We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving for 5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #16 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Deserving for 5 Stars”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Friendliest, most resourceful and accommodating hotel staffs ever experienced. Especially on the requests for brollies, kids items and requests for directions and sightseeing suggestions.

Clean, neat and comfortable room. Especially the newly renovated rooms. Quiet, well-shelled walls and corridor, nothing short of a classy slew of corridor layout and decor as well. Very comfy beds, bed linen and pillows.

Experienced 2 different Deluxe rooms setup, with one in relatively awkward layout; with the couch just below the TV, which seems weird. But with the standardized furnishings, might seem to be running out of choice.

PERHAPS a nicer touch would be providing free shuttles to popular MRT and/or tourist spots. The MRT (Liuzhangli) Station is quite a walk. Especially with young kids and during heavy downpours.

overall experience? as my rating reveals. EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Request for room(s) facing the Taipei 101 skyscraper. Excellent view during clear days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kairos_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kairos_75,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing this excellent review with us! It is such a great thing to know that you had a wonderful time during your stay. It is our honor to know that you liked our newly renovated guestrooms, the well-arranged amenities, and the attentive service provided by our team members. In regards to the free shuttle service, it is our pleasure to inform you that we have shuttles during weekend for commuting between our hotel and the MRT stations. We hope that you will have chance to use the service during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again to experience another lovely stay and explore more fun in both our hotel and this city!

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    353
    75
    22
    14
See reviews for
333
274
117
588
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was going to write a review just about the restaurant rather than bring the entire hotel into this, but seeing as how we have been to three different outlets and they were all equally disappointing, I am going to assume this is a hotel problem and address as such. Several colleagues and I ate in the Chinese restaurant a few months ago. The food, prices, and especially service were a real disappointment. Last night, we decided to try Marco Polo, the supposed Italian restaurant. To be fair, most of the food was quite good. The appetizers were amazing. The main courses were good for the most part. I was a bit disappointed in the portion size of my "large" pasta with shrimp and mushrooms. There was one shrimp in the entire dish which felt a bit sparing on the restaurant's part. Furthermore, there are two sizes on the menu and I ordered the larger thinking it would probably be too big for me. It was what I expected the small to be. I was full, but I can't imagine what the small must look like. And does the small come with 1/2 a shrimp?!?!?
The service was pretty terrible in both Marco Polo and later in the bar. I tried to order the bruschetta from the menu I was handed only to be told that was only available in the bar! Why are they handing me a menu of food not available? I also specifically asked how many pieces were in some of the appetizers as we were sharing, and I was misinformed. The server could have asked the chef to up the portion to what she had promised at no extra charge, but instead they chose to wait until service time and serve us too little food and ask if we wanted to wait AND pay for another portion. If this conversation would have happened at the time of order, it would not have been an issue.
Rather than go into all the example of service failures, I can sum it up by saying that the service was mostly unavailable. This was surprising because both the Italian restaurant and the lounge were both overstaffed and not very busy. But despite the heavy staff, they forgot things when asked, missed things in orders, and were just sloppy overall. It was not very attentive service. I kept my mouth shut only because we were in a larger group and had some new staff with us. I didn't want to make a scene. But some in the group did make comments that the service was lacking. This is embarrassing as we were supposed to be treating our new staff to something special! Three strikes and you are out I am afraid Shangri-La!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchanlifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear jchanlifat,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on Tripadvisor. We regret that our service in some of our restaurant outlets didn't meet your expectations. This is indeed not our service standard and an immediate investigation and action plan have been conducted for further improvement. We appreciate if you could send us your booking information to f&b.tpe@shangri-la.com so we can make a further contact with you. Also, please feel free to contact me via marcel.holman@shangri-la.com if you wish to discuss further matters. Again, thank you for giving us a opportunity to improve ourselves. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Marcel Na Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Opted for the Horizon level - large room, walk-in closet, beautiful marble & granite surfaces. Horizon club was nearly deserted - but full of tempting desserts in the late evening. Breakfast was awesome - seared foie gras atop a tenderloin filet and the best papaya away from the farm in Maui. In-room checking and clothes pressing also were very nice. Added bonus - included WiFi on the hotel's van to/from TPE.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have now started feeling more comfortable staying at Shangri-la more so owing its courteous staff, caring chefs and an excellent ambience. I had an opportunity to use the Roof-top swimming pool and jacuzzi which was very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear manojk9,

Thank you for staying with us during your time in Taipei. It is uplifting to know that you had a fabulous stay and liked so many aspects of our hotel, especially the attentive service provided by our team members. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The view from the rooftop is amazing. We stayed several nights and the horizon club is worth it! The breakfast was so tasty and worth every bit of the extra cost, not to mention the lounge has all sorts of refreshments during the day and a great spread in the evening. We got a view of the 101 and the service was impeccable. They have every type of pillow you could possibly want and all you have to do is request it and it's there in 10 minutes. There is a great open market across the street if you want to pop in and pick up fresh Taiwanese fruits. The staff is extremely helpful and professional. It is a beautiful hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a horizon club room to guarantee a good view and access to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear jennfromcali,

Great appreciation to your lovely review on us! We are thrilled to know that you love so many aspects of our hotel, including our location, the Horizon Club Lounge benefits, the stunning city view from both room and the rooftop pool, and the attentive service provided by our team members. It is our great honor to receive such a wonderful recommendation from our precious guests like you. Thank you again for staying with us, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk CT
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed at various hotels worldwide, but this was one of the best. the service of the staff was great. I highly suggest upgrading, so you have access to the horizon lounge. Its a little far from TPE airport, so I highly suggest you set up a car directly with the hotel, they do a great job with this, and its pretty cheap considering its over 30 minutes to the hotel, by taxi. I am hooked for ever

Room Tip: upgrade to the horizon floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwalkDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear NorwalkDan1,

Thank you so much for staying with us and shared such a great review with us. We are thrilled be recognized as The Best in your list. It is also our honor to know that you had a fantastic staying experience and were impressed by the service from our team members. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights over Easter, had an upgrage to executive lounge, very good service. The housekeeping gave us extra water & pillow which I requested during last year's stay, a pleasant surprise! The Peking Duck at the restaurant, pre-ordered was exceptionally good. Overall another great expereience.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floor has great view of the city & mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheekyChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#22 of 576 in Taipei
1,975 reviews
W Taipei
#12 of 576 in Taipei
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#35 of 576 in Taipei
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing