We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay from the Beginning to the End”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #19 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La Taipei for five nights during our visits to Taiwan. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The hotel is pretty centrally located and it took a short cab ride to almost everywhere for the older part of the city such as train station on the west as well as the newer development such as Taipei 101 in the east. There are two MRT stations about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

The restaurants and room service were good. There are several excellent restaurants in the hotel, serving excellent Japanese, Italian Chinese and Western cuisines. We particularly enjoyed the Peking duck at the Shang Palace.

What set this hotel apart was the service. We were greeted by the hotel staff the moment we stepped out of the custom at the airport and lead to our car. The driver was professional and courteous and the car transporting us from the airport to the hotel was a roomy BMW equipped Wifi. From the gentleman at the front desk, the concierge, the room service and housekeeping staff, everyone was helpful, attentive and courteous. I was sick during my stay in the hotel, the room service staff, when picking up the dishes after I finished the meal, brought me a complimentary pot of hot tea, which was really thoughtful and much appreciated. The guest service also called to make sure I had everything I needed and offered to bring me tea and porridge. When I checked out on my birthday, I received a generous box of the most delicious chocolate and chocolate chip cookies, which made the chocoholic birthday girl very happy. The car took us to the airport was stocked with coffee, sandwiches and breakfast pastries at 5:00 a.m. and ready for us to catch our earlier flight out.

Even though I felt sick during the trip, it was a nice stay at the Shangri- La Taipei from the beginning to the end.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear SunnyT1969,

Thank you for sharing this uplifting review with us! We are thrilled to know that you and your family had a pleasant stay, enjoyed a lot including our convenient location, the great food in our different restaurants and our flawless service. The roasted duck in our Shang Palace is also my personal favorite in Taipei city and I am glad that you had the chance to taste it. It’s sad to know that you were sick during your visit; however, I am glad that our team members were able to serve you with the Shangri-La hospitality from the heart and helped to ease your uncomfortable. Your compliment towards our team members have been conveyed which will definitely motivate the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to provide you another wonderful Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Location: a bit far from MRT, about 15 mins walk to liew zhang lee station; but annex is a small shopping mall, basement area of d mall is food court n supermarket; next to hotel there is a family mart convenient store; behind hotel got few massage parlor n chic restaurant
Lobby: under reno from june till sept, d temporary lobby is quite small n congested
Room: size ok, refurbished, dissapoited without equip wz nespresso machine for a 5 stars hotel; bed a bit soft for me but d comfortor is thick n soft; bathroom does not have bidet, which is very uncommon for a 5 stars hotel in taipei! WIFI speed satisfactory
Need improvement: turn down service so so, never place slipper properly, never help to organize our things in place; staff need to greet guest at all times!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank cpchock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear cpchock

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your recent staying experience with us. It is our pleasure to know that our convenient location has made your trip easier. In regards to your comments on the bidet, please be informed that currently bidet is only available in our Plaza Suite Room type and above. However, your comment will be taken into future planning consideration and we will be sure to keep your preference and make the best arrangement for you in your next stay. Your other comments have also been past to related department and immediate investigation and an action plan have been conducted for improvement. We would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to improve ourselves. If there is any further subjects you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: marcel.holman@shangri-la.com. We look forward to your return to provide you with another great Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed my stay. Even though the lobby is under construction and the rooftop pool was not in service, this hotel has staff that will bend over backward to service you. One of the better fitness facilities in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Allen P
Thank you for taking your time to leave us such amazing comment on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our health club during your stay and was impressed by our attentive service. Our annual maintenance for the rooftop pool has finished and is ready for our guests daily from 6am to 10pm. I hope that you will have another chance to visit our stunning pool next time. To enhance our customer experience, our lobby in currently under refurbishment and we apologize for any inconvenience that might cause to you. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a one night visit on a business trip. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was very nice. The gym was great with lots of cardio machines. Staff were helpful with directions and provided the high level of service expected from this chain.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank mphtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms are being renovated, you want a renovated room. The older rooms have insufficient a/c, a poor TV and other undesirable features. The renovated rooms are fantastic. The furnishings are first rate, the bathroom is spacious and well designed. The bedding is comfortable. The wifi is reliable and good enough to stream video. The only flaw in the room is that the desk lacks any power outlets for laptops or other devices. The breakfast is very good and offers plenty of options.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank CraigF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Craig F

Thank you for sharing your wonderful staying experience with us. It is uplifting to know that the renovated room is up to you expectation. A nice and comfortable room is what we always aim to provide to all our precious guests. We are also glad to know that our free WiFi service has made your stay even more convenient. In regards to your comments on the power outlet, we have brought the issue to our refurbish planning team and immediate implementation will be made soon. We appreciate your comments and truly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The level of service was outstanding - very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Fantastic room too - huge and very luxurious. I used the facilities on the 36th floor particularly for breakfast which was excellent and you have a wonderful view from there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Will come back, for sure. Stayed there 2 nights, experienced outstanding warm welcome, including a drink, several informations and a smile. Great hotel, good location, friendly staff, top rooms. Public bus stops in front of hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoneroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Simoneroeder,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so glad to know that you had a great time staying with us. All the wonderful experience that you explored in our hotel including our convenient location, well arranged room and our service is exactly what we are aiming to provide to all our lovely guests. We appreciate your recommendation and truly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#17 of 578 in Taipei
2,215 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#28 of 578 in Taipei
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Taipei
#18 of 578 in Taipei
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £201 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing