We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service for a five-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #14 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service for a five-star hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in a suite room for two nights (before and after my wedding ceremony). Because my fiance (now my husband) would like to ensure that we got a good view on this special occasion (the first night after getting married), he called in advance and asked the staff if it is possible to put us on the highest floor within the floor range of the same room type. However, the staff said that they need to arrange the rooms on the check-in date and could not help.

A few days later, my fiance called again and asked if they could provide us tea pot and some cups for one morning. We explained that we would have a few guests in the room for about an hour on the wedding day. However, the staff turned us down with the reason that " because you do not hold your wedding banquet in our hotel." This reason shows that it is not that they could not help, but that they were not willing to help us.

Even before checking in, our requests have been repeated turned down. The staff showed no intension to help us even we have mentioned that it is a special occasion for us. The service at the breakfast buffet was not at all good either. I wonder why it would be called a five-star hotel without good service. We were too busy to cancel the hotel and book another one because we were too busy preparing our wedding. But we would not choose this hotel again due to the impression of poor service of this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breeze1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    345
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
321
264
117
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

My family and I stayed 6 nights in the hotel.

Location: Though not as convenient as others, but it is within walking distance to the nearest MRT station ( even with 2 young children in tow). There is a 24hr convenient stall nearby and taix is abundant.

Service: Everything is really great. From the front desk to the chamber help. They took the initiative to stock my room with more mineral water and provide more writing materials for my kids. They even suggest places for us to bring the kids and also make reservations for popular restaurants on our behalf. First class.

Food: The breakfast buffet is great. They have everything from oriental to western etc. yummy.

Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurf077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is one of the better hotels in Taipei, and priced accordingly. Its location is relatively convenient, with metro stations and airport bus stops within walking distance. The area is upscale and clean, but rather quiet at night, with few restaurants in the vicinity.

Due to the building's odd shape (a cylinder flanked by two L's, room shape and size vary widely, probably resulting in differing reviews. I was assigned one of the smaller L shaped units, which nevertheless made good use of the available space, with most notably a large and posh black marble bathroom, and a walk-in closet. The room was comfortable and quiet, without much of a view from the 20th (out of 39) floors.

The building's footprint is rather small, resulting in cramped public areas. There is an adjacent upscale shopping mall.

I was surprised that one of the bell staff at the door spoke virtually no English.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hp1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in Deluxe room.
Room tired and in need of modernisation. Couldnt believe that the room had no multiplug sockets and you have to ask the front desk for a an adpator. TV set looks about 20 years old. Whatever happened to flat screens?
Bathroom is best part of the room. Black marble and good shower and bath.
Location not great. Although it is downtown, really need get a taxi unless you want a longish walk to the MRT.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blademan940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed here for one night as part of a very short layover enroute to Bali. We got a very good rate for an executive suite with access to the horizon club.
Checkin staff's attitude was alright, but did not highlight the fact that I have club access.
The room was very spacious as advertised, but we were shocked to find that the TV in the living room was still one of the ancient 15 inch thick back ones with poor resolution. But apart from this the suite was fairly well appointed, and the bathroom was great with a TV built adjacent to the bathtub. The bathroom amenities were good as well.
The horizon club's staff were extremely friendly and helpful, but the food and drinks offerings were slightly below my expectations, having been to similar offerings by other hotels I've stayed around the world. The club seems like a very empty airline lounge instead.
The location of the hotel isn't the best around--about a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station, although the metro tickets were cheap, we often found ourselves taking the taxi back to the hotel instead. The nearest department store (SOGO) and the local food stalls are a good 20minute (walk +metro 3 stations) or a good 30-45 minute walk.

Overall we found this to be a good hotel, with fine staff , but certainly not a 5 star hotel due to the dated in room technologies and the not so convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My wife and I have had many pleasant stays at this hotel in the past decade.

The hotel's hallmarks of efficient, courteous and responsive service have been retained, as has the large luxury hotel ambience. Its restaurants are still very popular and we enjoyed an excellent meal at the Shanghai Pavilion.

Its rooms will be familiar to any former guest: large, comfortable, with ensuite bathroom and the usual amenities. Overall, the decor has aged very well but the lack of electricity outlets for laptops, mobile phone and camera chargers, etc, shows its age. Particularly irksome is that I could not find any electricity outlet near the bed, making it impossible to use the laptop while reclining on comfortable pillows. Also, the odd angle of the TV cabinet harks to days of cathode ray tubes rather than today's flat panel technology.

Nonetheless, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel seems to be holding its own amidst the plethora of boutique hotels now available in Taipei.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We moved into shangri la far eastern after three not so enjoyably nights at Grand Hyatt, and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, and bathroom was nice. They give you complimentary fruit in addition to the free water every day. There was also a small sofa in the room where you can chill and have a cup of tea in the afternoon.

There are also loads of nice restaurants in the far eastern shopping mall, and we went there for light lunch a few times. We particularly liked the Korean restaurant and the Japanese noodles place.

We would definitely stay there again if I go to Taipei for biz trip next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#20 of 571 in Taipei
1,874 reviews
W Taipei
#11 of 571 in Taipei
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#34 of 571 in Taipei
2,320 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#45 of 571 in Taipei
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing