We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A more than decent charming little hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parachute Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parachute Hostel
Ranked #96 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A more than decent charming little hostel”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A very comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay. There are many hostels that come of as tacky in terms of decor and style but Parachute hostel in not one of them. The place is tastefully decorated and exudes a quaint charm which gives it a homely and comfortable feeling.

The place is less than a 5 mins walk from Taipower MRT station but we had a bit of trouble finding it on the first day as there was only a small door with the hostel's sticker on it from the street. Once we located the place we found its location to be extremely convenient and helpful subsequently. The staff was around most of the time we were there and offered many useful tips abt Taipei. Lockers were also provided for guests.

I have no qualms about recommending this place to anyone. I tried to book it again for my return trip to Taiwan but found that it had no vacancies so I guess you should try to book it earlier if you can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kongbapau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My girlfriend and I sated here in 2012 when this place was still very new. It looked to be owned and operated by a group of young entrepreneurial Taiwanese men and women. The place was clean, comfortable, friendly, and very close to the MRT. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is something that is completely out of their control - due to the layout of the building - the common room is upstairs and isolated. I enjoy meeting other travelers when staying hostels, but the positioning of this common room was such that nobody ever spent any considerable time there, and i didn't see anyone else during my entire stay even though the place was full.

I tried to reserve a room here when I came back to Taiwan in 2013 but it was fully booked. I would absolutely recommend this place.

Room Tip: All of them looked great. My room didn't have windows but had sufficient light to make that OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJStevenson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Parachute is a very clean and tidy hostel located in a quiet and safe area.
It’s location is very good. It only take around 3 minutes to be there from metro station; and two night markets are close.
The beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpfull. I only stayed for one night, but even though I had checked out, the lovely lady helped me to take my stored heavy suitcase downstairs.
It is a very good choice for travellers who want to keep away from the busy districts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_VisitorJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Pros: Good location, very close to the MRT.
Cons: The rooms are very basic. We had the double room. Its very small, has no windows and only has space for a hat stand and a little tray.There are only 2 showers and 2X2-3 toilets for the entire hostel. Showers were very unstable with changing from hot to cold, same was the pressure. Till no water came out at all. The hostel had no water supply at all from night till 10 am. The hostel provided big water bottles for washing. Toilets couldnt be flushed and excrements were piling up. The hostel owner was not reachable. The staff said: Because its sunday. I asked for compensation but even when the hostel owner emailed me he just apologized but refuses to pay any compensation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtouristinTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I hesitated initially about booking this hostel as opposed to the ones at Taipei Main Station however upon arriving in Taipei I was really happy I chose this hostel instead! It is located at Taipower Building Stn (Exit 4), just 10 minutes away from Taipei Main Station (direct line towards Guting) by train. It's hidden between a few mechanical shops & other assortments of services but EASILY spotted by it's bright blue facade.

I would recommend using Google maps to see a live view of the area before heading over (148 Shida Road) but if this is not possible, one just needs to take Exit 4 from Taipower Building Station, climb two flights of stairs (if you have a heavy luggage like me, this would be the perfect workout!), turn right once you exit out and walk straight down. Keep a lookout for a shop with a huge YAMAHA sign and once you spot it, the next shophouse would be the hostel.

Thankfully I was fortunate enough to meet this amazing lady staff (the staff were super helpful!!!) outside the cafe who offered (took it right out of my hands actually!) to help me carry the luggage up the flight of stairs (Parachute hostel has a total of 2 levels & an attic, the rooms are on level 2 of the shophouse). Check-in was a breeze & was shown to my bed in the 6 bed female dorm which looked exactly like the photos online, awesome! Slept well w/o an issue for the 3 night(s) that I stayed.

The hostel has a total of 13 beds, 2 showers & 2 toilets which was way more than enough to accommodate everyone. There was never an issue with using the facilities in the hostel! Toilet/shower were sparkly clean probably because the lady owner(s) actually live in the hostel itself so they treated it like their home.

Apart from offering free breakfast, there was also free wifi (good connection in the rooms!), free laundry (no dryer available but you can dry your clothes in the alfresco area outside the attic on level 3) and free lockers (with keys).

In terms of location, they are about a 10 minute walk from Shida night market, 7-11, various mini cafes & 1 supermarket down the road. If I remember correctly, I spotted a electric stove in the pantry area which I am sure you can use if you want to buy instant noodles/food to cook.

I'm already planning my next trip to Taiwan & this place would definitely be my #1 choice for a hostel in Taipei! (P/S: I gave up any ideas of staying at Taiwan Main Station after seeing the huge influx of crowd that goes in/out of the station, WAY too confusing for me! Although they have English signs in the train, I just wouldn't fancy constantly confusing myself for all the different exits)

Getting back to the airport was a breeze. Just had to take the train back to Taipei Main Station, took Exit M5 and walked all the way straight down to a bus complex where I could get a bus ticket from the main company Kuo Kuang (you will probably read it off other sites as Kingbus but as Taipei still isn't a very English friendly country, best to note it down as Kuo Kuang instead!) to Taipei Intl airport. 1 ticket costs 125TWD approx $5.20SGD/$4.20USD. About 1 hour to get to the airport.

Stay here if you appreciate good service, a comfy bed, clean facilities & a quiet neighbourhood!

Room Tip: 6 bed female dorm offer a window view which although not always necessary in dorm rooms but greatly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic0letteTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Pros: friendly helpful staff, very clean, free laundry, very basic breakfast for free, good location, small lockers available
Cons: common area is not very comfortable (but there is a nice coffee shop below), 4 bedroom dorm is small and windowless, no secure place if you need to leave luggage, sometimes hard to locate staff.
Bottom line: if you are looking for more social cozy atmosphere that comes with a hostel lounge, or if you need lots of input and info typical of hostels then this might not be the best place for you. If you are an independent traveller simpler looking for a simple, clean, good value place then I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumdims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the 6-bed female dorm. Room is sort of small but clean. Bed is too soft, can feel the wood planks underneath. Room does have A/C though. In total, there are 13 beds in the hostel, 2 showers, 2 toilets & 2 sinks all located on the same floor. Upstairs is a small common room but it didn't really feel comfortable. Hostel offers free use of the laundry machine with a clothes line to hang dry, free WiFi, lockers. Only a few mins walk to the MRT which is so easy to use. The staff was great, very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmooshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Li Yuan Hotel
#320 of 565 in Taipei
43 reviews
K Hotel Dunnan
#271 of 565 in Taipei
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good More Hotel - Shida
#381 of 565 in Taipei
6 reviews
Wing Hotel Taipei
#293 of 565 in Taipei
12 reviews
Wanhua District
inhouse residence
inhouse residence
#303 of 565 in Taipei
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parachute Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parachute Hostel

Property: Parachute Hostel
Address: No.148 Shida Road, Zhongzheng Dist.,, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Parachute Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing