We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Ranked #64 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thank You...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Check in and out in less than 10 mins. Could be due to my late arrival and early departure.

Stayed here for business and had to use THSR Taiwan High Speed Rail, for travel to other state in Taiwan. 10 minutes walk to THSR Taipei Station. Hotel located next to MRT.

Convenient for heading other places for good local Taiwanese food.

You can have a lot of people on the main lobby, but what do you expect from a lobby. But once in the room, your own quiet sanctuary.

Breakfast was great. Even had a small section of food catered for muslim like me.

Since my flight was early, requested for a doggy bag. Provided without issue.

Will be back for sure.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kamal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kamal69,

Thank you for sharing your experience staying with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we certainly welcome you to stay at Sheraton Grande Taipei Hotel again in the future!

Muslim friendly dishes are the latest addition to our all-day-dining restaurant to provide a more diverse selection for all of our guests. Should there be any special needs during your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know!

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    582
    141
    27
    15
See reviews for
252
190
107
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

No recognition of Starwood gold status except given a room on the SPG floor. My room was on the atrium side (east side) where the busy buffet restaurant and the bar are located. This hotel is extremely busy with lots of locals dining there, so quite noisy. The noise level is further exacerbated when it echos through the atrium. To make it worse, there was loud music and singing from the bar in the evening until midnight. Checked with the front desk and was told this happens every night. I can clearly hear all the noises inside the room. The A/C in the room was pretty noisy too. But I kept it on in order to hear less of the noise from the atrium.

The room itself has all the required amenities and equipment, but some need updates. The beds are firm, not as comfortable as other SPG hotels I've stayed. The WiFi service was slow and sporadic. I needed to agree to the service T&C via browser every time I used it. The gym, again, has all the equipment, but the flooring desperately needs an update. The roof top swimming pool is not heated, not useful in cold days.

Make sure you check the bill carefully when you check out. I had a charge for limousine service on my bill which I never used. No closing bill was given out until check-out. I was in a rush to head to the airport, so didn't see this charge until later. When I phoned the hotel, I was told that 'if this was an error, then a refund would be made'. I was not happy that the hotel basically first assumed I was lying. They recognized the mistake and refunded me the charge the next day.

The buffet breakfast had a lot of choices, both hot and cold. However, the quality was on the mediocre side in comparison to other similar ranking hotels in Taipei.

On the good side, the room was very clean. The hotel is right next to a metro/subway station, and the main train station. You could also walk to Ximending in 30 mins. So the location is very convenient.

Overall, a disappointing stay. I guess if I had been given the room on the non-atrium side, my experience would've been a bit better one. The hotel is a bit cheaper than other similar ranking hotels in Xing Yi district, but still considered expensive in Taipei. For all the faults I experienced, the price I paid for, and compare to the other hotels I've stayed in Taipei, I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Request the rooms on the non-atrium side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la2londonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear la2londonguy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Checking in a room with noise at night can leave a negative lasting impression which will overshadow the rest of the trip. We will ask the Lounge to lower the volume during wee hours. Your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please email us at sheraton@sheratongrandetaipei.com.tw. We would be happy to help however we can!

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip. Hotel was very well located with excellent staff and service. Close to subway and plenty of taxis available. Room had an ironing board and iron, not always available in Asia. Room also had a line in the bath to hang clothes, appreciated that since I was on a three week trip.

Will certainly look to return to this hotel on my next trip to Taipei.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank seeyouinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear seeyouinthesun,

Welcome to Sheraton Grande Taipei Hotel! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable 3-weeks here and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again! Please feel free to check our brand website for special offers when you're planning your next trip!

Warm regards and look forward to seeing you soon,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordt, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here. Friendly staff great restaurants and nice bar. Good hotelroom and location in city is good.
Unfortunately I could not stay longer fully booked.....
I went to Regent looks bigger but I would recommend this hotel.
Wifi was good in all area's of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Arnold W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for not being able to extend your stay here due to room availability. However, we are very pleased to hear that you find our room and services satisfactory!

We look forward to seeing you again and please feel free to take look at our special room packages when you're planning your next trip to Taipei!

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
321 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We are supposed to be Starwood Preferred guests yet we are not on SPG Floor. The rooms (yes we have two) are rather drab and dreary... Ok if you like beige and brown.... We dropped in at the bar to have a glass or two of champagne to celebrate our wedding anniversary to be told they were full (reservations apparently but there were a lot of empty tables nearly an hour later). Complained to front desk with regard to the above issues and were met with indifference. This is our first visit to Taipei and we are not impressed with this hotel. No doubt there will be a standard form reply to this review but it would have been good to have a more meaningful response during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Jan E,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel and that our associates were not able to address your concerns prior to your departure. Please allow me to address some of the issues you mentioned in the review. We always try our best to arrange SPG floor rooms for SPG guests. However, the hotel was running full during the past week, so our associates were not able to make such arrangements for you. If during the length of your stay, a SPG room became available, they would certainly change the room for you!

Regarding the seats at the bar, all of our restaurants are extremely popular among local guests, thus advanced reservation is highly suggested. Restaurants normally hold the seat for 10 minutes and if the guest does not show up, they will open it up for walk-in guests. This may be the reason why you saw empty tables an hour later. For future reference, guests can make a reservation online through our brand website Special Offers page!

Should there be anything else you would like to share with us, please feel free to drop us an email at sheraton@sheratongrandetaipei.com.tw

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I several times use sheraton for private trip, and It is good to surely receive service at certain level.
If there's convenience store / break first hall staff were a bit more attentive, I would give 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Karenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear A_Karenin,

Welcome back to Sheraton Grande Taipei. Thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel and we appreciate the comments you've shared with us. Breakfast period is usually a busy time for us and we appreciate your patience and understanding. Nonetheless, it is not an excuse for being inattentive. We will pass your feedback regarding breakfast venue staff attitude with our outlet team for training and improvement!

Happy Monday and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have been lucky enough to stay at this hotel twice. It difficult to find any negatives about the place. The staff are great, rooms also and the location cant really be bettered.

Good free wifi, fantastic Sheraton beds and everything else you would expect from a Sheraton.

Special mention goes to the breakfast which is stunning and the Pizza Pub in the basement which feels far too much fun to be a bar of a corporate hotel.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Marraminga,

Thank you for giving us such good feedback. We are happy you had a great time during your stay and that you enjoyed dining at Kitchen 12 and Pizza Pub! Please feel free to check out our Food and Beverages promotions on our website when you're planning your next trip to Taipei. We have some exciting events coming up in the next few months!

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#31 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#26 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#29 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
W Taipei
#16 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
The Westin Taipei
#72 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Address: No.12, Section 1, Zhongxiao East Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#20 Business Hotel in Taipei
#27 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#39 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 688 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites offer guests a wide selection of room types. The Executive Floors offer executive travelers all the services and facilities they require. In addition, they have to their own Executive Lounge. For our Starwood Preferred Guests, we offer three exclusive floors. All rooms feature high-speed internet access and in-room safe. Butler service is provided for Director Rooms and above as well as all Executive Floor rooms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Taipei
Taipei Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing