We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Month of Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #15 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Month of Bliss”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I lived in the Far Eastern Hotel for a month many years ago. I have also, over the years, gotten to know the hotel management. This hotel deserves its stellar ratings. They are earned via hard work and a true dedication to the customer. You can't go wrong with this hotel. Stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms that face An He Road offer a less spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    342
    74
    22
    13
See reviews for
313
259
112
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A lot of friends asked me about why staying in such an aged hotel this time in Taipei, since there are so many new luxury properties. I also had a question mark in my mind before the trip. But it turned out to be a wonderful stay.

Yes the room has the same look since 1995, but they up-keep of the hotel is great. We booked a Plaza Suite, the Taipei 101 view took our breath away right the moment we walked into the suite. Classy look, everything works and super strong water pressure in the shower, great soundproofing that you don't hear any traffic at all. Service is simply smooth and caring. I understand that hotel is doing a huge renovation project, new rooms will be on the market in late spring 2014. But don't worry about the renovation, because you won't even notice it when you stay. They closed the lower part of the hotel at the moment and you dont hear a thing.

Had one drink at the Marco Polo lounge and a great dinner at the Shanghai Pavilion, both offered great value for money.

Like a a lot of other travellers mentioned, the Horizon Club is the right place to be to have a great breakfast with the view of 101 at the same time a quiet place to have conversation.

Room Tip: Plaza Suites ending #16 offer Taipei 101 view from the living room to the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Comfort, attention to detail and efficient service, as I always expect and get from a Shangri-La hotel. A problem about my reservation was sorted out quickly and efficiently and I was adequately compensated for the trouble with no hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank bj666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's been a long time since I've been back to Taipei and I was thinking of staying at the one of many boutique type hotels in the city. Thinking that you really can not go wrong staying at a Shangri-La, I finally decided Shangri-La it is. This property definitely does not disappoint. From the ever gracious English speaking doormen who by the way gives great directions and advice to the very pleasant greeters who meet and assist you. You know your in a Shangri-La just by taking a whiff of the aroma when you enter the front lobby and here in the Far Eastern you get that same scent. The rooms are spacious (try to get a view of 101), the walk-in closets are just right,and the walk-in shower with separate tub bathrooms are just huge. Head up to the rooftop where you get a warm pool and Jacuzzi even though it's winter time. I have been to hotel pool jacuzzis where the jets are way too weak, but not in this hotel. It's a perfect way to relax before you go to bed because it closes at 10pm. The 38th floor also has a pretty good Italian restaurant and the Marco Polo bar/lounge next door has a pretty good view that can't be beat anywhere in town.

The Lingchiang St night market is about a 10-15min walk and along the road going there I saw a shabu-shabu, a Thai restaurant, a pizzeria and some busy bars. Right outside the coffee shop door is the CitiAir bus stop that takes you to and from the airport for NT$145 and that in itself is a big convenience. On my next trip to Taipei, you will definitely see me here again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TroyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear TroyAsia,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your recent staying experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room, the fantastic view from our rooftop pool, and are satisfied with our service. We are also thrilled to know that you had the chance to dine at Marco Polo Restaurant which is one of my favorite Italian restaurants in town. It is also nice to know you had walked around the neighborhood to explore the fun of Taipei! We look forward to your return so we may provide you with another memorable Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just like the city as soon as you arrive here you can't help but feeling totally relaxed by the calmness. Nothing fancy and showy, just understated and practical, exactly how things should be. Love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hk
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Staffs are very friendly n helpful, excellent services. The club Lounge is good with food and staffs are extremely nice and helpful. Very good and quick services. Rooms are big and have lots of spaces for children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank MicLoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here 12/18-22/13, our first visit to Taipei. This is an impressive hotel and I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Taipei. We had access to the Horizon Lounge and it is outstanding in every respect, including a chef which assures that the breakfasts and evening snacks are excellent, and incredibly gracious guest services staff who assure that everybody is well taken care of. The hotel itself and the rooms are attractive, every member of the staff is at the top of their game, and this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenRo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear KenRo14,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to learn that you like the Horizon Club Lounge, the room and the service provided by our team members. Thanks again for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#20 of 571 in Taipei
1,826 reviews
W Taipei
#11 of 571 in Taipei
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#33 of 571 in Taipei
2,284 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#51 of 571 in Taipei
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing