We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with lovely staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #17 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel with lovely staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a superb stay at this hotel. Their staffs are super attentive. Rooms are spacious, comfy with the stunning view of the Tapei 101 buildings. Even the bathrooms are spacious too. Love their swimming pool at roof floor, had a great experience watching the moon and stars while enjoying the jacuzzi.

The staffs at the horizon club lounge were very attentive that they remembered our special breakfast order and served our needs every morning during the 4 nights stays there. We were also amazed and surprised by a plate of complimentary welcome cakes that placed inside our rooms during one afternoon returning to the hotel from outside.

The staffs were informative and shared with us the ideas of what places to visit while giving us the morning greetings. Feeling warm and homey while staying there. Will come back again.

Room Tip: better view at upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Win555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Win555,

Thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei as your home away from home. Your comments are highly appreciated. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our spacious rooms, recreation facilities and attentive services. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    334
    72
    21
    13
See reviews for
290
246
109
534
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent experience with the hotel staff and accommodation

Rooms:
The room allocated to me has one of the best view. Full view of 101 building .
The room furnishing and the amenities used are five star rating.

Services:
hotel staffs are very polite and pleasant and willing to help and make your stay comfortable . An example : I was enquiring on a restaurant location the staff was very knowledgeable and based on pic could identified the restaurant that I am enquiring on and without asking he helped to make a reservation. Another excellent experience was at the hotel cafe which has good variety of food and beside that the staff were attentive . My colleague was sick so requested for ginger drink but was not available on the menu . The staff we spoke to , took her initiative to request the chef to prepare the ginger drink and knowing that we need to rush for our meeting she has kindly also packed extra ginger tea for my colleague to bring along with her.

Excellent !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsSeoTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear wsSeoTho,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time sharing your stay experience with us. It is uplifting to know that you are satisfied our facilities and services. Your compliments are highly appreciated and truly encouraging. Once again, we thank you for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our third stay as a family, and it was very nice to be recognised and welcomed back. The Hotel is going through some renovation it didn't bother us at all, the lobby is a little crowded but they are doing the best they can. My daughters loved the pool after a day out sightseeing, shopping and eating. The horizon lounge is enjoyable and the snacks and drinks are nice. The service was very good throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Taipei 101 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstonestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great hotel, great staff, great service.
Especially enjoy the breakfast buffet and the wonderful staff service!
Fitness Center is great, and really enjoyed tne sauna and steam rooms.
and that awesome rooftop pool!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank DarrylTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is currently under renovation - ask for a room away from the noise. The Horizon lounge is delightful as are the new rooms. However, I experienced issues with shower (inadequate pressure and hot water) and air conditioning (moved twice). The lobby area is congested due to construction. The hotel team is lovely, however, I wish they had thought out a better experience during renovations.

Room Tip: Ask for a "newly renovated" room away from the construction zone. Check the AC before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear smdath,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our Horizon Lounge and the newly renovated room. Meanwhile, your comments about our facilities during hotel renovation are highly appreciated and we've worked closely with the concerned teams. We truly look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is my fifth time to Shangri-La in Taipei, and I'm still happy to come back. There is renovation going on at the moment (July 2014), but they manage around it quite well.

The rooms are large and well apportioned, the restaurants and lounge are very good and the gym is world class.

Service is top-notch in everything from check-in to assistance with small matters, such a restaurant bookings or explaining directions to taxi drivers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear sundboell,

Thank you very much for your continuous support and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and services in many different aspects. Your kind compliments will encourage us to keep up with the high standard to serve all valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

With many new hotels in Taipei, we have not stayed in Far Eastern Plaza for ages. We had this family trip in July and my aged parents had experience of hitting sharp-edged bed frames in modern hotels. I decided to go back to traditional 5-star hotel and thought of Far Eastern Plaza. We had a total of 8 of us and stayed in 4 rooms, some in executive rooms and some in superior rooms.

The lobby was much smaller than I could remember. Later then I found out that they are renovating the lobby and blocked off a big part of it.

The rooms were gorgeous, even the superior rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. The executive rooms were big. We just love it. Again, I found out that the rooms we stayed were newly renovated and they are now renovating the upper floors. They keep the old luxury instead of moving to the simplistic modern deco. Well done!

Buffet breakfast was excellent. The spread is wide, from western to Japanese, Taiwanese and Cantonese. They even serve freshly squeezed fruit juices.

Service was excellent, from all levels of staff that we came across. One morning, we walked into the lift at around 9:30am. There were some other guests in the lift and a bell staff was standing next to the lift entrance. When we entered, he immediately greeted us and asked if we were going to breakfast. We said yes and he pressed the 6/F button for us promptly. This is the attentiveness that I value.

This is the one thing I would recommend for improvement: the hotel seemed to be environmental friendly. They used biodegradable materials for bathroom amenities and suggested guests to reuse towels by placing them on towel racks. However, when I hang my towels on towel rack, they still replaced them.

Even though it is not near the shopping district, it is now my top choice of hotel in Taipei.

Room Tip: They have connected rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeleineKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear 甘 M,

Thank you for taking your valuable time sharing a good staying experience with us. We are thrilled to know that our renovated rooms are up to your satisfaction, and also it’s our pleasure that you enjoyed our attentive services, these are what we aim to provide to our precious guests. In regards to what you mentioned about the bathroom amenities, your comments have been past to concerned team members. Thank you for your encouragement and feedback which give us opportunities to further enhance ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Regent Taipei
#29 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#28 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing