We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very good”
Review of The Landis Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Landis Taipei
Ranked #55 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really very good”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

So I arrived on a Saturday, and left 8 days later. This was for Computex '14 and also a little while longer to stay with the wife.

I had a double room, facing the side which has the 24h McDonalds

Pros:
* Complimentary mineral water everyday (2 bottles of 300ml)
* Fresh Fruit everyday (apple, orange, banana)
* Good buffet breakfast (full english available, as well as dim sum, fruit etc and yakult!)
* Good room service (the fries that came with the ham and cheese toastie were so good! and the toastie itself was good! I was very impressed. The best I had so far was in NY on the High Line, and this comes as a very close second)
* Staff are pretty good language wise (not all are quite bi-lingual, but good enough to understand you ) - if it doesn't work - use google translate!
* 24 hrs mcdonalds right across the street.
* The DND button and 'please make my room up' buttons are all electronic and can be activated from the inside - no more faffing about with some cardboard cutouts on the door knob
* Close to metro (Zhongshan elementary school station) Yellow line - 5 minutes walk.
* 7-11 just around the corner - so you can pick up anything you've forgotten (listerine for me)
* Ice bucket full when i get back to the room
* Individual wifi AP's for EACH ROOM! no more crappy signal.

Cons:
* I personally like a soft mattress for my bed. In comparison, Landis has firm beds. Pillows are down, medium
* Evian was NT$120 for 1l, so I ought 1.5l for NT$80 from the 7-11

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c240amg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, 總經理 at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

The Landis team was glad to welcome you during your business trip in Taipei to attend the Computex.
Thank you for sharing your detailed comments and of course for highlighting all your “pros list”. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another professional event or maybe a private trip too!

Best regards from Asia,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    281
    58
    11
    11
See reviews for
178
193
74
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dordt, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly staff. The language still stays a problem especially in the restaurant. They want to promote with a Australian chef and a big walking and talking Koala bear but if the staff is not reacting or speaks English this is poor. Food and meal prepaeation was good and atmosphere also.
Beds comfortable and spacious rooms. All clean!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, 總經理 at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taiwan!

It is nice to hear from a guest who experienced the special Australian Promotion. Thank you for your comments and feedbacks. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We would love to welcome you back for a future stay in Taipei and maybe to enjoy another country promotion!

Warm regards,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fantastic hotel with impeccable service. Room was huge. Really appreciated the complimentary water fruit. Well located. Breakfast choice and quality were great. Great location, can see Taipei 101 from room. Only compliant is the lack of english language channels on the TV. Only CNN is currently available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrobstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, 總經理 at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taiwan! Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Regarding the TV channels, I am sorry if you couldn't find more programs in English. However, even if advertisement is sometimes in Chinese, many famous channels available in rooms do offer international and various programs in English such as TV shows, sports and movies. Please, feel free to ask us if you need assistance regarding this matter on a future trip of yours. We would be glad to help you!

All the hotel team is grateful for your review and is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

So I have stayed at the Landis now three times for extended periods and have to tell you its on my top three list of places to say on the planet - I know there are 7 star resorts (I've been to them) but for Customer Service, Comfort and Quality you cant go wrong. So the old saying goes, don't judge a book by its cover applies here. This is an older property but is very well maintained. Some people might complain about the location but I'm not one of them. Its in a community center with a local park right behind the property where people exercise early in the morning, lots of small restaurants and general purpose stores all around, two blocks from the MRT subway system, Its part of the community. That is what I enjoy the most about it. I can walk to work if weather permits or jump in a cab for about 5$ and get anywhere in town. Besides a very comfortable European style room I want to tell you about there restaurants. I frequent the Brassiere on the main floor for breakfast and have also enjoyed there second floor Paris 1930 restaurant. If you have ever watched TV shows about Microbiology cooking your in for an amazing dinner. There French Chef does amazing things with food, the taste and textures are memorable and the room is exquisite. All three restaurants are run by Executive Chef Robert Brown, his extensive back ground thru out the Asia pacific rim is note worthy and brings a great sense of pride and dedication from his staff. He exemplifies customer service and takes great pride in providing the hotel guests a wide selection of foods from around the world. I also have to recognize the General Manger Robert Gerber, thru his 30+ years in Hotel management he has assembled a team of people that understand its You and I that give them opportunity to demonstrate what customer service is all about. I have been to the mega hotels with fancy 100ft ceilings and marble floors etc...but when you walk into The Landis, the staff personally greet you and are always ready to help you. The floor staff greet you and are very willing to assist you with any personal item you might want in your room. Stay for more than a day or two and they know your name and go out of there way to make sure everything is satisfactory and to your liking. Every evening they provide a turn down service and make sure the room is picked up and welcoming so you can relax and get a restful sleep. The rooms are very quiet and the blackout curtains make the room perfect for the rest you need after working/playing all over Taipei...highly recommend you stay there and tell them Sean Abercrombie sent you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, General Manager at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dearest S. A. (I am afraid we are not allowed to identify guests by name on Trip Advisor),

All The Landis Team is thrilled by your amazing review and your kind comments both online and also on the comment letter you gave us upon your last stay. Thank you for your generous and loyal patronage and it is always a pleasure to have you at the hotel and to enjoy a nice talk about your discovery of the city.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please remember to bring us some bright and beautiful Californian sunshine!

All the very best from Taipei,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked a superior room and the room itself was just fine. Overall service was very good and reliable. Breakfast was crowded during our first morning so we were told to have breakfast upstairs in a makeshift dining room. Even though the selection of food was similar, I would recommend waiting for a table at the downstairs restaurant - the ambience was much better. The buffet spread was nice, and freshly made juice were made upon request. The staff was very professional and courteous throughout our stay.

There is no swimming pool at the hotel but it wasn't a problem for us.

We arrived and departed by the airport bus. The bus coming to the hotel was slow as it made many stops along the way. The bus to the airport was much better (1840?). We waited at the Xingtiangong stop (2 blocks from the hotel) for 15 minutes before it arrived, but once we were on the bus, it only took 35-40 minutes to get to the airport.

We also joined a walking tour of the Dadaocheng area (which happened to be quite close to the hotel) - it was quite interesting to learn about the area's rich history and culture. The tour was organized by Taipei Walking Tour group and we had a great time with them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, General Manager at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review! All the hotel team was glad to welcome you during your stay in Taipei and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed both our services and some sightseeing around the city with the Taipei Walking Tour.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on a future trip of yours!

Warm regards,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We reserved a deluxe queen and were upgraded to a queen corner suite with a gift of wine and complimentary daily bottles of water and assorted whole fruits. The breakfast buffet was a fantastic mix of American (eggs made to order, French toast) and Chinese (dim sum and jook) selections. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff really helped direct us to the sights in Taipei. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TLaiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, General Manager at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Landis! All the team is happy is hear from you and to know that you fully enjoyed your visit and our services. We are grateful for your nice comments and your kind recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards from Taipei,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 5 days whilst doing business in Taiwan. From the moment the hotel limousine collected me from Taoyuan international airport I was immersed in a level of service rarely seen.

Check in seamless, room amazing with separate lounge area, large bathroom and on a clear morning you could see Taipei 101 in the far distance ! Excellent breakfast buffet , great conference facilities and superb lunch service. Excellent service all over with staff readily adept in English speaking.

Excellent hotel experience and if ever back in Taipei would be my only choice of accommodation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLandisTaipei, General Manager at The Landis Taipei, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taiwan!

Thank you for sending your amazing comments online. The Landis team is glad to read from you and to hear that you fully appreciated our services and facilities and that you could also enjoy the private car on the way to the hotel.

We would be more than happy to welcome you on a future visit of yours, either for leisure or a business trip!

Kind regards,
Robert J. Gerber
General Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.0 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 571 in Taipei
869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#44 of 571 in Taipei
1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#40 of 571 in Taipei
549 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#17 of 571 in Taipei
799 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landis Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landis Taipei

Property: The Landis Taipei
Address: No.41 Min Chuan East Road, Section 2, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#19 Business Hotel in Taipei
#20 Family Hotel in Taipei
#23 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#24 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landis Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an elegant French art deco style, The Landis Taipei has offered legendary services to its guests since the "Grand Opening" in 1979. Our guest rooms are the reflection of the refined and luxurious themes with a touch of the modern world. Offering to all business and leisure travelers a welcome "oasis" in the busy Taipei, our property presents a wide variety of facilities combined with a high level of personalized services. For those travelers who are seeking a combination of the "classic" and the "comfort of modern life," The Landis Taipei has all the amenities and the facilities that travelers expect from a business hotel with truly impeccable services. At "Paris 1930" you will find the finest French cuisine pairing some of the best vintage wines recommended by our sommeliers. "Tien Hsiang Lo" will bring you authentic Hangzhou delights. "La Brasserie," our French-European restaurant, whose specialty is provincial cuisine, makes The Landis Taipei one of the most convenient addresses for your next unforgettable dining experience in Taipei. With our very accommodating banquet and conference facilities, we are certain that your business meetings or special celebrations will be comfortable and memorable. Pamper yourself at "Jurlique Day Spa," enjoying soothing treatments and aromatherapy sessions to help you release tensions and regain your inner balance. Our "Fitness Center" is a fully equipped gym where you will start or finish your day in a healthy way! The hotel is well-located with easy access to airports, entertainment, and the city's busy financial center. The Landis Taipei is a member of Landis Hospitality Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Landis Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel Taipei
Taipei Landis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing