We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Regent Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Taipei
Ranked #20 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Regent Taipei, and it was lovely. We were in Taiwan for a good friend's wedding, and although the wedding was held elsewhere (at the gorgeous Grand Hotel), the Regent was exactly what we were looking for.

Check in was very efficient and the reception staff were very friendly. The hotel lobby is luxurious, with high-end stores including Graff and Harry Winston jewellers situated right there. We had an executive suite, which was enormous - separate dressing room, large walk in robe (with the largest in-room safe we've ever had), and a massive bathroom with separate bath, shower and enclosed toilet. Although this is quite a busy hotel, it is extremely quiet and we were never interrupted by cleaning staff.

We had dinner at Robin's Grill, which was fabulous. The quality and choice of food was amazing, and for a very reasonable price. The lounge/bar area was also a great place for our group of friends to wind down at the end of the day.

The concierge staff were also very helpful and were always there to assist when we were leaving/returning of a day. The location is great, with a large number of designer stores right at the front door. A short walk around the corner will also find cheaper department stores and fast food outlets.

Taipei is very nice, clean city and the Regent is a perfect place to use as a base for your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
There are newer reviews for Regent Taipei
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

I first reviewed the Regent back in 2006, and I've stayed there on another 3 occasions since then -- in 2008, 2010, and again last month. While I still feel it's a good hotel overall, I am becoming more disappointed with each successive stay. Mainly this is because I have not seen any improvement with their weaknesses. The hotel is aging and developing a shabby, outdated feel and smell. And also my disappointment comes from what appears to be increasingly disingenuous and nickel-and-diming business practice. All of this is surprising considering increasing competition in luxury hotels nearby (Royal Hotel, small boutique hotels like the Tango, Dandy, Mai Hotel, and the new Okura Hotel around the corner) and in Taipei overall (W Hotel, Le Meridien). I stay there now mainly because it is in a convenient location close to family and friends.

My check-in on my most recent stay in November 2011 was slow, taking 15 minutes, with the receptionist leaving the front counter and leaving me standing there waiting. She and her cohorts were cold and unfriendly, a problem I noted before in previous stays. I had requested a room with two beds, but on check-in, the receptionist told me I was booked for a single king bed room. She said they did have a double-bed room, but they "lost the key" to that room. So the only other double-bed rooms available were upgraded rooms, which would cost another extra $NT1700 (~$57) a night. First of all, what supposedly 5-star hotel "loses the key" to their rooms? This also goes back to my comment about their outdated-ness, still using metal keys when other luxury hotels use electronic key cards. Second of all, if they were trying to upsell me to a more expensive room, they should have used a more believable excuse. Very disappointing behavior from a hotel of this caliber.

I finally made it up to the room. Fairly clean overall, but had an old, musty odor. Wallpapers were stained and some peeling at the corners. The window still had smudges and handprints on them from previous guests (housekeeping doing a very cursory job). Marble in the bathroom with stains. All of this was tolerable because I was just happy to get into the spacious and otherwise comfortable room.

Then I tried to log on to the internet using their WiFi. The login page informed me that the hotel charges $NT740 (~$25) a day for access -- per device! I had just come from the Four Seasons in Hong Kong, where they only charged $12 a day, and allowed 4 devices. I also stayed at the Royal Taipei next door to them, and Wifi was free. I also stayed at nearby Mai Hotel, and WiFi was free. I stayed at Le Meridien across town the following week, and WiFi was free. So I paid it grudgingly because I had no choice. I needed internet access for my work.

So in summary:
This hotel is aging not being maintained and updated to par with its name and with its competition in town. Its front desk staff continues to be stoic and unfriendly (believe me, competing hotels have very cordial and pleasant front desk staff). It uses disingenuous tactics to upsell rooms. It nickels-and-dimes its guests on amenities like WiFi service, where it way overcharges.

I had been a loyal customer at this hotel during my stays in Taipei over the past 5 years. I hope hotel management can recognize these issues. If I notice them, there is no doubt many other guests do also. And with so many luxury hotels in town, especially the new ones, the Regent will lose customers. Or they will over time become an older hotel that caters to discount tour groups.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed for 5 nights on Tai Pan floor. We stay often in club floors of Shangri La, Conrad, Hyatt in other Asian cities. Room is large, and well furnished, bathroom is large and bath tub good size. Room over-all is darkish, as is the hallway outside. There was no turn down service in the evening, although a piece of cake was delivered each night.

The Tai Pan lounge is not large, but neither is the Shangri La in Taipei. But the Tai Pan lounge lounge has lots of soft lounge seating, and a great view over city. Because it is smaller it gets noisy with a few people in, and the reception area is not screened off for noise either, so there is always something happening. Not so easy to relax and read as in other lounges I have used.

Biggest disappointment was the snacks etc. There are none before about 4pm, not even nibbles. Drinks will be served by staff if requested, but no self serve. The evening snacks are basic and would not qualify as a light meal, unlike other lounges. Even in evening the drinks are basic, with one red and one white wine on offer, no champagne.

The breakfast in the lounge is quite OK, as expected not as extensive as downstairs where I tried too. The large breakfast buffet downstairs is not as good as I would expect. The biggest complaint is the 10 am finish for breakfast, which means by 9.45 am staff are bustling to clean up and telling guests that "last food from buffet should be taken now". I saw a number of guests "hoarding" multiple plates which seems silly for a so called top hotel.

The staff are very attentive, and polite. Overall it was a nice stay but not great. It may be that the Regent is meeting the standard for Taipei, but the lounge does not meet the standard of Singapore or KL where I stay regularly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJFlash138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regenttaipei, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Regent Taipei, thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and descript review of our hotel. It is through your suggestions that we may seek ways to improve upon our existing standards and amenities. As an important guest, we hope to provide you with all the necessities you would require so that Regent Taipei becomes your home away from home. Quality and convenience are of the essence and we appreciate your commentary and hope that during your next visit, you may see the improvements we have made.

Best regards,
Dick Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Always staying at Tai Pan Floor. free access to the lounge, great bfast and pre-dinner cocktails, coffee and beers during the day, wi-fi and late check out (5pm). Rooms are big, modern and very clean. Service always perfect. Every restaurant that has been advised by the concierge was great. the roof top pool was nice and with a nice view although a bit crowded with motivated swimmers.

Definately good value for money

Room Tip: tai pan floors, they have free access to the Tai Pan lounge
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chipopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for over a week this year in May/June and the thing that sticks out in my mind is the breakfast! I've stayed at a huge range of hotels, but the breakfast here was amazing - there was everything from pastries/cakes/pancakes/waffles/fruit/ sausages/bacon/eggs/ to more asianstyled foods foods like congee/dim sum food like dumplings/cooked to order omlettes/ cooked to order udon/ kim chi!!!
The only problem is that breakfast finishes at 10, so you dont really have much chance for sleepign in also most shops in TW don't even open till 11/12 so it ends up being a long day (especially if you then go to night markets)

The room was large with a huge bathroom, fridge and lots of closet space which was good. A widescreen TV with about 100 channels also kept the other half happy.

They also haev a roof top pool which is really nice and offers good views of the city, there were also other spa/sauna facilities but we didnt really have a chance to look at these

Location wise - the hotel is catered more towards business people and/or those wanting to shop at gucci/LV/cartier etc as most of the brands have a store in the ground floor of the hotel or within a 50m distance. If you are after some "local" taiwanese shops, you need to go for a bit of a walk/scout around - as it wasn't obvious we tended to eat before we went back to the hotel.
The hotel is also not very close to tourist attractions and the closest night market is about 15 min walk, so if this is what you are after this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7leafClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Arrival from Taipei Taoyuan Intl Airport to downtown ZhongShan Road was a breeze, even with the airport shuttle bus service. Take 国光 (Kuo Kuang) bus from the airport as the route is better, stops right in front of hotel, driver will be happy to direct you. Hotel is located in a mature and swanky district surrounded by luxurious European designer stores, Prada, Gucci, flagship of LV, etc... Hotel appeared a bit dated but very well maintained, front line employees are generally helpful when approached although they will not "jump at you to assist". My accommodation was reserved on the Taipan Level, the hotel's executive level accommodation. When booking was located, I was quickly escorted to the lounge for check-in formalities. Room was well appointed and cleanliness excellent, plenty of bath amenities and evening turndown snacks were offered, making it a nice touch. The Taipan Lounge was exclusive with availability of 2 private room for internet usage, iMac computers were offered with excellent connection speed, headphones available too! Great variety of breakfast offerings were offered in the lounge and you may request for choice of eggs, all day/evening snacks were creatively presented. You may request for coffee/tea/beer and other beverages throughout the day. Lounge manned by a lovely team of attendants and butlers to assist you with tourist information and direction. Butler Edison provided excellent assistance and help a few of my travel/sight seeing requests. Enjoyed the gym located on the basement of the hotel, they run local membership too, so the facility is shared with locals of Taipei, may be busy during peak period, but overall good layout, neat and clean facility. The hotel offers excellent variety of dining outlets and appeared very popular with hotel guests and locals, looks like "the place" for wedding parties in Taipei.

Room Tip: If booked on Taipan floor, request for room on same level as the lounge
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank live&dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in Taipei for business and leisure... None can beat the service and quality of the Regent Hotel, which offers spacious rooms, great gym, nice breakfast and excellent service. Check-in and check-out process is efficient and the room service is also efficient. The spa is first-class. Swimming pool is outdoor with a view of the city. The only issue is probably location where it will take about 10 minute walk to reach the train station. It is walking distance to a couple of small department stores. The place is very Japanese-friendly due to its location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeHYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#48 of 574 in Taipei
903 reviews
2.8 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#18 of 574 in Taipei
2,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Taipei

Address: No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#7 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Family Hotel in Taipei
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £143 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Taipei has 538 of the most spacious and attractively designed rooms in Taiwan. Standard amenities include the pressure relieving Wellspring Bed, a pillow menu, feather duvet, large marbled bathroom with deep soaking tub and separate shower, 24-hour room service, complimentary wireless Internet, satellite TV, stereo, in-room safe, and mini-bar. On the top floors of Regent Taipei is TAI PAN Residence & Club, an all-butler hotel that coalesces the traditional Oriental milieu with contemporary comfort, where one can Experience Modern Chinese Lifestyle. Also found in the hotel are the Wellspring Spa urban resort, the state-of-the-art Health Club & Sauna, complete meeting and banqueting facilities, a rooftop pool, the Regent Galleria that provides a world-class shopping venue to cater to the needs of global luxury travelers, and eight world-class restaurants that offer traditional and innovative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing