We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK business hotel with excellent location”
Review of United Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
United Hotel
Ranked #175 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Located close to the major business districts, this hotel is functional and caters mostly to business travelers. Room is of an OK standard but could with some refurbishment as there is a slight damp smell to the place. Facilities are average but staff overall are effective and helpful when called upon. Surrounding area has a wide range of conveniences and is a short walk away from zhongxiao dunhua - a major commercial district as well as being very close to an MRT station (Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall)

Recommended for short stays for those who need to be near the CBD area of Xinyi and 101 in particular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelYang888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was in Taipei on business and spent 5 nights at the United. It was perfect. The bed was fantastic specially after a 24 hour flight from Brazil. It is also very central and opposite the Memorial Hall park. l.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank nagurgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One advice: stay away from this hotel! Like other reviewers have noticed, the first thing that hits you when you enter is the smell of mold. That only continues in the room but then mixed with a sewage smell in the bathroom. Due to the single glass-hardly-closing windows, the street noise cannot be blocked from the room. Now that they are building the Taipei Dome, they work day and night. So if you like to enjoy an night filled with construction noise, this is the place to be.
If that wasn't enough, I did not have hot water to shower. Shall I continue? The carpets and sofa were full of stains, the toilet hardly flushed. I stay about 60-70 nights a year in hotel rooms, so I know what value for money can be: certainly not this one.
One positive note: the bed was soft and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Actually, the overall of this hotel is good. It's just 2 mins walking distance to MRT. 10 mins walks to 101 tower as well as lots of local restaurants around the hotel. However, when I was check-in at 16:00, it is not a peak hour. There are 2 staff working at reception. I need to wait 15mins. for check-in. Need to improve.

Room Tip: Higher floor with facing the 101 tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond_Choi1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel and will be my last. The attempt is to be eclectic but it fails miserably. 1st stay it was okay...I think it was on the cusp of less is more trend. The room was spacious and had a huge bathroom with claw tub and full shower. Since the location was good, I guess I overlooked the rest of the property. Plus I spent little time in the actual room.
This time I saw the hotel more clearly. The lobby is drab and boring. Wandering to the room there was a vacuum hiding behind a drape in the hall. You open the window to a slew of apartment windows...I had a claw tub with a shower attachment inside...it was perilous to try and bathe....I dreaded it and almost needed a small ladder to get in and out. The fan ran constantly and it seemed there was no control over the temperature. They had a water shut off for maintenance from 1 AM to 5 AM. That is not a big deal but since you don't sleep much in Asia it was just another minor annoyance. The funny part was they are greeting you and opening the door constantly (a nice touch) BUT when we were actually leaving and getting in the cab there was no one in sight to help us load the luggage. I am perfectly capable of loading luggage but the 2-3 man team just was gone:)
Breakfast was cold for the most part...
On the plus side, The check in staff was delightful and very helpful.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room but make sure you get a room with a separate shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is my second time to visit the hotel. Both times are for business purpose.

Hotel is located next to Sun Yet-Sen Memorial Hall Metro station. You can find the hotel at the Exit A. For tourist, hotel location is good as Sun Yet-Sen Memorial Hall and Taipei 101 are very close to the hotel. There are a lot of food stores and restaurants within your 15 minute walking distance.

Hotel quality is fair. The staff is polite and helpful. The first perception is not good as hotel corridor is old and a little bit dark. The room is old but clean. There is enough space for room and bathroom. It is strange that the size of my room is triangle.

Wifi is available with unique password for each room. Wifi is not stable but you can use the wifi of next room as the password is easy to guess.

The breakfast buffet is okay. There are plenty of food including Western, Chinese and Japanese food. The food is not so warm when I have the breakfast at 8:30. Ham is good but don't expect too much on the food quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquidHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The first thing that hits you as you walk through the doors of this hotel is that it is depressingly dark and dingy and the overwhelming smell of mould! Even though we had pre-paid our hotel bill they asked us for a deposit of NTD $5000 at the reception which they said was in case we used the mini-bar or hotel laundry service. As you walk along the corridor to your room there is an unpleasant smell. The room is reasonable. It looks like it has been recently renovated, however the carpet was stained, the bedding had an awful odour and the wardrobe smelt very unpleasant. The bed was hard and lumpy and the view from the window was of rubbish bins!

The good points - breakfast buffet is nice, dinner was good too. It's near the MRT for easy transport and the lobby staff were helpful getting taxis for us.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
San Want Hotel
#97 of 578 in Taipei
594 reviews
Taipei Charming City Hotel
#194 of 578 in Taipei
79 reviews
Xinyi District
AT Boutique Hotel
AT Boutique Hotel
#284 of 578 in Taipei
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sparkle Hotel
#248 of 578 in Taipei
69 reviews
Pacific Business Hotel
#53 of 578 in Taipei
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Hotel

Address: No.200 Kwang-Fu South Road, Da'an District, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £55 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — United Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your United Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
United Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing