We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star hotel needs more improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regent Taipei
Ranked #29 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star hotel needs more improvement”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location, great facilities, spacious rooms, comprehensive choice for dining.

However, the first afternoon after we checked in, there is deafening sound comes from the sound system, and it lasted for more than 10 mins, we were travelling with my 2 year old girl, it's very annoying, as we planned to get her nap and then go out for dinner.

We called Duty manager and of course it took a long time, as the whole floor is affected by this sound system failure...at last someone picked up and promised to help, nothing happens 10 mins later and I had to call again shouting to them as it's ridiculous to happen in a 5 star hotel like Regent.

Finally it stopped with no one entering the room, guess they controlled it somewhere centralised, but it is a very bad first impression indeed. 1 hour later, someone rang the door bell and apologised, but nothing they can make it up, and no follow up such as cookies, chocolates, nothing...

The same night I joined the university pals for drinks at their lounge, they started already, and when I sat down, the girl handed me with a meal menu at the hour of 2200, I was shocked and said, I already said I need to have a drink....she then left and got me a drink menu, and she did not seem to understand she is doing something very strange and stupid to a hotel guest. Service training needs to be stepped up certainly...

When I checked in and tried to log on to the free wifi which is included at the room rate, I asked a bell boy, who delivered our luggages, which package should I choose? He said it is the same so I clicked the Premium one.

When I checked out, they charged me 3 day premium wifi service, so I explained to them, the staff said it's the same...so they are kind enough and waive the charge. Again, more training is needed for the staff.

overall, the experience is nice, spacious room, very clean and tidy, polite staff, just some minor hiccups in between.

Room Tip: I booked Premier Room, just a category down from Junior Suite, it's very spacious and value for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    462
    94
    24
    23
See reviews for
499
317
106
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan, Asia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was given a room next to the staff lift and that ruined all possibility if a good rest. Every few minutes, you can hear loud vibrating noise that lasts for about 20 seconds. Every time I neatly drifted to sleep, I was awakened by the sound. Though the sound stopped near midnight, it started again at about 5 am! Certainly don't expect this for the price I'm paying. Would be better off staying in budget hotel. That least I can get a good sleep whenever I want.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Selene777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First of all, somehow there is very little great hotels in Taipei. And this is one of the best as they can meet the standard. So.. you can expect what u usually expect. Also, I choose to stay in Regent is because their rooms are a lot bigger then other luxury hotels in Taipei, great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yi mien t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Yi Mien T:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had a great experience and will definitely come back! All of the staff are very pleasant, which makes me look forward to the next time I am sent here for work. I was impressed by the spa. I never go to spas or that type of thing, but my coworkers are constantly raving about it so I tried it and enjoyed it very much. I recommend Ashely and Linda if anyone decides to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jack e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at the Regent on a business trip . Friendly staff from reception to waiters , Spacious clean rooms . Huge breakfast buffet . mix of western and asian . Checked out very early morning and was treated with a breakfast box to take with me . When in Taipei again will stay at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel. It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. They have a nice rooftop pool. The breakfast buffet was superb. The location is convenient to the metro. Only downside is even though the location is pretty central, there's not much to see in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromnyctofll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Regent Formosa is a 5-star hotel which does live up to the required standards.

On hotel food and service, it is good and breakfast is a massive spread of both continental and Asian mix. You can enjoy local favourites (oyster vermicelli & dumplings for example), alongside the usual bacon, eggs, etc with a small selection of Japanese cuisine.

On location, it has in its building luxury brands designer stores, or you can venture several non-designer shopping malls and stores nearby. There is also a subway within 3-mins walk to visit elsewhere (a must-go is the Shilin Night Market, reachable by subway).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#28 of 565 in Taipei
967 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#46 of 565 in Taipei
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#49 of 565 in Taipei
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Taipei

Property: Regent Taipei
Address: No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Taipei
#7 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Family Hotel in Taipei
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Taipei has 538 of the most spacious and attractively designed rooms in Taiwan. Standard amenities include the pressure relieving Wellspring Bed, a pillow menu, feather duvet, large marbled bathroom with deep soaking tub and separate shower, 24-hour room service, complimentary wireless Internet, satellite TV, stereo, in-room safe, and mini-bar. On the top floors of Regent Taipei is TAI PAN Residence & Club, an all-butler hotel that coalesces the traditional Oriental milieu with contemporary comfort, where one can Experience Modern Chinese Lifestyle. Also found in the hotel are the Wellspring Spa urban resort, the state-of-the-art Health Club & Sauna, complete meeting and banqueting facilities, a rooftop pool, the Regent Galleria that provides a world-class shopping venue to cater to the needs of global luxury travelers, and eight world-class restaurants that offer traditional and innovative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing