We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sherwood Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sherwood Taipei
Ranked #46 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Sherwood. Purpose of the trip was business. Excellent service & accommodations. Business center staff very helpful & accommodating. For those used to western food they offer a nice balance of menus in their restaurants. Would recommend room away from front of hotel as street noise can be noticeable. Hotel is well maintained & staff speaks English well. Car service to and from hotel is efficient; our flight was over 90 minutes late arriving close to midnight, yet the driver was waiting for us. Recommend highly for business.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rhhjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, 公關經理 at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sherwood Taipei again! We are honored to hear that you enjoyed our hotel services during your stay especially for our Business Center staff service. We are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    300
    67
    18
    7
See reviews for
214
99
46
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mustihaveone
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was initially skeptical, having chosen to stay here against Starwood properties, which I favour. But for half the price, this hotel delivered. The nicely-maintined or renovated building and facade are welcoming, the bright and spacious lobby refreshing and service staff polite and efficient. My room on the sixth floor was quiet, facing the back of the hotel (overlooking residential buildings) and made for wonderful sleep. The location, I was told, is very good and in the old financial district. there are quite a few dining options nearby, including a vegetarian udon place less than a minute's walk, which I really enjoyed. The back streets are quiet an residential, reminiscent of Tokyo.

The main reason for not a full 5 stars is as follows: while the lobby is grand, the room interiors are basic-looking, reminiscent business hotels in the US, for example. Perhaps I am spoilt by the more luxurious interiors Asian hotels in general offer. Still, the room was spacious, clean, with a great shower with strong pressure. And very bright, especially to shave and such.

Would happily stay again. But as a colleague pointed out, while cheaper than say the W, in absolute terms the price we paid seemed a tad high for the quality, though perhaps this is expectable for a more-prosperous country like Taiwan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustihaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, 公關經理 at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your stay in The Sherwood Taipei. We are honored to know you are satisfied with our services and facilities. Your comment always encourages us to continually improve our hotel service in pursuit of perfection. Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best wishes,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at the Sherwood for too many years. There could not be a more pleasant staff anywhere. The breakfasts are always great although I don't like the way they changed the breakfast room all that much. Beautiful lobby.

The rooms are getting tired. The furniture is tired; the carpet is tired; even the walls are tired. I wish it wasn't so but it is. I will still return but let's toss some dough at the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortolaValleyLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, 公關經理 at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on our hotel! We really appreciate you have been supported us for so many years and we will also concern about your suggestions. Your kind comment will continuously motivate us to improve our hotel service. We sincerely hope you can stay with us next time when you visit Taipei!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was continually pleasantly surprised by how much effort the staff go to help you, even before you ask. From the moment you walk in, you feel like a valued special client, even though you are just one little old guest!

I want to mention Ms Connie Chen as an outstanding individual who had helped me with my travel journey by contemplating my needs and requests even before I had asked.

P.S. - the strings duet in the lobby is a classic!

Room Tip: High floor helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djsidefx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, 公關經理 at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on our hotel! It is our honor to know that you are satisfied with our service. “Your home away from home” is always our mission, and we enjoy serving every guest to think anything that our customers’ needs. Your kind comment will continuously motivate us to polish our hotel service. We sincerely hope you can stay with us next time you visit Taipei!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stay there for my Business Trip and is really a nice stay. Staffs are pleasant and helpful. Room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is nice also.

Surrounding got a 7/11, McDonald, MRT Station. Easy to get Taxi as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on our hotel! It is our honor to know that you are satisfied with our hotel facilities and service. Your kind comment will continuously motivate us to polish our hotel service. We sincerely hope you can stay with us next time you visit Taipei!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was here for a week for business and this hotel is located in a central district. Taxi was never an issue in Taipei anyway. Initially, I wanted to stay in Shangri-la but fully booked so I stayed here instead but I am glad that I did. I was amazed with the layout and size of the room, there was a door in between and helps filter out noise (if needed). The bathroom was huge! The service was great and all staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just amazing. I mean, I was there for a week, and there were varieties to keep it interesting. Overall, it's a great hotel. I stayed in Shangri-la before but glad I discover this charming business hotel.

Room Tip: High floor have better view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangebee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on our hotel! It is our honor to know that you are satisfied with our hotel breakfast, facilities and service. Your kind comment will continuously motivate us to maintain our hotel service. We sincerely hope you can stay with us next time you visit Taipei!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here in both June and July 2014. I am a Diamond member from both Hyatt and Hilton, which puts my review in context.

Pros: friendly service at welcome and check-in. Comfortable beds, decent rooms with good airflow, decent buffet. You must try their Taiwanese milk bubble tea (2nd floor bar). The steak at the Italian restaurant is also a must-try.

Cons: new Mandarin Oriental down the street, with growing competition. Not the slam dunk it once was. I also think the breakfast buffet quality could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Sherwood Taipei and posting this review. We are honored to hear that you like our rooms, food, and service. Your comment will be the motivation for our staff to pursue better hotel service. We also appreciate your advice about our breakfast, and we will absolutely keep improving to satisfy customers’ demands. We are also looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.0 mi away
The Landis Taipei
The Landis Taipei
#52 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#31 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#19 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#49 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#37 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
#73 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood Taipei

Property: The Sherwood Taipei
Address: No.111 Section 3, Minsheng East Road, Songshan Dist., Taipei 105, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#18 Business Hotel in Taipei
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#28 Family Hotel in Taipei
#29 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherwood Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1990, when we first started offering world-class hospitality to those visiting our city, there were very few globally recognized 5-star hotels in Taipei. The Sherwood has now become the top-choice in Taipei for renowned political and business figures from across the world.From the day the hotel was established in 1990 it has been a tradition that we welcome our guests as if they were family. The moment you step into The Sherwood, you will be warmly greeted by the smiling faces of our receptionists and you receive a personal room key that makes you feel right at home. The guestrooms are sensibly separated from the restaurants and other public areas by room guest elevators and your are ensured a tranquil, safe and comfortable stay.The Sherwood is the only Taiwanese member of the Leading Hotels of the World, and we have been featured in international travel magazines such as Travel & Leisure, Business Traveler, Asia Money and Review Asia. Our art collection, which is a tasteful fusion of Western and Chinese elements, evokes feelings similar to those gained when browsing through a gallery of the world’s masterpieces.We offer luxury treatment at The Sherwood Spa on the 20th floor and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access in addition to access to our complimentary Executive Business Center, gym and warm indoor pool.The Sherwood is located in the Taipei financial center and shopping hub, near the unique and artistic Minsheng Community and just a ten-minute drive from Songshan Airport. The hotel is within easy access of the city via the MRT Wenhu Line or the highway system that will take you to sights all across the island. We promise to keep you in touch with the world as well as connect you to every part of the island via the extensive Taiwan transportation network.The Sherwood Taipei: Your Taste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Sherwood Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Taipei Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Hotel Taipei
The Sherwood Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing