We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #16 of 568 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I had the such a nice stay in the Far Eastern, all the stuff were amazing and very helpful in any way.
It really felt like going home rather then a hotel and this is very important to me.
The hotel is maintained really well and it is defiantly worth the price.
Highly recommend to everybody and can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadribc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear kadribc,

Thank you so much for staying in Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei and shared your review with us. We are honored to know that you had a fantastic stay experience, especially the heart warming service from our team members. We sincerely look forward to seeing you back to your home away from home here in Taipei again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel Na Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    337
    74
    22
    13
See reviews for
308
252
111
548
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Shangri- La Taipei was a perfect first experience for this traveler in coming to Taipei. Car service, attention to details, hotel and restaurant services well all first rate, easy to work with and affordable!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ron K,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent staying experience with us! It is uplifting to know that you had a fabulous stay and liked so many aspects at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for your second trip to Taipei soon!

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Taipei Shangri-La cannot remain as part of the group for very long. The Horizon Club floor rooms are very old & the electrics in the room are at least 30 plus years old. The Horizon lounge reminds me of third world airline lounge, poor quality of drinks, food & newspaper & reading materials

Room Tip: If i plug inmy lap top & mobile to charge the plug point doesn't work or if the bedside ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, Owner at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Gerard R,

Thank you for taking your valuable time giving us your feedback. We greatly appreciate your comments that help us improve. In the mean time, I am pleased to update you that we have been releasing our newly renovated rooms back into inventory and hopefully you will have the pleasure of trying one of the new rooms for your next visit. I am always grateful to received direct feedback from my guests as it enables us to continuously improve our product and services. On behalf of my teams in Taipei, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel located about 10 mins walk to metro. Surrounding has many eateries and there is a EZ5 bar across the street which have live band in the night. There is a shopping mall next to hotel. All things you can expect for a 5-star hotel. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank lydiaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Was here last week for 4 days.checked in was smooth n fast. It was quite dissapointing the room did not come in with breakfast. The room was quite reasonable size with a side view of Taipei 101. It was clean, conservative decor but nothing great to represent an image of Shangri La. The LCD in the bathroom was under used as most time i spent outdoor. The maintainance man attended my room promptly after a short electrical circuit when off. The rooftop swimming pool equipped with an impressive view of surrounding area. The was a nearby small night market if people wanted to taste local delicacies at a cheaper price. MRT Station within walking distance and plenty of taxi at front door as well. Be warn.... it is a distance away from most civilization, to 101 Taipei on foot take roughly 30 minutes. Overall, nothing extremely great about this Shangri La... But i have no experience to compare with others...At the price we paid ...i may consider others better location hotel next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HayatiYaakup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear HayatiYaakup,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you found the rooms well-equipped and the view from both room and rooftop awesome. I would like to use the opportunity to update you that we have been releasing our newly renovated rooms back into inventory and hopefully you will have the pleasure of trying one of the new rooms for your next visit. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again so to offer you a genuine Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Excellent service as you would expect from Shangri La. Our Horizon Club suite was very nice.
I did not think the Horizon Club lounge was up to the same standard as other Shangri La hotels I have stayed at, and I am a Shangri La fan. The nibbles were a little boring and not a lot of it. The lounge feels a bit tired.
During our stay we had lunch in Shang Palace and dinner in Marco Polo, both were excellent and I highly recommend.
Unfortunately our trip was short so we didn't get a chance to get to the rooftop pool or the fitness centre.
I think we will try somewhere else next time in Taipei, just to get a comparison.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear ShaunW1968,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you were satisfied with our service and had the chance to dine in our amazing Cantonese restaurant- Shang Palace and Italian restaurant- Marco Polo. Our rooftop pool is a MUST GO spot in Taipei city and I hope you won't miss it next time. In the mean time, I am pleased to update you that we have been releasing our newly renovated rooms back into inventory and hopefully you will have the pleasure of trying one of the new rooms for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again so to offer you another great Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place is not cheap and the kind of service and accommodations they have is expected for this money. Yet it feels good anyway.
Location is not exactly central but the subway is a short walk away and it is literally 10-15 min to get more or less anywhere. And taxi is always at the doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crocodile67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
W Taipei
#9 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Regent Taipei
#26 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#29 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 568 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing