We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ranked #77 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice downtown hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in December at Ambassador, most of the hotel stuffs are very polite, attentive and able to converse in English, Chinese and Japanese very well. I been upgrade to the executive floor, which the room been newly renovated and I do enjoy the stay here with clean and neat room in design.

The hardware: The room size is relatively small for a 5 star hotel, however the materials, amenity provided are in good quality modern design and nice. My room are located on side of the hotel with no external window view, which is depressing.

The software: The hotel overall service level are high and good, when I asked for a direction to a restaurant the stuff will take an effort to print out a few pages of Google map direction to me and every step are taken to ensure I reach there on time.

The location: The main activity of Taipei city in term of leisure, shopping, hip new restaurant and bar are now mostly located at East side of the city, so I found myself been travelling on taxi in a couple of occasion in a day toward the East part of the city. Perhaps should stay at East section in next trip to Taipei?

Room Tip: ask for room with external window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yoong w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Yoong W,

Warmest greetings from Taipei. Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated.

I am glad that both hardware and software of The Ambassador Hotel Taipei are fulfilled your satisfactions. Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    349
    99
    20
    8
See reviews for
153
119
73
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights in December. The facilities are nice and the exec rooms look like they have been updated recently.

Only real complaint is the hardness of the bed. Like most Chinese hotel chains the beds are too hard for my liking and leads to a poor sleep for me.

Breakfast is included and is good but geared more towards the Chinese Diet.

Other than that the staff are great and he location is good too.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank BD700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear BD700,

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated.

Regarding the bed issue, please let me suggest that may ask housekeeping to assist you to add extra blanket or foams on your bed, in order to make you have a good sleep if possible. I am very happy to know you like our executive floor very much and really enjoyed your stay in The Ambassador Hotel Taipei. I will share this comments to colleague and it will encourage them very much.

Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Not widely advertised, but this is pretty much a Japanese businessman's hotel. We stayed on the exec floor and the staff there told us about 80% of their guests are Japanese. So, if you have stayed at local upmarket chains in Japan, you will know exactly what to expect: spotless, minimalist rooms, zany robotic toilets, everything a little small, everybody exceptionally polite, zero actual service, great location.

Western buffet breakfast in the lobby or exec lounge was fairly awful - to be expected of course - but the Japanese bits were indeed nice. Good Japanese congee. Reasonable croissants and coffee. Lots of rules and do's and dont's, of course. "Happy Hour" is from 5:30 to 7 in the lounge, and don't for the life of you expect it to be even a minute earlier or later. Ditto breakfast. "Finished at 10:30" means exactly that. On. the. dot.

Staff could not field even basic requests in English, but chatted amiably to Japanese guests in accomplished Japanese. Horses for courses, natch.

Wasn't disappointed per se, but also was not expecting to be staying in a Japanese chain hotel in Taiwan. Problem is for most travelers that Taipei isn't very English-friendly to begin with, and typically you may have stuff you need your 5-star hotel to take care of for you in a foreign country - which is after all why you pay the $ for 5-star hotel service - and these guys just aren't gonna do it. Provided you don't need any service, it's great, but then again for the same price you could stay in in the Westin or Hilton or whatever and actually get the full package that a western guest may need.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank HKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear HKguy,

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous comments and suggestion are highly appreciated and it is important to us. I will share this comments to colleague and it will encourage them very much.

Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I'm going to check in tomorrow and stay for 5 days. The reservation was made based in the reviews here and needless to say I have great expectations.
If everything pans out plan is to make this the default for everyone from our office in Boston.
Fingers crossed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentor561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Mentor561,

Greetings from The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

Thank you so much for writing comment before you stay at the The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

We can't wait to see you and welcome you as the Ambassador.
May you have a wonderful trip and have a safe flight.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. This is a large international style 4.5~5 star 416 room hotel on Chung Shan North Rd, Zhongshan District.
We arrived at the airport, went down to the ground floor at arrivals and brought a ticket on the bus. This travels from Taipei airport (Taiwan Taoyuan International) to Taipei Main Station, The Ambassador Hotel is the 4th stop and the hotel is across the road. The cost is NTD125 pp one way and takes about 40-50 mins. I actually missed the Ambassador Hotel stop and had to catch a taxi (rank across road from bus stop) back to hotel (NTD 75).
There are Standard Floors (Room types - superior 27m2, pool side, premier 39m2) and Executive Floors (Room types - executive 27m2, executive premier, executive suite / business suite / deluxe suite / ambassador suite) and suites (Presidential).
We stayed in an executive room on the 11th floor with access to the executive lounge. This offers free breakfast (6-10 am), with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, and the usual breakfast fare. There is an automatic expresso machine. (I note the Executive room is the same size as the Superior Room).
Also happy hour (5.30-7.00) pm with a small selection of free hor d'oeuvres, beers, wine and cognac. Free wi fi in all the rooms as well as the lounge, not fsst but at least it's free.
You can also help yourself to tea, coffee, selection of chips, coke, sprite, tomato juice and some fruit juices.
Check in at lounge on the 11th floor. Late check out till 4pm depending on availability. Normal check in is 3pm and check out is 12pm. Complimentary daily newspaper. Business Center is also on 11th floor.

There are 2 Chinese restaurants (Szechuan Court and Canton Court), a bistro-steak house (A-CUT), Ming Court for international buffet, ahmicafe Coffee Shop on 1st floor (6am-1am) and Aqua Lounge. There is also an a bakery / cafe shop. 1st floor is the same as Ground floor.
We only dined at the Canton Court - the food was OK nothing special.

There is a 7-eleven close by but no supermarkets (get your milk here). Starbucks is close by.
Shuanglian Subway station is about 100 metres away, The main shopping district is about 300-400 metres away,

The room was modern with a double bed and lovely soft pillows. Sony Bravia flat screen TV ( I think about 40" - with 3 English channels that I could find- CNN. BBC World and Channel NewsAsia). Geneva stereo system, in room safe. Jug but only Chinese teas. There are 2 coffee sachets (but only small tea cups). We were given 2 bottles of complimentary water each day. The most unusual thing is the bathroom. This is open to the rest of the room but can be closed with 2 sliding doors (makes the room appear spacious). A very nice large square white ceramic hand basin, good sized tub with good shower over the bath. I think quite a few Japanese stay here as there is a Toto toilet-bidet with all the bells and whistles. Evening turn down service. Nice touch was the welcoming free fruit platter.There is an outdoor pool, small gym with a couple of treadmills on 4F.
I caught a taxi from hotel to airport (NTD1200). The hotel shuttle is NTD1890.

What to do in Taipei - I did an Amazing Race type challenge and visited 4 sites in 1 day - The National Palace Museum to see the art treasures from China (catch a taxi - about NTD 300), Taipei 101 (shopping and super tall tower), National Chang Kai Shek Cultural Centre (check out the guards) and Shilin Night Market (try the Fried Milk balls). The last 3 can be reached easily by the efficient MRT.

Pros: interesting food, a cross between mainland China and Japan. The people are very friendly.
Cons: Can I get a proper sized tea cup and some milk please !!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive floors if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mirroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Mirroden,

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated.

I am glad that you really enjoyed your stay in The Ambassador Hotel Taipei. I will share this comments to colleague and it will encourage them very much.

Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedback so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel room is relatively small. There's no night stand
next to the bed. Instead, they put a desk next to the bed.
The desk is much higher than the bed.
The location is good.
We like the strong water stream of the shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Worldadvisor,

Greetings from The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. We have always being thankful to every guest and each comments.

We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Two nights here on a business trip. The room was pretty worn, but I think that cleanable dirt had been cleaned. The room design had that I'm-happy-I'm-not-sharing-the-room thing with a bathroom completely open to the bed. Service was friendly. I have little to compare it to, but the hotel was good enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ob3ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Ob3ron,

Greetings from The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

Thank you so much for writing comments for us. And your generous comment is absolutely encourage our staff to provide better service in the near future. Hopefully, we will see you soon.

Again, thank you very much for choosing us as your home away accommodation. Happy moon festival!

Warmest Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#49 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#26 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#29 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#65 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#85 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramar Garden Taipei
Miramar Garden Taipei
#84 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Taipei

Property: Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Address: No.63 Section 2, Zhongshan North Road, Taipei 10446, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#40 Family Hotel in Taipei
#42 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#50 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central Zhongshan district of Taipei, Ambassador Hotel Taipei features 402 comfortable guest rooms and suites. The recently renovated executive floor rooms and suites offers modern comfort, and an exclusive executive floor lounge for breakfast, evening cocktails, and all-day refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing