We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room a bit small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Ranked #47 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here with husband and son. There wasn't much room to walk around the bed and the only place to put the cot was in front of the door.

We enjoyed the rooftop pool and it is well located, but the breakfast was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share a comment about our hotel! We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our location and rooftop facilities.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

Moreover, thank you for your comment concerning our outdoor pool (open May through September) on the rooftop. The rooftop facilities (including the pool, fitness center, and sauna) are favored by our guests since the high altitude offers a panoramic view of Taipei city.

Regarding the guest rooms, our latest remodeling was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a homely ambience. Should you require more space, we invite you to stay at our Premier Room, which was newly designed and constructed during our last renovation. It is a spacious 38 square meter room with separate toilet and bathroom design, fully-furnished with shower toilet, trouser presser, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, L‘Occitane amenity, and much more. Regarding other room categories, a renovation has been planned in the foreseeable future, of which we will duly take your comments into consideration.

As for the breakfast service at Le Café Restaurant, we have always strived to offer a well-rounded spread of Japanese, Chinese, and western fare to satisfy our guests’ variegated preferences. We have informed your comment to the restaurant manager, and continuous effort will be devoted to the elevation of our food and beverage offerings and services.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Last month I had to stay at the Nikko because all my other choices were fully booked. The location is very centric which is good if you do business or tour central Taipei but for business we normally go out of the city and traffic can add delays.
The hotel caters to Japanese tourists and Japanese business people so the breakfast menu is very much tailor to their preferences. There was little variety of fruits, which is something I really enjoy in Taiwan at other hotels. Taiwan has wonderful tropical fruits and it is a shame the hotel doesn't offer more.
The room are nice and comfy and the staff is friendly and helpful.
One night we wanted to have a glass of wine at the bar and the selection was not all that great. This is an area for improvement.. They have great selection of Sake but limited in red wine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverDan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our room and service staff.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

Thank you for your comments concerning our breakfast and wine selection. Regarding the breakfast service at Le Café Restaurant, we have always strived to offer a well-rounded spread of Japanese, Chinese, and western fare to satisfy our guests’ variegated preferences. Your advice to increase the variety of fruits has been informed to the restaurant manager and taken into consideration. At the same time, we will also strive to broaden the wine selection at Royal Lounge.

If time allows on your next visit, we invite you try the authentic Japanese seafood cuisine at Nakayama Restaurant and Cantonese dishes at Ming Court presented by our Hong Kong chef.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at the Royal for one night with my daughter only because we were heading to Royal Chiao Hsi and they provided a shuttle directly there. The hotel was great though. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service polite and helpful. The only glitch was that I booked the shuttle with Royal Chiao Hsi but when I checked into Taipei they had no records, but that was easily and quickly fixed.
The location was also very convenient for walking to restaurants and shopping. (if you are a fan of Ippudo ramen, it is just around the corner!) The buffet breakfast was very good, more catering towards Japanese clientele, but still plenty of western choices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at establishments of Hotel Royal Group and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to know that the overall quality of your stay was satisfactory.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, where high-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; should you be fond of ramen noodles, there are numerous Japanese ramen franchise in the immediate vicinity.

First of all, thank you for commanding the hospitality extended by our staff. We would also like to apologize for the oversight concerning your shuttle reservation. The matter has been notified to the Front Office manager, who will place more emphasis on staff’s training in the future. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Furthermore, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Many guests have reflected that it is invigorating to start the morning with our breakfast at Le Café that overlooks the tree-lined and sun-showering Chung Shan North Road. We have always strived to offer a well-rounded international spread to accommodate our guests’ variegated preferences.

If time allows on your next visit, we invite you try the authentic Japanese seafood cuisine at Nakayama Restaurant and Cantonese dishes at Ming Court presented by our Hong Kong chef.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night at the Royal after a few nights at the Royal in Hsinchu. The room was very comfortable, clean, showers and bed were great. Concierge was super helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Rooftop pool was good. The location is very near mrt, shopping, food, dihua night market... great central location. They gave us a surprise cake and card for my wife's birthday. There may be less expensive options, but you will like the Royal. So nice!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OffThePost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are ecstatic to know that you had an excellent stay with us.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

We would like to thank you for commanding the hospitality extended by our concierge. It is delightful to hear that the birthday celebration has been a memorable experience to you. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

About 5-10min walk way from Zhongshan station, just ask around and people will direct you toward the right direction.

The staff were very helpful in giving us suggestion for places to have our meals. I like this district very much s it's much quieter than XMD.

We extended our trip at the last day and the staff were very accommodating to keep us on high priority on the waiting list. They even extended the same price for the room though it was a last minute request.

However, the Japanese staff at the business centre was not as friendly. She didn't bother to look at us when we were there and we mistakenly thought that the drinks were on complimentary. It was really embarrassing when she told us that we had to pay for the drinks but eventually she was kind enough to waive off the charges out of goodwill. However, we felt really embarrassed and made our way out of the business centre as she was making us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyOh-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share your comment about our hotel. We are delighted to know that the overall quality of your stay was satisfactory.

We would like to thank you for recognizing our staff that assisted with restaurant recommendations and accommodated your lodging extension. However, we understand that the incident at the business center have caused inconvenience during your stay, and thus hereby express our genuine apology. We have promptly notified the matter to the respective department manager. In the future, more emphasis will be placed on staff’s training and communication skills. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and imparting constructive comments. It is through feedback from esteemed guests that we are able to continuously elevate the quality of our services and facilities. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us.

As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is really a nice place for lunch and dinner,
You may also enjoy shinning sun, blue sky and beautiful trees outside the window.
We (I, my family and friends) strongly recommend to have wonderul times together with your family and friends.
We are anticipating an upcoming event in this hotel together again with more family members and friends in this April.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for patronizing Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei’s restaurant and taking the time to share a favorable comment about your dining experience. We are ecstatic to hear that you have had a wonderful time with your family and friends.

Many of our customers have shared your positive sentiment on the tree-lined and sun-showering Chung Shan North Road, which can be overlooked from all our restaurant outlets. All-day dining “Le Café” Restaurant, situated on the second floor, offers a well-rounded international spread. On the same floor, you may indulge in authentic Japanese fare at Nakayama Restaurant, or luxuriate on the cozy sofas at Royal Lounge. The third-floor Ming Court Cantonese Restaurant serves dim sum, a la carte, and course meals presented by our chef from Hong Kong.

Thank you again for patronizing Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to our invaluable customers. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our family stayed here for a week last christmas of 2014. Rooms are sufficient in size and the toilet and showers are fantastic. Hotel daily breakfast can be a bore especially if you're not japanese. i suggest to skip breakfast if you're staying more than a night.

Service is superb. I admire the manager, Mr. Mita for his professionalism and always understanding our needs. All of the staff of the hotel are great. They are well trained in each of their department.

We also enjoyed the chair massage in the top floor and also the spa was also great. We would always end our day at the spa to recharge our sore body.

Location of the hotel is not so good when it comes to its proximity to the subway. You have to walk around 15 to 20 minutes depending on the speed, tiredness or even the stop light of the busy street. Its neighborhood is good and safe. It has a nearby 7-11 convenience store (5 minutes walk).

The hotel and its surroundings are very clean. You would know you have arrived at the hotel just by looking at its red brick floors. It is always well maintained and sparkling condition.

Overall, price for the hotel is not reasonable but it is worth it because of its people. I congratulate your nice hotel and we will surely consider your hotel when we get a chance to go back to Taipei.

Room Tip: Upper floors and more expensive rooms are better. Book earlier to get better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phytogerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to know that the overall quality of your stay was satisfactory.

Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Song Shan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance.

First of all, we would like to thank you for recognizing the professionalism demonstrated by our staff. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver exquisite Japanese-style omotenashi service to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

We are also pleased that you fancy the sauna and massage facilities on the rooftop as well as the treatments by Royal Beauty Service. Royal Beauty Service specializes in integration of all senses that brings mind and body into perfect harmony. Balanced, soothing, and purifying, our specialists grant guests a rejuvenating experience inside and out.

Furthermore, thank you for your comments concerning our breakfast and accommodation rate. For the breakfast service at Le Café Restaurant, we have always strived to offer a well-rounded spread of Japanese, Chinese, and western fare to satisfy our guests’ variegated preferences. If time allows on your next visit, please try the authentic Japanese fare at Nakayama Restaurant and Cantonese cuisine at Ming Court presented by our executive chef from Hong Kong. As for the cost of stay, we strive to offer best available rates to our guests, with possible adjustment during trade show periods and holiday seasons. Various discounts, such as early bird package and long stay package are also available on the hotel website to meet our guests’ travel needs. Please refer to our website for discount packages when you plan your next visit to Taiwan.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei. As a chain hotel operating under JAL Hotels established in 1984, we celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. Hereafter, we remain committed to the service of “Safety, Security, and Comfort” to our invaluable guests.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#499 of 585 in Taipei
2,532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#37 of 585 in Taipei
1,813 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 585 in Taipei
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#93 of 585 in Taipei
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £114 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is the first international chain hotel managed by Nikko Hotels International in Taiwan. This hotel operates under Okura Nikko Hotel Management Company Limited. The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei's commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan International Airport, a 15-minute drive from Taipei SongShan Airport , and a 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. The hotel is a 12-story structure with 3 basement levels. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with Wi-Fi internet. The hotel was renovated in 2017, providing brand new guest rooms for the customers. The poised, off-white base tone is designed to elicit a tranquil air and homely comfort. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience, as well as urban convenience and exquisite Japanese-style hospitality has earned high in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing