We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Minimal”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howard Civil Service International House
Ranked #163 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here for five days while she spoke at an academic conference at the National University just a block away. The room was nice and minimally furnished, but the bed was a bit harder than some people may like (hard memory foam mattress means lots of support for bad backs).

It's not the Westin or a W Hotel, but it was safe, clean, and nice. The included breakfast buffet was a nice touch, as well.

We had a suite, with a couch, flat screen TV, and desk, but I learned from colleagues that single travelers slept on double beds in small rooms. (Admittedly, though, they aren't small compared to NYC hotels.) Recommended for budget travelers. The subway is just a block away, the street traffic is surprisingly quiet at night, and taxis are easy to get.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuthorAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

I've reviewed this hotel several years ago. I still stay here during each visit to Taiwan which is 6-8 times a year. To my knowledge rooms can only be booked by called or emailing the hotel directly. It's worth it. At only 2000 a night plus 200 internet, it's the best deal in town. The hotel was recently renovated and the lobby is beautiful. The rooms have been updated as well. At times the walls can be thin (I can hear the man next door snoring) and the rooms are small -- even by Taipei standards -- the the great breakfast, super location, friendly staff, huge windows, bright room, etc., make this hotel a perfect location for this very picky business traveler. Will continue to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

On a week-long business trip to Taipei, I had to switch to this hotel for the weekend from the Grand Hyatt. So, a completely different proposition but good in its own way. It's part of the Civil Service conference venue, so caters mostly for conferences held in the centre on the same site, but apart from the hotel. There was water dripping form the ceiling of the foyer when I arrived and I had to alert the desk staff one of whom casually put a 'wet floor' sign over it and carried on but it seemed to have been sorted an hour later.

The front desk service was otherwise good and the hotel is spotless. I had a spacious room on the 12th floor, with a separate lounge. There was just water in the minibar and the tea is limited to the jasmine variety only. The en-suite was spotless if a little dated but the shower dripped constantly and pretty loudly. The place has a more efficient than luxury feel and has an almost office-like quality and is comfortable rather than elegant.

I had just breakfast in the hotel which was a pretty average buffet arrangement but it did serve black tea and toast along with juice but some of the dishes were stone cold. Plenty of fresh fruit however.

The location is very good, not too far and a very pleasant hour's stroll from the centre of Taipei. The nearest MRT station is Taipower, so the journey takes no more than 15 minutes to Taipei central station, with the Chiang Kai Shek memorial less than 10 minutes away. The hotel is an easy ten minute walk from the MRT. The staton is located on a busy street which has lots of shopping until late and has burger places and a couple of Starbucks.

Back at the hotel, make sure to check out the artwork, mainly prints and small sculptures by a famous Taiwanese artist, Liao Shiou-Ping. They are fantastic. The hotel also has some very nice quiet grounds and a courtyard with some water features. It has a very spacious and quiet business centre which includes a good CD and film library. There is also a cafe in the conference centre.

Overall, a very good stay, not luxury but clean, efficient and comfortable. Be prepared to eat nearby however.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem to have small suite-type rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liege-Bastogne-Liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here recently for an academic conference, with the room paid by the conference organisers, so I won't comment on the value for money. This a nice quiet hotel, probably because it caters mostly for civil servants and academics. Room was clean, well-serviced and comfortable, with a spotlessly clean full-size refrigerator (first time I have seen this in any hotel) . Breakfast was included for our booking, but was missing a few things (e.g. decaf coffee, light milk, and muesli) that would have improved our experience. Staff was very polite and extremely helpful. WiFi worked very well, and the TV had a few good channels in English. The gym is excellent: didn't try the pool. Very close to NTU, and the very pleasant Da'an Forest Park (a great place to walk or run) half a kilometer to the North.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed on the 12th floor which was supposedly more expensive than lower floors like the 7th (my friend was staying) as the rooms are much larger (as shown in the hotel's corporate photo). I must admit that I am usually not particular about the room size and facilities that comes along with it. The bed was clean, so as the toilet and this particular room (1201) has very good view.

My first impression as the taxi approached the front entrance, was that, "not another..." But fortunately this feeling did not last very long. The exterior look of the building was indeed not impressive ("boring" is probably the appropriate word to describe it) and seemed a little "cold", probably because it was right next to the main road and other shops that sandwiched it.

The front desk was not exactly efficient - took more than 10 minutes to settle arrangement that was supposedly pre-arranged. I was of course benchmarking this against the other hotel I stayed during my previous two trips in June and last Sep. On the other hand, checking out was fast. As far as breakfast is concerned, this hotel has a very efficient procedure. All you need if to pass the access card (to room) and the counter staff would tap it against the reader to register your presence (and checking to see if you are the guest indeed). Then each guest would also receive a pc of laminated notice that he or she can place on the table to tell others that the seat is taken. Nonetheless, I was less impressed with the average quality of cooking. I had higher hope as the cooking was supposedly managed by the well established 福华 restaurant group.

Apart from some of these seemingly "imperfections", I consider this hotel a perfect choice in terms of its location. Although not exactly along a busy street, I soon discovered (by foot) that it is very accessible to places of my liking. Within 15-20 minutes, there are two of Taipei famous night markets (food and local shopping), Nearer (within 5 minutes), for those who love beef, there are two beef noodle shops and 馥御 - one of Taiwan's best quality beef (pork also available) jerky brand. Even nearer - next door to the hotel is a famous mutton steamboat eatery - although I do not particularly fancy this meat, the chef has done a good in cooking it in such a way that one could hardly notice the distinct smell. And because of all the interesting places that surround the hotel, I would consider staying there again when I visit Taipei next.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I've stayed here on two trips, most recently in May 2011 for 6 nights.
recently renovated, painted..it is a very comfortable hotel without frills- for business and academics..the clientele seem to be in education, NGOs or other..less corporate guests
rates are reasonable. included breakfast is full and varied. best for me has been the gym and pool adjacent and available to all hotel guests. free parking, easy to get to the student areas around NTU. and not far from two MRT stops. best value. will stay again in July.
only complaint- pay for wi-fi at NTD$200/day..this should be free!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sozo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Started staying here two years ago. Repeat visitor every three months. Clean rooms, nice atmosphere, pool, internet. Best deal in Taipei at 2000 a night. Can't beat it! Highly recommended by budget conscious traveler that wants to stay in a nice place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
Inhouse Residence
Inhouse Residence
#232 of 587 in Taipei
28 reviews
Good More Hotel - Shida
#317 of 587 in Taipei
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Li Yuan Hotel
#345 of 587 in Taipei
45 reviews
Hotel 73
#16 of 587 in Taipei
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Civil Service International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Civil Service International House

Address: No.30, Section 3, Hsinsheng South Road, Daan Dist, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#70 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £61 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Civil Service International House 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Also Known As:
Howard Civil Service International Hotel Taipei
Howard International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing