We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sherwood Taipei
Ranked #48 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here on business. Was quite surprised by the size of the room. It's very spacious! This is the biggest deluxe room of all other Taipei hotels (some international 5-star ones) I stayed at so far. Yes, the room is a little dated but it feels clean. Service was great. It was on a weekend when the lock to my luggage became faulty and could not be opened. The hotel staff literally located a locksmith in 10 min. Wow! I thought they just got someone to jag at my luggage but no, they fixed the lock!! Otherwise, my weekend would have been ruined! Very much appreciated!

Breakfast - wide selection but taste was so-so. At times, the servers seemed a little pressured and the egg-station guy had very bad mood on all the mornings I had breakfast.

Helpful staff at the business centre.

I would recommend for adults who want more space and those travelling with kids. I am not in a position to comment on the location as I took taxi during my stay (relatively cheap). However, it is very close to the centre so should be very close to all tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed there for 1 night. Didn't expect this hotel to be this luxurious. I am thrilled with the room, it has a high standard renovation with great taste. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watslifeabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Was very pleasantly surprised by hotel room + service standard as I had not stayed at the Sherwood during previous trips to Taipei (first I had heard of the hotel was via TripAdvisor) and was not sure what to expect.

Rooms. I stayed for 3 nights in a single room (king sized bed, non smoking). Very pleased with size of room, amenities (toiletries all provided) and cleanliness. Room includes tv, study table, lounge chair with reading lamp and decent sized toilet with bathtub + separate shower. Room also includes complimentary mineral water, which comes in useful. Only complaint is that the mattress and pillows were a bit on the soft side but really that is a personal preference.

Location & transport. I cannot speak chinese so I arranged for airport transfers. It was a bit on the expensive side compared to just taking a taxi (which i now know is a standard rate) but for someone not familiar with the routes and unable to speak the local language, i wanted to be on the safe side. There are busstops and metro stations within walking distance of the hotel so if you can speak mandarin/have a good sense of direction/can read maps, public transport is really accessible and convenient. Announcements for stops and on the metro maps are in english/hanyupin yin (ie alphabets and not chinese characters) and taxis are also easily available.

The hotel mainly caters to the business crowd (explains the Starbucks a stone's throwaway) so its a bit aways from sights like Taipei 101 and some of the more popular night markets but since you can easily take a bus/train/cab this wasnt a big deal, but this was mostly because I was brought around Taipei by someone who is familiar with the area and can speak mandarin.

Overall. Personally, the comfort of the hotel room, excellent service + good hotel rates more than outweighed the location factor - the only downside i cld see (given i was in taipei for holiday).

Definitely wld recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catcheafallingstarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a short visit to Taipei. We thought the hotel was a very good choice as the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was huge (with both a tub and a standing shower), and the window was very big too, offering a great view of the neighborhood. I also like how there are french doors that separate the bed area from the bathroom and closet area. I thought the breakfast buffet was pretty decent with a large variety of foods available. People at the front desk were very friendly and people at the door very eagerly helped us get cabs when needed. If you're looking to stay in a more lively nighttime neighborhood, this may not be the best choice though. My husband and I took a stroll outside at around 10 or 11pmish but we couldn't find much that was open except a pretty packed McDonalds cafe.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtml0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwoodhotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear valued guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your kind words and observations in name of all the Sherwood Team. Our goal it is to exceed guest's expectations and your comments are an indication that The Sherwood Hotel had made your stay in Taipei memorable.

I hope see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Ivan Ramos
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is part of the "Leading Hotels of the Word". It is a well maintained hotel and the rooms are comfortable. The climate control in the rooms works well.

There are complementary bottles of water provided in the rooms as well as coffee and tea.

The bed is comfortable though I would have appreciated fluffy pillows and a non-synthetic comforter that "breathes". The bathroom is very nice with a separate shower and bath. The toiletries are of excellent quality.

The wireless internet is truly "high speed" and easy to use.

The breakfust is average with a reasonable selection but I've certainly had better. The breakfast room is in the basement and there are no windows making it a bit clasutrofobic.

The bar is small but quaint and the food is good. The business lunch we were served was excellent.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is fine for a business hotel but I have stayed at nicer hotels for a better price in Taipei.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuAlAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I Stayed at the Sherwood on a business trip to Taipei and really enjoyed it.

Location is perfect, access to an abundance of restaurants, coffee shops (Starbucks too) and convenience stores.

The hotel is well kept and all worked great.

The only suggestion would be to upgrade the breakfast a bit as the appearance is not up to the Sherwood standard.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

i was on a business trip and stayed at The Sherwood Taipei for a total of 4 nights. upon arrival and check in, i was informed that they'd upgraded me to an executive room. cool! i went up to find a HUGE room waiting for me. 2 double beds for just me alone. i can probably sleep one side per night.

spacious room included an armchair and a couch, coffee table, working desk, and a comfortable bathroom that comes with both the shower head and the bathtub. that is perfect as im a sucker for tubs, but i cant soak in it everyday and thats where the shower head comes in. bathroom is of a pretty decent space too, with a wide mirror. loves! quite amply equipped too. the hairdryer (my must have) is however a little too weak. i managed to get used to it after 5 days of usage, went back home to Singapore, turned on my hairdryer and thought that a tornado has arrived. in conclusion, hairdryer can be improved. but not to be too anal, i love the bathroom nevertheless.

huge room is comfortable, with many lights adjustable to ur desired brightness. practical for both work and relax!

i didnt manage to visit the gyms and spa. too busy working! :(

location of the hotel isnt the best. what i gathered from the hotel staffs, the nearest metro station is a 5-7min walk away. But from my past experiences in ANY parts of the world, add a 5-10min to whatever they tell u. i cant 100% say that for this hotel though, didnt try it myself.. but from the maps i found, the nearest station looks at least a 10 min walk away. and that station isnt on one of the main lines either. u gotta transfer at the next station to connect with the main lines. but if you are not looking at shopping dining at famous restaurants etc, there are a few convenience shops near the hotel, 2-3min walk. but then again, this is usual in Taipei and thats what i love about the place!

breakfast buffet.. soso. they dun have a super wide range of food available, but overall decent i guess. service is good wherever u go to. staffs are on the ball and almost always ready to answer any queries!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeeGooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwoodhotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Ms. Su Woon W,

Thank you for visiting us at The Sherwood Taipei!
We strive to make the experience at The Sherwood Taipei one you will remember forever. Therefore, your comments are very important for us and I will share your kind words with our entire team.
Thank you again for the opportunity of having you as a guest. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ivan Ramos
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#17 of 578 in Taipei
2,193 reviews
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#50 of 578 in Taipei
916 reviews
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#13 of 578 in Taipei
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Landis Taipei
#57 of 578 in Taipei
858 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood Taipei

Address: No.111 Section 3, Minsheng East Road, Songshan Dist., Taipei 105, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#18 Business Hotel in Taipei
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#28 Family Hotel in Taipei
#29 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £105 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherwood Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1990, when we first started offering world-class hospitality to those visiting our city, there were very few globally recognized 5-star hotels in Taipei. The Sherwood has now become the top-choice in Taipei for renowned political and business figures from across the world.From the day the hotel was established in 1990 it has been a tradition that we welcome our guests as if they were family. The moment you step into The Sherwood, you will be warmly greeted by the smiling faces of our receptionists and you receive a personal room key that makes you feel right at home. The guestrooms are sensibly separated from the restaurants and other public areas by room guest elevators and your are ensured a tranquil, safe and comfortable stay.The Sherwood is the only Taiwanese member of the Leading Hotels of the World, and we have been featured in international travel magazines such as Travel & Leisure, Business Traveler, Asia Money and Review Asia. Our art collection, which is a tasteful fusion of Western and Chinese elements, evokes feelings similar to those gained when browsing through a gallery of the world’s masterpieces.We offer luxury treatment at The Sherwood Spa on the 20th floor and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access in addition to access to our complimentary Executive Business Center, gym and warm indoor pool.The Sherwood is located in the Taipei financial center and shopping hub, near the unique and artistic Minsheng Community and just a ten-minute drive from Songshan Airport. The hotel is within easy access of the city via the MRT Wenhu Line or the highway system that will take you to sights all across the island. We promise to keep you in touch with the world as well as connect you to every part of the island via the extensive Taiwan transportation network.The Sherwood Taipei: Your Taste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sherwood Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Taipei Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Hotel Taipei
The Sherwood Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing