We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Ranked #72 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

People are friendly and helpful, clean and comfortable rooms, well situated.
Always happy to return to this place.
May not be the fanciest place in town, but has a homely feel to it.

Missing a pool, but there is one 10' walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I really like this hotel. i've stayed here various time over the last few years on business trips and I keep going back. There are more luxurious hotels for sure, but this one feels quite homely now.
Everything is getting a bit old now, the restaurants in the hotel aren't brilliant, and are very expensive, but it is in a great location with loads of local restaurants around.
The staff are friendly and helpful, most of the rooms are a good size (avoid the number 17 rooms on each floor, they're very small), there's even a pretty good souvenir shop on the ground floor.
The hotel is in an "interesting" area, used to be where the US troops were based, and there is a bit of a red light district, with "piano bars" abounding, this all adds atmosphere, and I have never felt threatened in anyway, any time of the night or day.
The metro station is five minutes walk, and of course the taxis are really cheap, just make sure you remember to take the card with the hotel address in chinese on it, to get back again.
The Malibou bar around ghe corner is a nice place to relax, with friendly staff who all speak English, food not bad either. Sometimes you have to take a break from the Taiwanese only places...

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms ending in 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My stay at IHG Imperial Hotel was one of the best I ever had. It can be best described as a jewel in the crown of Intercontinental hotel group. It is a relatively new hotel with modern facilities, extravagant restaurants and 24 hrs coffee-shops at very good location. You can expect the best service from staff. Though, it was a bit expensive on the other side but really worth the experience. I highly recommend this hotel to all tourists and businessmen as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharmesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Imperial Hotel in Taipei is an excellent choice for a business or leisure stay. Great location in the heart of Taipei. Convenient access from Taipei International Airport via car/bus/mtr, about 45 minutes. Service by staff is first rate and very courteous. The rooms are comfortable, roomy and quiet. Breakfast Buffet is an excellent start to the day. As previous reviews have noted, the tub/shower is not the normal US design and requires a high step to enter. Staff is most helpful in guiding you through your visit to Taipei. Front Page bar, 1st floor, has evening happy hour for unwinding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were there for a business trip and I liked their service! They picked up us from a airport even we delayed 3,5 hours. The breakfast was intercontinental and the room was huge! The location is fine, nearest Metro station is 3 minutes far. I was satisfied with their service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel because of the fantastic deal I received online. Apart from not having a pool, there is nothing wrong with this hotel except it is a little bit outdated for the 5 star status it is claiming to be. It is better than a 4 star but definitely not a 5 star. The decor is old, the foyer is not grande and the lifts can be pretty slow.
The room I stayed in on the executive level was beautiful and elegant and big. It was quiet and comfortable. Not much of a view but the windows allow some sunlight to come in if you wish to open the curtains. the Pillows were soft and the bed was inviting. The bathroom was excellent with a bath, a good shower, heated toilets and all amenities included.
The service was great. I got in at 7am and although the room wasnt ready i needed to charge my phone and didnt have a power converter. The receptionist was more than happy to help out with 1 that i could use for free (turns out i would have to pay for 1 if i use one available for purchase in the room).
The concierge was helpful with the cabs and other tours that I wanted to go. I wanted to book a nice spa about 30min away and the conciege organised the whole thing for me (booked the private room, cabs etc). Brilliant.
I didnt try the restaurant because I was always on the go but the steakhouse at the back of the hotel looks amazing.
The executive lounge was very small and very very quiet. I was there for 5 nights and most of the nights I was the only 1 in the room. Even at breakfast, it was very quiet. I think the selection of food is pretty minimal, but the booze makes up for it.
The gym is small but in good condition.
The location is pretty good. It's close to the main attractions. Cabs are abundant and you can get one straight from the door. The underground train is only a 5min walk away and it's very very handy to go around anywhere. Taiwan is a great city for that.
There are a few massages next to the hotel if you like that. I tried a few and they are pretty good.

Overall, it's definitely a nice hotel to stay. I would happily come back if I have to, esp if I got the online deal again. It's got 5 star qualities but not luxurious. If you want posh or cool, go to W hotel. This is more old school early 90s 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Always bring a card of the hotel and show it to the cab driver so they can take you back to the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The hotel has everything a hotel should have (except a pool) but that is about it. I had a great room with a seperate sitting area, but my friends - travelling with me had a regular one and apparantly no bath just a shower. That sure would bum me out! There is a LOT OF noise coming from the main street - lots of traffic, lots of motorbikes and lots of buses. So bring your earplugs.
It sure struck me how many mainland Chinese guests the hotel was accommodating, so it would not surprise me that it would be run also by a Chinese chain.
"okay" breakfast -obviously geared especially to the Chinese and Japanese taste buds.
One thing really struck me though; is the extremely friendly staff; from bell boy, to concierge to front desk and restaurant staff. Ready to help you with anything. The location is just great, few shops, few restaurants, a night market and the subway 5 minutes walk

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Santos Hotel
#112 of 585 in Taipei
434 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 585 in Taipei
1,451 reviews
Taipei Gala Hotel
#85 of 585 in Taipei
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Riviera Hotel
#44 of 585 in Taipei
587 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 585 in Taipei
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Taipei

Address: No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Taipei
#34 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#42 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £52 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing