We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“actually very nice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howard Civil Service International House
Ranked #163 of 568 Hotels in Taipei
Tallahassee, FL.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“actually very nice”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our room, a suite, was excellent. The staff were excellent and there were always someone to speak English. They gave excellent recommendations for food and always made sure that good taxis were available.

The location is for business and a bit of a walk to restaurants, banks and services. Hotel buffet was good and so was the coffee shop.

All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    70
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
8
14
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I am staying for a week in this hotel. I came for a Conference here. Both the hotel and the conference venue provide excellent services. The hotel suite is very comfortable with a hall and bed room. The bath/toilet space is spacious enough and clean. Service is very good. Breakfast is of excellent quality.
I am happy to recommend this hotel to a business travaller or family. the Metro is about ten minutes away.

Room Tip: South side view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 days while my partner attended a conference at NTNU and were very pleased with the hotel. Because we requested a king-sized bed, we were upgraded to a large two-room suite with a sliding frosted-glass Japanese-style screen separating the rooms. The bed was on the firm side, but acceptable. In the living room was a sofa, an easy chair, and a desk, and we appreciated the mini-fridge. Each day the housekeeping staff brought us new bottles of drinking water and also kept the fresh fruit bowl coming.

The bathroom was good-sized and functional, and we both agreed the shower was one of the best we've ever experienced in a hotel. The room was spotless and housekeeping always slipped in to service the room while we were out without our having to request it.

The included breakfast buffet was huge and filling, with tasty Western and Chinese dishes and lots of fresh fruit. Everything was clearly labeled in Chinese and English, which was helpful. All the staff we interacted with spoke at least some English, and some spoke it excellently, for which we were thankful.

The hotel is in a commercial area with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Yongkang St and Shida Rd are interesting and both within an easy 10-minute walk. There are two 7-Elevens within 5 min of the hotel, and most usefully, the Taipower Building MRT station is an easy 10-minute walk.

We weren't sure what to expect from this hotel, but we were thoroughly pleased and would happily stay there again were we given the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbyshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Enjoyable stay at Howard Civil. Don't make mistake I made and confuse with Howard Plaza, which is where I first went to check in. Fortunately, quick taxi transfer and I had finally arrived!

Friendly and helpful staff, albeit not conversant in English so had to repeat oneself a few times.

The room was cleaned and comfortable, good size bed.

We used taxi to get around but metro close by, also near shops and fast food outlets.

We discovered Indian restaurant with the best 'home away from home' curry at Khana Khazana near Hyatt hotel in Keeling road.

Facilities adequate and I enjoyed using the pool.

Thanks Howard Civil for a great first-time visit to Taiwan!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Simple, clean and comfortable hotel in central Taipei, near the Central University. Nice Asian meals in a bubbling buffet, but they also have a Café for drinks. Friendly reception desk. They have a well-equiped fitness room and pool indoor.

Room Tip: back rooms in top floors, it is close to one main avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia_Lage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here on business. Nice room, good wireless service, nice breakfast included, good relatively large swimming pool. Near National Taiwan University, 15 minute walk to Din Tai Fung. Recommend it, if the location is good for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropics_in_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and found it very comfortable with centrally located and closed to MTR and Markets. Very economical....

The rooms were great, clean and Nice bathroom, the Chinese Food is great! Staff is cooperative and polite....... and lots of other facilities which I enjoyed!

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the west are sunny with beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana Riaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Li Yuan Hotel
#326 of 568 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Wanhua District
Inhouse Residence
Inhouse Residence
#280 of 568 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good More Hotel - Shida
#381 of 568 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Grand Mayfull Hotel Taipei
#190 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Civil Service International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Civil Service International House

Property: Howard Civil Service International House
Address: No.30, Section 3, Hsinsheng South Road, Daan Dist, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#70 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Civil Service International House 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Also Known As:
Howard Civil Service International Hotel Taipei
Howard International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing