in tow, to Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial Hall Metro Station and from there, it's only 2 stations away from ximending and taipei main station, depending on which line you take. The room (i opt for softer bed) and bathroom (with a deep bathtub and self-adjustable bathroom warmer and ventilation facilities) are very clean and i like the modern design. There is a 7-11 convenience stall (can get the directions from the staffs), a dessert eatery, a bakery and a LuRouFan eatery near the hotel.

Coming from the airport, I took the high speed rail to taipei main station (you can take a coach), and from there, hop onto a cab to the hotel (5min ride, NT110). Do have the full address of the hotel with you, as it's just a very small hotel and i don't think most cabbies know of its existence. If one opt to take the metro from taipei main station to the hotel, alight at Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial Hall Station, look for exit 2 once you alight from the metro. Once out from exit 2, walk straight, there should be a main road on your left and some shops on your right. Walk straight till you see lane 90 (around a 5min walk), then turn right and you should see the hotel, a purple building. Alternatively, the hotel provides scheduled airport pick at cost of NT1000 for 1-3pax and NT1200 for 4-6pax. (45-60min ride)

Official check out time is at 12pm and check in is at 6pm. For those who want to check in earlier, the earliest time allowed is probably around 1-3pm (depending on how fast they clean up the rooms). Anything earlier than that will cost NT580 for the first 2hr and NT200 for subsequent additional hour of rest.

Things that come free with the room are: toothbrushes, toothpaste, hair tie, facial cotton pad, dental floss, cotton buds, shower cap, shaving cream, shaver, comb, handsoap, shampoo, shower gel (no bubble bath gel though) and 2 bottles of mineral water a day. Not forgetting the free breakfast, which i think is mediocre as im not into the porridge and dishes kind of breakfast. Bread, chinese mantou, milk and cereal and scrambled eggs (not made to order) are also provided. Do note that breakfast hours is from 7am to 9.30am only.

For bigger rooms, opt for rooms on 7th floor. But the con is that there is no elevator to the 7th floor, so one has to climb the very narrow stairs with the luggage. The hotel does not have bellboys but one can seek assistance from the staffs at the counter if one needs help with the luggage.

On the 7th floor, there is a small gym and a laundry room(Washer NT80, Dryer NT80). There is no swimming pool in the hotel. Free-wifi is provided in all rooms and if you find the connection unstable, you can inform the staffs and a router will be set up in the room.

For ladies who are travelling alone, the walk from the metro to the hotel may be a little quiet at night.

Service could be warmer, as some staffs did not even bother to give a wintry smile.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thegohtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#18 of 585 in Taipei
963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wing Hotel Taipei
Wing Hotel Taipei
#372 of 585 in Taipei
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#96 of 585 in Taipei
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Good More Hotel - Shida
Good More Hotel - Shida
#276 of 585 in Taipei
14 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Hsuanmei Boutique
0.7 mi away
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#163 of 585 in Taipei
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saual Keh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saual Keh Hotel

Address: No.2 Lane 90, Section 1, Roosevelt Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £37 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saual Keh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saual Keh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing