We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taipei the Japanese way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Ranked #50 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A very Japanese style hotel .
Service is excellent but the rooms are rather small.
Bathrooms too ..
Fair location close to LV or Gucci but not so close from the main shopping districts.
100% smoke free hotel .
The Chinese restaurant is good for lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vittoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share a comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our service and Ming Court Cantonese Restaurant.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International operating under JAL Hotels. Established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

First of all, we appreciate your recognition of our staff’s excellent service. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Moreover, thank you for patronizing our Cantonese Restaurant Ming Court, which features a vast dim sum and a la carte menu presented by our chef from Hong Kong. We also recommend our authentic Japanese cuisine at Nakayama Restaurant and diverse buffet spread at Le Café Restaurant.

Regarding the guest rooms, our latest remodeling was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a homely ambience. For your next visit, we invite you to stay at our Premier Room, which was newly designed and constructed during our last renovation. It is a spacious 38 square meter room with separate toilet and bathroom design, fully-furnished with shower toilet, trouser presser, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, L‘Occitane amenity, and much more. Regarding other room categories, including Superior Room, a renovation has been planned in the foreseeable future, of which we will duly take your comments into consideration.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked 5 deluxe rooms, expecting to get Loccitane toiletries but were disappointed. We took the upgrade package to the Premier rooms for the next few nights. Premier offers more space, better amenities, modern design and better overall comfort. Separate bath and toilet is also more convenient. The kids enjoyed the TV in the bathroom while soaking in the tub. Soft pillows, duvet, mattress offer very good sleep quality.

Next door to The Regent and luxury brand boutiques. Hakata Ippudo is just a short walk away for good ramen. ZhongShan MRT station easily takes you to nearby Shilin market. Easy access to food, shopping, Starbucks, etc.

Hotel service is tip top. Bell, front desk, housekeeping, etc are all vey warm and friendly. Umbrellas available for guests use during rainy season. Everyone can understand English and proactive to offer assistance.

Room Tip: Get the Premier room - bigger TV in the room and bathroom, separate bath & toilet, bigger bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleliew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-NIkko Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are ecstatic to hear that your stay was excellent.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International operating under JAL Hotels. Established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance. Renowned tourist sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

First of all, we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Premier Room. Premier Room was newly designed and constructed during our last renovation, featuring the use of homely off-white pastel color scheme, a spacious size of 38 square meters, and separate toilet and bathroom design. In addition, it is fully-furnished with shower toilet, trouser presser, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, L‘Occitane amenity, and much more. L‘Occitane amenity is available in Premier Room category and suites.

Moreover, thank you for commanding the hospitality extended by our staff. We are pleased that they were warm, friendly, and “proactive to offer assistance”. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Quite centrally located. The types of room are very much different from each categories. Stayed one night at superior and four nights in premium room. Superior room - like 3 star hotel. Premium room - 5 star quality with better amenities. Staff are helpful and attentive to your needs. I.e when complain about the room, manager was apologetic and offer for upgrade at reasonable top up. Overall stay: very good

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsSeoTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that your stay was satisfactory.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International operating under JAL Hotels. Established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned tourist sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

First of all, we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Premier Room. Premier Room was newly designed and constructed during our last renovation, featuring the use of homely off-white pastel color scheme, a spacious size of 38 square meters, and separate toilet and bathroom design. In addition, it is fully-furnished with shower toilet, trouser presser, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, L‘Occitane amenity, and much more. Regarding other room categories, including Superior Room, a renovation has been planned in the foreseeable future, of which we will duly take your comments into consideration.

Moreover, thank you for commanding the hospitality extended by our staff. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors. We are pleased that they were “helpful and attentive to your needs” and resolved your room issues by offering upgrade room options. Nonetheless, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused in the process.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at Royal Taipei and it was the best decision. The hotel looks great and cosy. Staff are attentive and friendly. We are a family of 4 with 2 young children and chose the premiere twin room. Our room was on the 12th floor and it was spacious and clean. The room surpassed our expectations! Love the comfortable beds and wonderful pillows. Wide screen tv and easy lightings. Leave your toiletries at home, Royal supplies L'occitaine shampoo, conditioner, shower soap, body lotion and bar soap. It also equips guests with 2 boxes filled with toothbrush, comb, shower cap, razor, cotton buds/pads, etc. Love the hair dryer and weighing scale provided. We were also pleasantly surprised by the complimentary pineapple tarts. We can also watch tv in the bath tub and they provided pyjamas for our stay. The best thing is that the hotel has free wifi and signal is very strong! Besides that, Royal Taipei is very close to Zhongshan MRT. It's about 150m (3 to 5 min walk) away. And if you do not know how to speak the local language do pick up this small card that the concierge gives to visitors so that we can show to taxi drivers/locals the location of Royal Taipei. How thoughtful! Love our stay at Royal Taipei!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are ecstatic to hear that your stay was excellent.

First of all, thank you for recognizing the “attentive and friendly” service extended by our staff, especially the concierge. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver premium services to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Furthermore, we are delighted to know that our Premier Room has surpassed your expectations. Premier Room was newly designed and constructed during our last renovation, featuring the use of homely off-white pastel color scheme, a spacious size of 38 square meters, and separate toilet and bathroom design. In addition, it is fully-furnished with shower toilet, trouser presser, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, L‘Occitane amenity, and much more. To elevate comfort and convenience, guests may enjoy free Wi-Fi access in the guest room as well as the entire premise.

Also, we are pleased that you liked our complimentary pineapple cake. The square-shaped hotel original pineapple cake, characterized by its crusty coat and marmalade-like fibrous filling, is a popular souvenir available at the Royal Bakery located on the first floor.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have recently stayed at this hotel. Excellent stay !
Good service, nice room, excellent location.
Going to airport is so convenient, airport bus is just less than 5mins walk.
Nice gym but should include stack weight machines. The way going to the gym or the pool is also very inconvenient. Is situated at roof top but the lift doesn't access to roof top level. So we see no one using the gym.
Many restaurant nearby the hotel. Chung Shan station is not too far . Walking to the station in a nice weather can be nice but if during summer time can be quite a challenge.
Chung Shan station has a underground mall, very nice to shop . We even walked the underground mall till we ended up to the next mrt station taipei Main Station 台北站

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel. We are ecstatic to hear that our “good service, nice room, excellent location” have made your stay worthwhile.

Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. There is roofed passageway for most of the route from the MRT station to the hotel. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

Thank you for your comment concerning our fitness center and outdoor pool (open May through September) on the rooftop. These facilities are favored by our guests since the high altitude offers a panoramic view of Taipei city. Currently, the fitness center is equipped with cardio machines, weight lifting machines, treadmills, stationary bicycles, barbells, dumb-bells and even a blood pressure measurement machine. We will duly take your advice on equipment addition and elevator access under consideration for our next renovation.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Location - you need to walk 10mins from Zhongshan station to the hotel. Unless you exit from (Zhongshan station) entrance 4, maybe you can cut down the distance to 5 mins walk. Those travelling with elderly, you have to go up from entrance 2. Caused only entrance 2 has escalator. Its a longer way but if your folks have difficulty climbing stairs, then you dont have a choice, just like me. Once exit from entrance 2, turn left and walk straight till you see the police station. Cross the road and turn left (pass Mos burger), and you will see the hotel. There isn't may shops around the hotel area. You need to walk back to Zhongshan station, where you will see Xin Kuang San Yue shopping malls and other cafes. There's a small wet market 10 - 15 mins walked from the hotel (turn right once step out from the hotel).

Hotel and service - The hotel was classic and clean. Hotel has its own bakery shop at level 1, a small one.Basically its quite an old hotel. I felt that they should renovate the room. The staff was smartly dress and friendly . Most customers were Japanese, it not surprise that the staff could speak pretty well in Japanese. If you have intention to add beds, be prepared to pay around NT$1900 per night. The counter staff was kind enough to offer me a family room with an additional charge of NT$1500 per night.

There was 3 beds in the room. Air con can be adjusted. But it was the layout that I find it uncomfortable. I was expecting a bigger room with 3 beds. But it turned out to be a room thats more like a suite. Once enter the room, you could see a a room with a queen size bed (left side), and another room with two single beds (right side). There's two toilets besides each room. The centre part was an empty space, more like a mini lobby where you can put your shoes. If you are traveling with two families, this would be an ideal room. Caused there will be privacy. But if you are traveling with kids, then you won't get to sleep together with them. And the bedroom was much smaller, smaller than a superior room. Like for me, I thought I could invite my siblings from another room over for a small gathering, ended up we found it more comfortable staying in their room (superior room). I was really puzzled why am I paying so much?

For house keeping, you could find a green board at the bed light table. If you want the staff to change the bed sheet, you need to turn over the board written to change the bed sheet. I did that, but my bed sheet was not change. There was a stain some where at the bed sheet, so since I am still seeing that stain..I knew it wasn't changed. There was no turned down service. Laundry service yes you have but you need to pay.

Experience - A middle age woman came knocking at my hotel room, asking if I wanted to buy sake. Its around 9.30am. Its a 5 star hotel I thought, how could this happened? Anyway, you do not need to tap your room card to access the hotel lift. Whats their security measure? For me, I won't consider going back to this hotel. The room rate was much too expensive without breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibfion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share your comment about our hotel. We hereby express our gratitude for your comments as well as apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay.

First of all, thank you for the thorough information on hotel access and the surrounding environment. Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Songshan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station Exit 4. The elevator and escalator are located at Exit 2. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

Moreover, we are pleased that you find our hotel “classic and clean” and our staff “smartly dress and friendly”.Our latest full-scale renovation was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a serene and homely ambience. Our room is furnished with free internet, shower toilet, trouser presser, complimentary mineral water, minibar, stationery kit and more to elevate comfort and convenience.

We offer extra bed at NT$1,500 per bed per night, exclusive of service charge and tax, as well as versatile room adjustment to suit the guests’ needs. However, we understand that the recommended Superior Suite family room was not to your liking. Please accept our apology for the insufficient explanation regarding the room layout. We have notified the issue to the front desk manager and asked for immediate improvement.

In addition, we apologize exceedingly for the unchanged linen. In recently years, we have been implementing environmentally-friendly measures, one of which includes the placement of environmental cards. Guests are welcomed to request for linen change by turning the card over and placing it on the bed. We have informed the matter to the housekeeping manager, who will reinforce the checking of environmental cards on the guests’ beds during routine housekeeping.

Regarding the hotel’s security measure, the security is maintained by 24-hour patrols and surveillance cameras. However, in light of this incidence, we will review the option of access control to further strengthen security on premise.

Finally, we strive to offer best available rates to our guests, with possible adjustment during trade show periods and holiday seasons. Various discounts, such as early bird package and long stay package are also available on the hotel website to meet our guests’ travel needs. Please refer to our website for discount packages when you plan your next visit to Taiwan.

Once again, please accept our apologies. Should you have any further advice for improvement, we most welcome your additional comments. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

While i have not yet stayed in this hotel yet, i just have to write about how professional they are in terms of how they communicate with me. I have a reservation at this hotel on the 23 of dec and i will be staying for a week. As i wanted this vacation with my family to be perfect, i had to check with the hotel's review from time to time. I must say that the hotel is being staffed by efficient personnel since they reply all of my queries within the day. I am really looking forward to our christmas vacation in Taipei and Hotel Royal will be our home for this time. Conf# 100127598.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank phytogerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei for the upcoming Christmas season. We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service even before you have personally arrived at our hotel!

Thank you for complimenting on the efficient and expedient correspondence extended by our staff, who replied your queries within the day. Good communication is part and parcel to our service philosophy, which we implement thoroughly in order to give our guests, in particular those from overseas, a sense of security and comfort. We understand the Christmas vacation with your family is of paramount importance, and we are pleased to be able to cater to your requests to satisfaction.

Should you have any further requests or inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope that we can truly exceed your expectations once you have arrived and stayed.

We wish you a safe journey to Taipei, and we look forward to see you in Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#17 of 578 in Taipei
2,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#91 of 578 in Taipei
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.3 mi away
San Want Residences
San Want Residences
#22 of 578 in Taipei
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#39 of 578 in Taipei
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £119 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is the first international chain hotel managed by Nikko Hotels International in Taiwan. This hotel operates under Okura Nikko Hotel Management Company Limited. The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei's commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan International Airport, a 15-minute drive from Taipei SongShan Airport , and a 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. The hotel is a 12-story structure with 3 basement levels. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with Wi-Fi internet. The hotel was renovated in 2017, providing brand new guest rooms for the customers. The poised, off-white base tone is designed to elicit a tranquil air and homely comfort. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience, as well as urban convenience and exquisite Japanese-style hospitality has earned high in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing